Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Te Rau Toroa
Composite · State
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 89
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 378 Main South Road, Fairfield, Dunedin
- Territorial authority
- Dunedin City
- Phone
- 03-4884722
- tumuaki@otepoti.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Dunedin · schools in Otago
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Ōtepoti is a thriving kura and the only full immersion Māori kura in Otago. We are a strong whānau, who believe our student’s wellbeing is paramount. We do our best to provide a nurturing environment underpinned by Te Aho Matua.
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 31
- Māori
- 88
- Pacific
- 17
- Asian
- 3
- MELAA
- 0
- Other
- 2
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 16 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 16 |
| Year 02 | 13 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 13 |
| Year 03 | 8 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 8 |
| Year 04 | 4 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 4 |
| Year 05 | 7 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 7 |
| Year 06 | 4 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 |
| Year 07 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 3 |
| Year 08 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 3 |
| Year 09 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 |
| Year 10 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Year 11 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Year 12 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Total | 68 | 12 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 25 | 0 | 68 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 15 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 15 |
| Age 06 | 11 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 11 |
| Age 07 | 10 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 08 | 5 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 09 | 7 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 7 |
| Age 10 | 4 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 |
| Age 11 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 12 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 13 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 14 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 15 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Age 16 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 17 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Total | 68 | 12 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 25 | 0 | 68 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
0%
| TKKM o Otepoti | 0% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 90.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| MELAA | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
0%
| TKKM o Otepoti | 0% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 84.8% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| MELAA | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
0%
| TKKM o Otepoti | 0% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 65.5% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| MELAA | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
0%
| TKKM o Otepoti | 0% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 20.4% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| MELAA | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
0%
| TKKM o Otepoti | 0% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 85.3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| MELAA | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| TKKM o Otepoti | 0% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 36.8% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 26.5% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| TKKM o Otepoti | 0% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 4.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 3.2% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| TKKM o Otepoti | 0% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 2% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 1.2% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 527
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in te reo Māori
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 31 December 1997
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
We have no ERO reports on record for this school. That can mean ERO has not published one yet, or that we have not matched one — it is not a finding about the school. ero.govt.nz is the place to check.
View this school on ero.govt.nz →
School reports are published by the Education Review Office (ERO). Link captured from Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).