Zayed College for Girls
Secondary (Year 7-15) · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 194
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Girls School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 44 Westney Road, Mangere, Auckland
- Territorial authority
- Māngere-Ōtāhuhu Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-2550904
- admin@zayedcollege.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
The Zayed College for Girls School uniform is compulsory for all year 7-13 students.
- Required
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 5
- Māori
- 1
- Pacific
- 9
- Asian
- 141
- MELAA
- 41
- Other
- 4
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 07 | 0 | 0 | 22 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 23 |
| Year 08 | 0 | 0 | 28 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 33 |
| Year 09 | 0 | 2 | 20 | 5 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 27 |
| Year 10 | 1 | 0 | 14 | 6 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 21 |
| Year 11 | 0 | 1 | 28 | 7 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 35 |
| Year 12 | 0 | 1 | 25 | 7 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 34 |
| Year 13+ | 0 | 2 | 9 | 3 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 14 |
| Total | 1 | 6 | 146 | 34 | 2 | 6 | 0 | 187 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 10 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 11 | 0 | 0 | 19 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 20 |
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 21 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 24 |
| Age 13 | 0 | 2 | 28 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 36 |
| Age 14 | 1 | 0 | 14 | 5 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 20 |
| Age 15 | 0 | 1 | 24 | 7 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 31 |
| Age 16 | 0 | 1 | 22 | 7 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 31 |
| Age 17 | 0 | 0 | 13 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 17 |
| Age 18 | 0 | 2 | 3 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Total | 1 | 6 | 146 | 34 | 2 | 6 | 0 | 187 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
100%
| Zayed College for Girls | 100% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 89.6% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
100%
| Zayed College for Girls | 100% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.3% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
85.7%
| Zayed College for Girls | 85.7% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 64.5% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 85.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 80% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 85.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
0%
| Zayed College for Girls | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 14.7% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 0% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
100%
| Zayed College for Girls | 100% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.1% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Not applicable |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
30.4%
| Zayed College for Girls | 30.4% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 29.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 43.4% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 30.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Pacific | 90.2% |
| Asian | 28.9% |
| Other | 26.3% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 30.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Zayed College for Girls | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 4.6% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Zayed College for Girls | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 1.4% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 2% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 433
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 21 December 2000
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 5 November 2024
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (5 November 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 5 November 2024 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO has identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
a safe physical and emotional environment for students is not provided [Section 127(1) and (2) of the Education and Training Act 2020]
the school is not meeting its obligations to ensure that only registered persons holding a current practising certificate or a limited authority to teach are appointed to a teaching position [Section 92(2) Education and Training Act 2020]
the school does not demonstrate and document suitable human resource management practices [Sections 597 (1), 599 & 600 of the Education and Training Act 2020]
the school is not providing anti-bullying programmes that cover all areas of discrimination [Section 127(1) Education and Training Act 2020; Good practice]
the school is not meeting its obligations to make mandatory reports to the Teaching Council for serious misconduct as required [Section 491 of the Education and Training Act 2020]
risk management and approval procedures for school camp and education outside the classroom (EOTC) are not implemented [Health and Safety at Work Act 2015]
an average of five hours of reading, writing and mathematics teaching and learning is not provided per week for Years 7 and 8 [Section 90 of the Education and Training Act 2020 (2023 Amendment)]
the school does not follow its policy for healthy food. [Ministry of Health. 2020. Healthy Food and Drink Guidance – Schools]
The board has taken steps to address the areas of non-compliance identified.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 194 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
September 2018
100
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 2 November 2018
August 2015
102
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 30 October 2015
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 5 November 2024 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
Zayed College for Girls in Māngere is a special character Islamic school providing education for girls in Years 7 to 13. The school values are kindness, appreciation, respect and equity.
The Secretary for Education appointed a Commissioner in Term 1 2024 who currently holds all functions, powers and duties of the school board, and a Leadership Partner was appointed in Term 3 2024 to support school leadership.
