Waiopehu College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 571
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Bartholomew Road, Levin
- Territorial authority
- Horowhenua District
- Phone
- 06-3688303
- secretary@waiopehu.ac.nz
- Website
- http://www.waiopehu.ac.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Manawatū-Whanganui
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 344
- Māori
- 267
- Pacific
- 126
- Asian
- 29
- MELAA
- 20
- Other
- 3
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 44 | 22 | 3 | 5 | 0 | 51 | 0 | 89 |
| Year 10 | 66 | 23 | 4 | 4 | 0 | 70 | 0 | 117 |
| Year 11 | 68 | 27 | 9 | 3 | 0 | 88 | 0 | 131 |
| Year 12 | 53 | 18 | 6 | 2 | 1 | 52 | 0 | 97 |
| Year 13+ | 42 | 22 | 5 | 1 | 0 | 68 | 0 | 100 |
| Total | 273 | 112 | 27 | 15 | 1 | 329 | 0 | 534 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 13 | 40 | 17 | 3 | 5 | 0 | 47 | 0 | 78 |
| Age 14 | 64 | 28 | 3 | 3 | 0 | 64 | 0 | 114 |
| Age 15 | 57 | 23 | 10 | 3 | 0 | 80 | 0 | 120 |
| Age 16 | 59 | 14 | 6 | 2 | 1 | 59 | 0 | 100 |
| Age 17 | 35 | 20 | 4 | 2 | 0 | 50 | 0 | 80 |
| Age 18 | 12 | 7 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 20 | 0 | 29 |
| Age 19+ | 6 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 12 |
| Total | 273 | 112 | 27 | 15 | 1 | 329 | 0 | 534 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
75.4%
| Waiopehu College | 75.4% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 84.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 75.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 75% |
| Māori | 71.9% |
| Pacific | 81.8% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 75.7% |
| Total | 75.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
66.7%
| Waiopehu College | 66.7% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 76.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 70.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 63.3% |
| Māori | 61.4% |
| Pacific | 77.3% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 64.9% |
| Total | 66.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
43.9%
| Waiopehu College | 43.9% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 55.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 44.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 43.3% |
| Māori | 40.4% |
| Pacific | 45.5% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 41.9% |
| Total | 43.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
6.1%
| Waiopehu College | 6.1% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 14.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 9.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 3.3% |
| Māori | 1.8% |
| Pacific | 4.5% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 5.4% |
| Total | 6.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
76.3%
| Waiopehu College | 76.3% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 81.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 81.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 71.7% |
| Māori | 70.2% |
| Pacific | 86.4% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 75.7% |
| Total | 76.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
28.3%
| Waiopehu College | 28.3% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 45.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 12.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 41.4% |
| Māori | 47.7% |
| Pacific | 18.2% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 19.9% |
| Total | 28.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
6.9%
| Waiopehu College | 6.9% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 6.2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 9.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 4.7% |
| Māori | 13% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 37.1% |
| European/Pākehā | 2.7% |
| Total | 6.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
4.2%
| Waiopehu College | 4.2% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 2.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 9.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 7.6% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 4.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 513
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Medium urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1973
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 2 May 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (2 May 2023)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 2 May 2023 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 2 May 2023 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- Also provides
- He Whare Manaaki Tangata – Poipoia (Teen Parent Unit)
He Whare Manaaki Tangata – Poipoia (Teen Parent Unit)
- Te Whare Āwhina – Learning Support Centre
Te Whare Āwhina – Learning Support Centre
- He Whare Manaaki Tangata – Poipoia (Teen Parent Unit)
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 571 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
July 2017
625
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 27 September 2017
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 2 May 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 12 months of the Education Review Office and Waiopehu College working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Waiopehu College is a co-educational secondary school located in the township of Levin, Horowhenua , providing education for a diverse range of students in Years 9 to 13. The school prioritises a future focused curriculum in the junior school that aims to inspire students through connecting learning to student passions. A new Principal was appointed at the beginning of 2023.
Waiopehu College’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are the following:
Dignity and Rights – Wellbeing; Resilience and Self-Awareness.
Full Potential – Engagement; Attendance; Connection; Communication; Lifelong Love of Learning.
Inspires – No limitations; Belief in our Learners; Every learner can be successful.
Quality Teaching and Learning – Plan and review curriculum; Strong emphasis on literacy and numeracy to allow success in a changing world.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Waiopehu College’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate how well the school is collecting and analysing a range of learner data to plan programmes and apply practices that are responsive to the needs of all learners.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
Waiopehu College is implementing a ‘future focused’ curriculum that is centred on learner agency and aspires to engage learners in programmes driven by their passions and interests. The school is now focused on ensuring systems and processes are in place to effectively gather, analyse and use data responsively to the meet needs of all learners.
The school expects to see:
coherent and consistent assessment and moderation practices across Years 9 and 10
robust systems and processes for tracking and monitoring learner progress
differentiated learning that is effectively informed by formative and summative assessment information
culturally responsive relational practices embedded across the school
improved outcomes for all learners.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support the school in its goals:
Staff prioritise building and sustaining strong relationships with learners.
Learner agency is highly valued, and learners have a strong voice in the design of aspects of the curriculum.
A variety of inclusive learning environments where learners with complex and/or individual needs are supported through individualised learning programmes focused on hauora .
School leaders are committed to providing staff with professional knowledge building opportunities about practices that best meet the needs of learners.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise excellent and equitable outcomes for all learners through:
professional learning and knowledge building about effective assessment for learning practices so that all staff better understand, and address learner needs in multi-level classroom environments
the development of an assessment framework for Years 9 and 10, ensuring coherent and consistent practices
continuing to develop, understand and implement culturally responsive and relational pedagogy to support the engagement of all learners
the strengthening of systems and processes for robust internal evaluation.
ERO has concerns about
School-wide attendance and the impact of this on learner progress and achievement, particularly for those most at-risk of underachievement.
Recommendation
Gather and analyse a range of data to inform strategies and practices that will improve learner engagement and attendance.
Set and monitor targeted attendance interventions.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
2 May 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
This school has:
He Whare Manaaki Tangata – Poipoia (Teen Parent Unit); Arohanui Kindergarten
Te Whare Āwhina – Learning Support Centre
Blake House Wellness Centre.
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).