Verdon College
Secondary (Year 7-15) · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 697
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Rockdale Road, Invercargill
- Territorial authority
- Invercargill City
- Phone
- 03-2169039
- admin@verdoncollege.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Invercargill · schools in Southland
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Part of enrolling at Verdon College is wearing our school uniform correctly to show pride in our school community.
- Required
- Where to buy the uniform
- https://shopinv.uniformgroup.co.nz/
You can see our 2023 uniform range at The U Shop [here](https://shopinv.uniformgroup.co.nz/)
- https://shopinv.uniformgroup.co.nz/
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Special character
- Verdon College is a Catholic learning community where excellence is fostered and gospel values guide success. Verdon College is an integrated Catholic College. Our Special Catholic Character is also based on the traditions of our founding orders the Marist brothers and Dominican sisters. Our College values are based on the combined values and traditions of these two orders.
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 361
- Māori
- 138
- Pacific
- 58
- Asian
- 200
- MELAA
- 26
- Other
- 4
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 07 | 15 | 10 | 35 | 2 | 1 | 47 | 0 | 98 |
| Year 08 | 28 | 8 | 28 | 1 | 1 | 50 | 0 | 98 |
| Year 09 | 19 | 11 | 34 | 8 | 2 | 71 | 0 | 125 |
| Year 10 | 28 | 12 | 26 | 1 | 0 | 62 | 0 | 117 |
| Year 11 | 29 | 7 | 23 | 4 | 2 | 66 | 0 | 113 |
| Year 12 | 23 | 7 | 25 | 7 | 1 | 63 | 0 | 106 |
| Year 13+ | 13 | 6 | 29 | 1 | 1 | 38 | 0 | 79 |
| Total | 155 | 61 | 200 | 24 | 8 | 397 | 0 | 736 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 11 | 11 | 8 | 21 | 1 | 0 | 28 | 0 | 61 |
| Age 12 | 22 | 8 | 36 | 1 | 2 | 45 | 0 | 96 |
| Age 13 | 24 | 9 | 28 | 6 | 2 | 73 | 0 | 124 |
| Age 14 | 29 | 11 | 27 | 3 | 0 | 64 | 0 | 119 |
| Age 15 | 26 | 10 | 26 | 3 | 1 | 66 | 0 | 115 |
| Age 16 | 25 | 6 | 25 | 7 | 1 | 61 | 0 | 106 |
| Age 17 | 11 | 7 | 24 | 3 | 1 | 42 | 0 | 79 |
| Age 18 | 7 | 2 | 8 | 0 | 1 | 18 | 0 | 31 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 |
| Total | 155 | 61 | 200 | 24 | 8 | 397 | 0 | 736 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2024
90.7%
| Verdon College | 90.7% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 82.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 88.5% |
| State: Integrated | 95.2% |
| New Zealand | 84.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 92.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 89.1% |
| Māori | 88.9% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 95.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 92.8% |
| Total | 90.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2022-2024)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2024
84.5%
| Verdon College | 84.5% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 74.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 81.4% |
| State: Integrated | 90.5% |
| New Zealand | 76.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 87.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 81.3% |
| Māori | 77.8% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 95.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 85.5% |
| Total | 84.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2022-2024)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2024
48.8%
| Verdon College | 48.8% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 44.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 61.3% |
| State: Integrated | 74.7% |
| New Zealand | 55.5% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 52.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 45.3% |
| Māori | 30.6% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 87% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 42.2% |
| Total | 48.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2022-2024)
Percentage with VP Award — 2024
11.6%
| Verdon College | 11.6% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 13.9% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 12.6% |
| State: Integrated | 12.1% |
| New Zealand | 11.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 12.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 10.9% |
| Māori | 13.9% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 4.3% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 13.3% |
| Total | 11.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2022-2024)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2024
76.7%
| Verdon College | 76.7% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 75.2% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 82% |
| State: Integrated | 90.3% |
| New Zealand | 81% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 78.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 75% |
| Māori | 66.7% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 91.3% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 77.1% |
| Total | 76.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2022-2024)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2022
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2020-2022 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2022
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2020-2022 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
26.6%
| Verdon College | 26.6% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 61.8% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 43.4% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 34.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 19.6% |
| Māori | 59.4% |
| Pacific | 12.8% |
| Asian | 4.3% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 25% |
| Total | 26.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
3.9%
| Verdon College | 3.9% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 6.3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 4.6% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 6.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 1.5% |
| Māori | 12.4% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 3.9% |
| Total | 3.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Verdon College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 2.8% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 2% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 464
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 31 August 1982
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
We have no ERO reports on record for this school. That can mean ERO has not published one yet, or that we have not matched one — it is not a finding about the school. ero.govt.nz is the place to check.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).