Te Waha O Rerekohu Area School
Composite · State
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 65
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 3 Arawhena Street, Te Araroa
- Territorial authority
- Gisborne District
- Phone
- 06-8644853
- rerekohu@xtra.co.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Gisborne
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 7
- Māori
- 63
- Pacific
- 1
- Asian
- 1
- MELAA
- 0
- Other
- 0
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Year 02 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 |
| Year 03 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 5 |
| Year 04 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 |
| Year 05 | 8 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 8 |
| Year 06 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 |
| Year 07 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 4 |
| Year 08 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 |
| Year 09 | 11 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 11 |
| Year 10 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 |
| Year 11 | 9 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 9 |
| Year 12 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 4 |
| Year 13+ | 6 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 |
| Total | 68 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 4 | 0 | 70 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Age 06 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 07 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 08 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 |
| Age 09 | 8 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 8 |
| Age 10 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 11 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 4 |
| Age 12 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 13 | 10 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 14 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 |
| Age 15 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7 |
| Age 16 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 6 |
| Age 17 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 |
| Total | 68 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 4 | 0 | 70 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
88.9%
| Te Waha O Rerekohu Area School | 88.9% |
|---|---|
| Gisborne Region | 79.9% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 88.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
77.8%
| Te Waha O Rerekohu Area School | 77.8% |
|---|---|
| Gisborne Region | 68.5% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 77.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
55.6%
| Te Waha O Rerekohu Area School | 55.6% |
|---|---|
| Gisborne Region | 42.8% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 55.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
44.4%
| Te Waha O Rerekohu Area School | 44.4% |
|---|---|
| Gisborne Region | 17.9% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 44.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
66.7%
| Te Waha O Rerekohu Area School | 66.7% |
|---|---|
| Gisborne Region | 70.4% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 66.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
82.9%
| Te Waha O Rerekohu Area School | 82.9% |
|---|---|
| Gisborne Region | 31.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 26.5% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 77.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 91.9% |
| Māori | 83.2% |
| Pacific | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Asian | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 82.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
23.1%
| Te Waha O Rerekohu Area School | 23.1% |
|---|---|
| Gisborne Region | 3.3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 3.2% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 63.9% |
| Māori | 23.1% |
| Pacific | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Asian | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 23.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
13.3%
| Te Waha O Rerekohu Area School | 13.3% |
|---|---|
| Gisborne Region | 0.8% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 1.2% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 36.4% |
| Māori | 13.3% |
| Pacific | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Asian | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 13.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 555
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- Some students taught in te reo Māori
- Urban / rural
- Rural settlement
- Date opened
- 27 January 2005
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 3
- Last reviewed
- 10 September 2024
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (10 September 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 10 September 2024 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 65 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
March 2019
103
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 2 May 2019
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 10 September 2024 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
Te Waha O Rerekohu Area School is located in Te Araroa , East Cape and provides education for learners in Years 1 to 13. The school’s vision is for the students to feel inspired, feel the strength of their heritage and to believe in themselves. A new principal was appointed in 2023.
There are two parts to this report.
Part A: An evaluative summary of learner success and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction, including any education in Rumaki /bilingual settings.
Part B: The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Current State
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
For learners in Years 1 to 8, outcomes are increasingly equitable and excellent; achievement outcomes for those in Years 9 to 13 require improvement.
Most students in Years 1 to 8 achieve at expected curriculum levels in reading and mathematics and for writing the majority of learners achieve well.
For Years 9 to 10 school data shows a small majority of learners achieve at the expected curriculum levels in these learning areas, however, assessment practices are inconsistent and data not yet reliable.
Most learners achieve the National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) Level 1 with some learners achieving Levels 2 and 3, gaining endorsements in art and te reo Māori; most students successfully complete internal achievement standards but not the external achievement standards.
A large majority of learners at the school are Māori and whakapapa Ngāti Porou and Te Whānau Āpanui iwi; these learners have a strong sense of belonging and are confident in their language, culture and identity that supports, in the junior school, a positive sense of wellbeing.
Although regular attendance rates currently do not meet Ministry of Education targets, school leaders and the board of trustees are taking steps to set targets and develop strategies to support improved attendance, including the regular review and analysis of attendance information.
Conditions to support learner success
Leaders are taking steps to foster a professional culture focused on improving teaching and learner outcomes.