There are two parts to this report.
Part A: An evaluative summary of learner success and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction, including any education in Rumaki /bilingual settings.
Part B: The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Current State
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
The school is working towards equitable and excellent outcomes for learners.
The large majority of students in Years 7 to 10 achieve at curriculum level expectations for reading, writing and mathematics.
Most students who remain at school until qualification years achieve NCEA at Levels 1, 2 and 3 and University Entrance with high levels of Merit and Excellence Endorsements.
Few students attend school regularly; regular student attendance is well below the Ministry of Education target and impacts on continuity of learning.
Systems and processes to ensure student wellbeing, inclusion and belonging require urgent implementation.
Conditions to support learner success
The school is yet to establish effective educational leadership in many areas.
Leaders have set strategic priorities with goals and initiatives for future changes in school, staff and student ways of being.
Leaders are taking steps to drive improvement to systems, processes, teaching and learning that foster high quality conditions for learners.
Leadership is yet to build relational trust and collaboration at every level of the school community for staff and student wellbeing.
The school is working towards providing a broad curriculum and consistently high-quality teaching practice.
Teachers and leaders establish effective systems for tracking and monitoring student achievement to ensure success.
Students have limited opportunities to learn across the breadth of The New Zealand Curriculum as time is dedicated to incorporating the school’s special character.
Although teachers provide collaborative learning opportunities that foster student participation; ongoing focus is required to ensure consistency of approach, improved student engagement and agency.
School conditions are not yet supporting a positive school culture.
Leaders have yet to implement teacher professional development that effectively promotes a positive school culture, learner engagement and wellbeing.
Relationships between staff and students are not consistently founded on mutual trust and respect and learners do not always feel confident to seek help when required.
The school does not currently have a board who represents and serves the school community.
The school has not yet embedded effective systems and processes across all areas of the school.
Part B: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
improve capability and distribute leadership to implement strategic priorities
collaboratively review key systems and processes with staff to ensure clarity and consistency of implementation
provide appropriate support for teachers and their ongoing professional learning and development so that highly effective, engaging teaching practices are used consistently across all learning areas
prioritise a schoolwide approach to improve student safety, wellbeing, attendance and retention.
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows.
Within three months:
work collaboratively with the appointed Commissioner and Leadership Partner to improve leadership capability and school conditions
respond more systematically, deliberately and effectively to absences and significantly improve student attendance and retention
identify priority areas for improvement from student feedback and develop a plan to improve student safety, wellbeing and school culture
prioritise systems for review including teaching and learning, pastoral care and behaviour management, and develop a plan that ensures collaboration with teachers and regular checking that systems are embedding and being used consistently.
Every six months:
collect, analyse and respond to student feedback and wellbeing surveys
implement a plan for growing teacher practice which includes regular classroom observations, providing relevant feedback and reflective and collaborative support
embed key systems and processes with expectations for staff and students and check for shared understanding and consistent implementation.
Annually:
align leadership roles and responsibilities with strategic priorities
analyse student attendance and retention data to inform future improvement priorities and initiatives
collect staff and student feedback to measure progress and inform future priorities for improvement
use evidence to analyse improvements in the areas of teaching and learning, behaviour management and pastoral care.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in:
effective distributed leadership, with systems embedded that support learner engagement and outcomes
improvements in attendance to meet the Ministry of Education targets and retention rates
a positive school culture based on school values; positive relationships between and amongst students and staff, and students feeling valued, confident to access support and take ownership of their learning and overall wellbeing
consistency of teaching practices and implementation of the behaviour management and pastoral systems based on shared understandings of best practice.
Recommendation to the Ministry of Education
ERO recommends that the Secretary for Education continues to provide tailored support through a Commissioner and Leadership Partner to provide ongoing leadership and governance capability across the school to address areas of non-compliance and drive school improvement.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
5 November 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).