Wellesley College
Full Primary · Private : Fully Registered
- Year levels
- 1–8
- Total roll
- 232
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Boys School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 611A Marine Drive, Days Bay, Lower Hutt
- Territorial authority
- Lower Hutt City
- Phone
- 04-5628030
- office@wellesley.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Wellington Region
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Getting there
- Travel to the Days Bay campus by ferry from Queens Wharf or one of six bus routes from different parts of the Wellington region
Getting to our Days Bay campus is part of the adventure. Choose from the scenic ferry journey from Queens Wharf, six bus routes from different parts of the Wellington region, a quick car drop-off, or for local families, walking or biking to school.
- Travel to the Days Bay campus by ferry from Queens Wharf or one of six bus routes from different parts of the Wellington region
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- Our mission
- We bring out the best in each boy – body, mind and spirit
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
International students at Wellesley benefit from our inclusive school culture and comprehensive support systems.
- Accepted, as stated
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 162
- Māori
- 14
- Pacific
- 5
- Asian
- 60
- MELAA
- 5
- Other
- 6
- International
- 1
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 0 | 1 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 14 |
| Year 02 | 1 | 1 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 11 |
| Year 03 | 1 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 1 | 5 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 04 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 2 | 0 | 15 | 0 | 24 |
| Year 05 | 3 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 26 | 0 | 29 |
| Year 06 | 2 | 0 | 13 | 1 | 3 | 29 | 0 | 43 |
| Year 07 | 7 | 3 | 13 | 1 | 2 | 50 | 1 | 63 |
| Year 08 | 4 | 1 | 7 | 0 | 1 | 42 | 0 | 48 |
| Total | 18 | 6 | 63 | 4 | 7 | 180 | 1 | 244 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 0 | 1 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 14 |
| Age 06 | 1 | 1 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 11 |
| Age 07 | 1 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 1 | 5 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 08 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 2 | 0 | 15 | 0 | 23 |
| Age 09 | 3 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 27 | 0 | 31 |
| Age 10 | 3 | 0 | 14 | 1 | 3 | 29 | 0 | 44 |
| Age 11 | 4 | 2 | 12 | 1 | 0 | 37 | 1 | 46 |
| Age 12 | 5 | 2 | 5 | 0 | 2 | 47 | 0 | 54 |
| Age 13 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 7 | 0 | 9 |
| Total | 18 | 6 | 63 | 4 | 7 | 180 | 1 | 244 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- not applicable
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 1 February 1914
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 3
- Last reviewed
- 17 January 2023
- Latest report
- Wellesley College January 2023
- Report type
- not reported
- Board assurance
- not reported
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 17 January 2023 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- International students
- true
The school is a signatory provider to the Education (Pastoral Care of International Students) Code of Practice 2016
- true
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 232 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
February 2017
357
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 21 April 2017
April 2013
356
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 30 May 2013
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 3 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).