Upper Hutt College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 1,130
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Moonshine Road, Trentham, Upper Hutt
- Territorial authority
- Upper Hutt City
- Phone
- 04-5278749
- office@upperhutt.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Wellington Region
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
The school uniform is worn by all students.
- Required
- Where to buy the uniform
- http://upperhuttcollege.nzuniforms.com/
Uniform is available from [New Zealand Uniforms](http://upperhuttcollege.nzuniforms.com/).
- http://upperhuttcollege.nzuniforms.com/
- How to enrol
- https://upperhutt.school.kiwi/enrolment
To start your enrolment application, you can start this process online by [clicking here](https://upperhutt.school.kiwi/enrolment)
- https://upperhutt.school.kiwi/enrolment
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
International students attend Upper Hutt College for varying lengths of time, this can be from 1 term up to 4 years.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Music Lessons
- Music Lessons
- Choir / Choruses
- Choir / Choruses
- Cultural Committee
- Cultural Committee
- Debating
- Debating
- Jazz / Blues / Concert Bands
- Jazz / Blues / Concert Bands
- Environmental Group
- Environmental Group
- Barbershop Quartet
- Barbershop Quartet
- Kapa Haka
- Kapa Haka
- Polynesian Club
- Polynesian Club
- Drama Productions
- Drama Productions
- Wellness Committee
- Wellness Committee
- Showquest
- Showquest
- Relay for Life - Charity Run
- Relay for Life - Charity Run
- Tough Gal Challenge
- Tough Gal Challenge
- Cultural Evenings
- Cultural Evenings
- Games Groups
- Games Groups
- Archery
- Archery
- Athletics
- Athletics
- Badminton
- Badminton
- Basketball
- Basketball
- Cricket
- Cricket
- Cross Country
- Cross Country
- Dragonboating
- Dragonboating
- Futsal
- Futsal
- Hockey
- Hockey
- Interform Sports
- Interform Sports
- Lawn Bowls
- Lawn Bowls
- Volleyball
- Volleyball
- Netball
- Netball
- Touch Rugby
- Touch Rugby
- Rugby
- Rugby
- Rugby 7s
- Rugby 7s
- Soccer
- Soccer
- Squash
- Squash
- Tennis
- Tennis
- Softball
- Softball
- Ultimate Frisbee
- Ultimate Frisbee
- Waka Ama
- Waka Ama
- 40 Hour Famine
- 40 Hour Famine
- Arts Council
- Arts Council
- Tuaka peer support
- Tuaka peer support
- House Council
- House Council
- Search & Rescue
- Search & Rescue
- School Ball Committee
- School Ball Committee
- Social Committee
- Social Committee
- Sound & Lighting Crew
- Sound & Lighting Crew
- Sports Council
- Sports Council
- Student Council
- Student Council
- Music Lessons
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 811
- Māori
- 263
- Pacific
- 125
- Asian
- 181
- MELAA
- 37
- Other
- 29
- International
- 36
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 57 | 24 | 29 | 4 | 7 | 152 | 0 | 208 |
| Year 10 | 69 | 33 | 32 | 7 | 3 | 212 | 1 | 269 |
| Year 11 | 54 | 19 | 45 | 5 | 3 | 162 | 3 | 228 |
| Year 12 | 65 | 32 | 30 | 6 | 7 | 166 | 17 | 253 |
| Year 13+ | 34 | 17 | 27 | 10 | 3 | 116 | 8 | 179 |
| Total | 279 | 125 | 163 | 32 | 23 | 808 | 29 | 1137 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 13 | 49 | 22 | 27 | 3 | 6 | 131 | 1 | 180 |
| Age 14 | 68 | 30 | 27 | 6 | 3 | 204 | 0 | 257 |
| Age 15 | 58 | 19 | 44 | 6 | 4 | 171 | 1 | 231 |
| Age 16 | 61 | 31 | 30 | 6 | 7 | 168 | 11 | 251 |
| Age 17 | 34 | 15 | 28 | 9 | 2 | 116 | 15 | 184 |
| Age 18 | 8 | 7 | 5 | 2 | 1 | 16 | 1 | 30 |
| Age 19+ | 1 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 3 |
| Total | 279 | 125 | 163 | 32 | 23 | 808 | 29 | 1137 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
83.3%
| Upper Hutt College | 83.3% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 90.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 91.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 72.4% |
| Māori | 68.2% |
| Pacific | 71% |
| Asian | 80.6% |
| MELAA | 100% |
| Other | 100% |
| European/Pākehā | 89.2% |
| Total | 83.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
73.8%
| Upper Hutt College | 73.8% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 82.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 62.2% |
| Māori | 62.1% |
| Pacific | 64.5% |
| Asian | 71% |
| MELAA | 100% |
| Other | 100% |
| European/Pākehā | 78.3% |
| Total | 73.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
48.9%
| Upper Hutt College | 48.9% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 68.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 58.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 35.7% |
| Māori | 28.8% |
| Pacific | 29% |
| Asian | 48.4% |
| MELAA | 71.4% |
| Other | 40% |
| European/Pākehā | 53.5% |
| Total | 48.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
17.2%
| Upper Hutt College | 17.2% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 12.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 25.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 5.1% |
| Māori | 13.6% |
| Pacific | 12.9% |
| Asian | 9.7% |
| MELAA | 14.3% |
| Other | 20% |
| European/Pākehā | 21% |
| Total | 17.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
76.8%
| Upper Hutt College | 76.8% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 88.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 81.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 70.4% |