Leaders are beginning to set and actively pursue key improvement goals that are focused on accelerating the progress of those learners most at risk of underachievement, particularly in literacy.
Leadership is beginning to plan and coordinate the school’s curriculum and set expectations for high quality teaching.
School leaders are taking steps to establish educationally-focused relationships with other education providers and community groups, to provide secondary school learners with a greater range of learning opportunities.
The school is taking steps to provide a responsive curriculum and high-quality teaching practices.
Appropriate assessment information is beginning to be collected and used to inform teaching and learning, focused on improved outcomes for all learners.
Leaders and some teachers are beginning to collect, analyse and interpret data to make evidence-based decisions for schoolwide improvement actions.
Local contexts are reflected in the curriculum and schoolwide practices so that learners can see themselves, their identity and culture.
Organisational conditions including leadership, practices, systems and processes are being established to drive schoolwide improvement.
Professional learning opportunities for teachers increasingly align to improvement goals and learner needs, particularly for those learners most at risk of underachievement.
Relational trust and communication between staff increasingly support professional collaboration focused on high-quality teaching, particularly in the primary school.
Leaders and teachers are beginning to use evaluative evidence to understand the impact of their practice on learner outcomes, and to plan and take action for improvement.
The board of trustees understands its statutory obligations and has in places systems and processes to regularly review policies and procedures that are fit for purpose.
Part B: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
develop strategic and annual plans informed by the community and focused on high-quality, collaborative teaching practices that support improved attendance, engagement, and outcomes for all learners
implement literacy programmes in both te reo Māori and English for Years 1 to 10 that are responsive to the needs of all learners, and use structured literacy to accelerate the progress of those learners most at risk of underachieving
ensure consistent assessment and moderation practices across the school, particularly in Years 9 and 10, and to strengthen data analysis capability so staff can better meet the needs of those learners most at risk of underachieving
develop and implement a coherent localised curriculum informed by community aspirations that addresses the breadth and depth of The New Zealand Curriculum .
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows.
Within three months:
establish clear expectations for consistent schoolwide assessment practices; conduct comprehensive literacy assessments in both te reo Māori and English for Years 1 to 10 and regularly track and monitor learner progress
provide extensive professional development for teachers in structured literacy approaches to support accelerated learner progress, particularly for those most at risk of underachievement
implement professional development so teachers will be well-equipped to understand and implement the Year 9 and 10 literacy and numeracy NCEA co-requisites, leading to improved student outcomes in these areas
gather input from the whole school community on their aspirations and expectations of the school’s local curriculum and strategic and annual plans for improved learner engagement, attendance, and achievement.
Within six months:
collaboratively and collectively analyse schoolwide achievement and progress data to inform and design teaching and learning programmes that are responsive to learner need, especially those most at risk of underachievement
leaders and teachers engage in critical discussion about the impact of their teaching on learner outcomes through the school professional growth cycle, and to adapt practice and programmes to ensure improved and excellent outcomes for all learners
complete development and documentation of a comprehensive, schoolwide localised curriculum.
Annually:
board and staff rigorously analyse and scrutinise schoolwide achievement data to understand the impact of teaching practice and programmes on learner outcomes and to inform decision making for the next school year
implement a robust professional growth cycle focused on improving teacher practice, leading to improved outcomes for all learners, especially those most at risk of underachievement
gather input from the whole school community on the development and implementation of the strategic and annual plans, and localised curriculum, to inform improvements that are relentlessly focused on improved engagement and outcomes for all learners
organise workshops for whānau and community members to grow knowledge of key learning areas across the school; identify how they can further support attendance, learning at home and contribute to ongoing curriculum development.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in:
teaching and learning that is evidence-informed and meets the needs of all learners, especially those most at risk of underachievement
improved student attendance, engagement, and achievement
strengthened systems and processes of internal evaluation that result in improved teaching practices, and outcomes for all learners
school leaders, staff, whānau , learners, and wider community members collectively and collaboratively making decisions about and evaluating a school curriculum that meets their aspirations and results in excellent outcomes for all learners.
Recommendation to the Ministry of Education
ERO recommends that the Ministry of Education consider tailored support in order to bring about the following improvements in the secondary school:
the development of a curriculum that addresses the depth and breadth of The New Zealand Curriculum for the secondary school
staff development in assessment practices for Years 9 and 10.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
10 September 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 3 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).