KuraHub

← Back to search

Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Hokianga

Composite · State

Year levels
not reported
Total roll
139
Enrolment zone
No
Gender
Co-Educational
Every one of the 155 schools in Northland Region with a published location. Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Hokianga is the marked one. Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0

Where is it, and how do I get in touch?

Address
68 Koutu Point Road, Opononi
Territorial authority
Far North District
Phone
09-4058427
Email
admin@kurahokianga.co.nz
Website
not reported
Directions
Get directions

Other schools nearby: schools in Northland

Who goes here?

Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.

European
12
Māori
136
Pacific
14
Asian
0
MELAA
2
Other
0
International
0

Roll by year level and age

Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.

By year level
MāoriPacificAsianMELAAOtherEuropean/ PākehāInternational studentsTotal
Year 011100001011
Year 0260000006
Year 0390000009
Year 041300000013
Year 051110000011
Year 061100001012
Year 0790000009
Year 0880000108
Year 091700000017
Year 1051000005
Year 111620102017
Year 121610001017
Year 13+60000006
Total138501060141
By age
MāoriPacificAsianMELAAOtherEuropean/ PākehāInternational studentsTotal
Age 051100001011
Age 0660000006
Age 0790000009
Age 081200000012
Age 091110000011
Age 101300001014
Age 111000000010
Age 1270000107
Age 131400000014
Age 1471000007
Age 151620102017
Age 161510001016
Age 1770000007
Total138501060141

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0

Academic results

Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025

100%

Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Hokianga100%
Northland Region82.3%
Composite (Year 1-15)91.4%
State: Not integrated83.6%
New Zealand85.2%
Trend and demographic breakdown
FemaleToo few to report
MaleToo few to report
Māori100%
PacificNot applicable
AsianNot applicable
MELAANot applicable
OtherNot applicable
European/PākehāNot applicable
Total100%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)

Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025

100%

Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Hokianga100%
Northland Region72.1%
Composite (Year 1-15)86%
State: Not integrated75.4%
New Zealand77.8%
Trend and demographic breakdown
FemaleToo few to report
MaleToo few to report
Māori100%
PacificNot applicable
AsianNot applicable
MELAANot applicable
OtherNot applicable
European/PākehāNot applicable
Total100%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)

Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025

83.3%

Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Hokianga83.3%
Northland Region48.3%
Composite (Year 1-15)71.7%
State: Not integrated55.2%
New Zealand59%
Trend and demographic breakdown
FemaleToo few to report
MaleToo few to report
Māori83.3%
PacificNot applicable
AsianNot applicable
MELAANot applicable
OtherNot applicable
European/PākehāNot applicable
Total83.3%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)

Percentage with VP Award — 2025

50%

Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Hokianga50%
Northland Region16.8%
Composite (Year 1-15)16%
State: Not integrated14.4%
New Zealand14.1%
Trend and demographic breakdown
FemaleToo few to report
MaleToo few to report
Māori50%
PacificNot applicable
AsianNot applicable
MELAANot applicable
OtherNot applicable
European/PākehāNot applicable
Total50%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)

Retention

Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025

83.3%

Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Hokianga83.3%
Northland Region72.9%
Composite (Year 1-15)86.6%
State: Not integrated81.4%
New Zealand83%
Trend and demographic breakdown
FemaleToo few to report
MaleToo few to report
Māori83.3%
PacificNot applicable
AsianNot applicable
MELAANot applicable
OtherNot applicable
European/PākehāNot applicable
Total83.3%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)

Student engagement

Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024

0%

Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Hokianga0%
Northland Region52%
Composite (Year 1-15)26.5%
State40.2%
New Zealand37.1%
Trend and demographic breakdown
Female0%
Male0%
Māori0%
Pacific0%
AsianNot available (source marker: "nd")
Other0%
European/Pākehā0%
Total0%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)

Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024

0%

Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Hokianga0%
Northland Region6.5%
Composite (Year 1-15)3.2%
State4.5%
New Zealand4.1%
Trend and demographic breakdown
Female0%
Male0%
Māori0%
Pacific0%
AsianNot available (source marker: "nd")
Other0%
European/Pākehā0%
Total0%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)

Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024

0%

Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Hokianga0%
Northland Region2.7%
Composite (Year 1-15)1.2%
State1.9%
New Zealand1.8%
Trend and demographic breakdown
Female0%
Male0%
Māori0%
Pacific0%
AsianNot available (source marker: "nd")
Other0%
European/Pākehā0%
Total0%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)

About the school

Equity Index (EQI)
521
Boarding
No
Language of instruction
All students taught in te reo Māori
Urban / rural
Rural other
Date opened
28 January 2003

The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works

What did ERO find?

The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools

We have no ERO reports on record for this school. That can mean ERO has not published one yet, or that we have not matched one — it is not a finding about the school. ero.govt.nz is the place to check.

View this school on ero.govt.nz →

School reports are published by the Education Review Office (ERO). Link captured from Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0.

Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).