| Māori | 66.7% |
| Pacific | 64.5% |
| Asian | 83.9% |
| MELAA | 100% |
| Other | 60% |
| European/Pākehā | 77.7% |
| Total | 76.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Asian | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
51.5%
| Upper Hutt College | 51.5% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 24.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 40.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 64.4% |
| Māori | 114.3% |
| Pacific | 113.2% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 48.2% |
| European/Pākehā | 42.1% |
| Total | 51.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
7%
| Upper Hutt College | 7% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 2.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 7.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 6.7% |
| Māori | 17% |
| Pacific | 17.6% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 4.8% |
| Total | 7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
2.1%
| Upper Hutt College | 2.1% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 0.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 1.1% |
| Māori | 6% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 2.2% |
| Total | 2.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 466
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1962
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 11 January 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (11 January 2023)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 11 January 2023 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 1130 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
June 2018
996
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 23 August 2018
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 11 January 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 12 months of the Education Review Office and Upper Hutt College working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Upper Hutt College is a large, urban, Years 9 to 13 co-educational secondary school in Trentham, north of Wellington City. Its vision is for the college to be a vibrant modern learning environment that will engage and empower every learner to realise their full potential. The college is a member of the Upper Hutt Schools cluster.
Upper Hutt College’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are to:
continue to improve achievement and success for all learners
promote excellence in teaching
provide a safe, positive learning environment for everyone
support equity and excellence through shared literacy practice and digital fluency.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Upper Hutt College’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate the provision and effectiveness of implementing school-wide literacy and digital fluency practice.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
the college’s 2021 local curriculum review identified the need to prioritise literacy learning and the use of digital technologies to remove barriers to learning and improve outcomes for those who need this
to support literacy transitions for learners coming into the school
writing accuracy and reading comprehension have been identified through the national NCEA literacy pilot as areas to strengthen and the college sees this as a foundation for academic success .
The school expects to see:
development and implementation of a school-wide approach to improve literacy teaching and learning
teachers embedding effective literacy and digital fluency practice in everyday teaching and learning across all curriculum areas
teachers and learners using digital technologies to remove barriers to learning and improve engagement in learning
improvements in student achievement in all contexts across the curriculum .
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support it in its goal to provide equitable access and engagement in learning for all learners through a focus on shared literacy and digital fluency practice:
evaluation practices and findings that have been responded to and provided a positive direction for school improvement
teaching and learning practices in some areas which provide models for authentic, culturally responsive teaching to ensure learners can connect with the learning and that it is meaningful for them
the college’s commitment to provision for inclusion, wellbeing and equity which supports all learners’ sense of belonging
the college’s model for professional development planning which guides future staff development to improve outcomes for learners.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
staff professional learning and development that specifically focuses on improving learners’ reading and writing skills, supported by continued learning of digital technologies that provide literacy support
using a range of information to determine target literacy areas on which to incorporate Year 9 teaching and learning programmes
ensuring equity of access to digital devices to support learners’ learning
developing effective systems and processes to identify and closely monitor learners’ progress in literacy over time.
Dr Lesley Patterson Director Review and Improvement Services (Southern) Southern Region | Te Tai Tini
11 January 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).