Te Tipu Whenua o Pa Harakeke
Teen Parent Unit · State
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- not reported
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 151 Flaxmere Avenue, Flaxmere, Hastings
- Territorial authority
- Hastings District
- Phone
- 06-6500679
- melanief@flaxcol.co.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Hastings · schools in Hawke’s Bay
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Wearing of correct school uniform is compulsory and tidy presentation is seen as essential to foster that pride.
- Required
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Athletics
Sporting and outdoor education opportunities include: Athletics
- Dance
Dance, Drama, Chess, Choir, Book Club and Library Club, Robotics
- Drama
Dance, Drama, Chess, Choir, Book Club and Library Club, Robotics
- Chess
Dance, Drama, Chess, Choir, Book Club and Library Club, Robotics
- Choir
Dance, Drama, Chess, Choir, Book Club and Library Club, Robotics
- Book Club
Dance, Drama, Chess, Choir, Book Club and Library Club, Robotics
- Library Club
Dance, Drama, Chess, Choir, Book Club and Library Club, Robotics
- Robotics
Dance, Drama, Chess, Choir, Book Club and Library Club, Robotics
- Athletics
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- not reported
- Māori
- not reported
- Pacific
- not reported
- Asian
- not reported
- MELAA
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- International
- not reported
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
60%
| Te Tipu Whenua o Pa Harakeke | 60% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 86% |
| Teen Parent Unit | 65.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 60% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 60% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Not applicable |
| Total | 60% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
60%
| Te Tipu Whenua o Pa Harakeke | 60% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 77.5% |
| Teen Parent Unit | 47.9% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 60% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 60% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Not applicable |
| Total | 60% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
40%
| Te Tipu Whenua o Pa Harakeke | 40% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 57.7% |
| Teen Parent Unit | 24.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 40% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 40% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Not applicable |
| Total | 40% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
0%
| Te Tipu Whenua o Pa Harakeke | 0% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 16.6% |
| Teen Parent Unit | 4.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Not applicable |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
100%
| Te Tipu Whenua o Pa Harakeke | 100% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 78.8% |
| Teen Parent Unit | 89.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Not applicable |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Te Tipu Whenua o Pa Harakeke | 0% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 33.6% |
| Teen Parent Unit | 0% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Asian | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Te Tipu Whenua o Pa Harakeke | 0% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 6.2% |
| Teen Parent Unit | 0% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Asian | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
Not available (source marker: "nd")
| Te Tipu Whenua o Pa Harakeke | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 3% |
| Teen Parent Unit | 0% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Asian | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 569
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- not reported
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 12 October 2014
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 1
- Last reviewed
- 19 June 2017
- Latest report
- Te Tipu Whenua o Pa Harakeke - 19/06/2017
- Report type
- not reported
- Board assurance
- not reported
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 1 report ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: not reported (2026).