Te Kuiti High School
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 304
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Hospital Road, Te Kuiti
- Territorial authority
- Waitomo District
- Phone
- 07-8786292
- gw@tkhs.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.tkhs.school.nz/
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Waikato
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- How to enrol
- https://www.tkhs.school.nz/_files/ugd/972a64_74d18823ab79476ea4f0ecb62ff5272d.pdf
Student Enrolment - [Application Form](https://www.tkhs.school.nz/_files/ugd/972a64_74d18823ab79476ea4f0ecb62ff5272d.pdf)
- https://www.tkhs.school.nz/_files/ugd/972a64_74d18823ab79476ea4f0ecb62ff5272d.pdf
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
Te Kuiti High School welcomes applications from International Students who wish to experience a rural lifestyle.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Kapahaka
Kapahaka plays an integral part in the school particularly during formal occasions.
- Waka Ama
Waka Ama, Swimming, Touch Rugby, Athletics and Ki-o-rahi
- Swimming
Waka Ama, Swimming, Touch Rugby, Athletics and Ki-o-rahi
- Touch Rugby
Waka Ama, Swimming, Touch Rugby, Athletics and Ki-o-rahi
- Athletics
Waka Ama, Swimming, Touch Rugby, Athletics and Ki-o-rahi
- Ki-o-rahi
Waka Ama, Swimming, Touch Rugby, Athletics and Ki-o-rahi
- Netball
Netball, Hockey, Soccer, Basketball, Rugby and Rugby 7's
- Hockey
Netball, Hockey, Soccer, Basketball, Rugby and Rugby 7's
- Soccer
Netball, Hockey, Soccer, Basketball, Rugby and Rugby 7's
- Basketball
Netball, Hockey, Soccer, Basketball, Rugby and Rugby 7's
- Rugby
Netball, Hockey, Soccer, Basketball, Rugby and Rugby 7's
- Rugby 7's
Netball, Hockey, Soccer, Basketball, Rugby and Rugby 7's
- Kapahaka
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 106
- Māori
- 201
- Pacific
- 33
- Asian
- 23
- MELAA
- 0
- Other
- 0
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 43 | 12 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 26 | 0 | 68 |
| Year 10 | 42 | 5 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 24 | 0 | 63 |
| Year 11 | 52 | 5 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 21 | 0 | 73 |
| Year 12 | 32 | 9 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 23 | 0 | 57 |
| Year 13+ | 38 | 3 | 8 | 1 | 0 | 16 | 0 | 58 |
| Total | 207 | 34 | 27 | 1 | 0 | 110 | 0 | 319 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 13 | 32 | 9 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 22 | 0 | 53 |
| Age 14 | 53 | 6 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 26 | 0 | 73 |
| Age 15 | 49 | 6 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 22 | 0 | 73 |
| Age 16 | 30 | 5 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 21 | 0 | 51 |
| Age 17 | 34 | 7 | 5 | 1 | 0 | 17 | 0 | 54 |
| Age 18 | 9 | 1 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 15 |
| Total | 207 | 34 | 27 | 1 | 0 | 110 | 0 | 319 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
87.2%
| Te Kuiti High School | 87.2% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 84.2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 81.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 93% |
| Māori | 86% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 88.9% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 91.7% |
| Total | 87.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
74.4%
| Te Kuiti High School | 74.4% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 75.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 69.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 79.1% |
| Māori | 70.2% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 88.9% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 83.3% |
| Total | 74.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
52.3%
| Te Kuiti High School | 52.3% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 51.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 60.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 44.2% |
| Māori | 47.4% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 88.9% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 58.3% |
| Total | 52.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
15.1%
| Te Kuiti High School | 15.1% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 15.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 14% |
|---|---|
| Male | 16.3% |
| Māori | 12.3% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 11.1% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 20.8% |
| Total | 15.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
77.9%
| Te Kuiti High School | 77.9% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 77.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 74.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 81.4% |
| Māori | 71.9% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 83.3% |
| Total | 77.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
50.7%
| Te Kuiti High School | 50.7% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 53.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 27.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 73% |
| Māori | 58.9% |
| Pacific | 20.6% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 48.6% |
| Total | 50.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
3.2%
| Te Kuiti High School | 3.2% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 6.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 6.3% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 8.9% |
| Total | 3.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
1.9%
| Te Kuiti High School | 1.9% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 2.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 3.8% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 5.2% |
| Total | 1.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 522
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Small urban area
- Date opened
- 25 January 1955
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 6
- Last reviewed
- 30 October 2025
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (30 October 2025)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 30 October 2025 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO and the board have identified the following area of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
ensure that a suitable education outside the classroom practices is in place for students involved in work experience and vocational training including Gateway programmes [Health and Safety at Work Act 2015].
The board has since taken steps to address the area of non-compliance identified.
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 30 October 2025 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- Year levels
- Years 9 to 15
provides education for learners in Year 9 to 15
- Years 9 to 15
- Also provides
- Service Academy for students interested in the Armed Forces or Police
A Service Academy for students interested in the Armed Forces or Police began in 2025.
- Service Academy for students interested in the Armed Forces or Police
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 30 October 2025 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Every New Zealand state and state integrated school has an ERO review at least once every four years to evaluate what is working well for learners and what needs to be improved.
About the School
Te Kuiti High School, a state secondary school located in the Waitomo district of the King Country, provides education for learners in Year 9 to 15. It is affiliated to and supported by Ngāti Maniapoto. The school's vision is to empower and prepare all learners to be connected, engaged, lifelong learners, who can positively contribute to the community in an ever-changing world. A Service Academy for students interested in the Armed Forces or Police began in 2025.
Education Counts provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement, school enrolments and school zones. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
An explanation of the terms and judgements used in this report can be found here: Reporting | Education Review Office
Improvement and progress
This section is about the progress the school has made since the July 2024 ERO report. It includes an explanation of the expected improvements and findings.
Expected Improvements
The school worked to improve outcomes for learners by evaluating data literacy capabilities and capacity of staff. The school expect to see effective use of progress and achievement data to guide targeted planning and teaching, leading to improved student achievement and reduced disparity in achievement outcomes.
They worked towards fostering a collaborative culture where staff are collectively responsible for the success of students through the clear understanding of each student as a learner.
Findings
The school has yet to achieve equity and excellence for all students in relation to their progress and achievement. Student achievement in the junior school is beginning to improve but senior outcomes have declined.
The collection achievement of data has improved. Staff are developing a consistent approach to understanding and using data. The school is making progress toward a cohesive learner-focused approach to improving outcomes and this remains part of the school’s strategic goals.
What we know about learner success
This section provides a summary of learner success and wellbeing. The judgments are based on the ERO School Improvement Framework and the evidence provided to ERO during the evaluation.
Less than a third Less than half Small majority Large majority Most Almost all
0 to 33% 34 to 49% 50 to 64% 65 to 79% 80 to 90% Over 90%
Learner Success and Wellbeing
This section provides a summary of learner success and wellbeing.
Learner outcomes are variable and learner progress and achievement is yet to improve.
In 2024, fewer than half of learners achieved National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) Level 1.
A majority of students achieved NCEA Level 2, fewer than half achieved NCEA Level 3 and very few achieved University Entrance. Student achievement at all levels has declined over time.
In 2024, fewer than half of all junior learners were at the expected curriculum level. The number of students in Years 9 and 10 achieving the expected standards in numeracy and literacy is beginning to improve.
The school is yet to ensure that there is consistent equity in achievement outcomes for all learners.
Less than a third of students attend school regularly. The number of chronically absent learners remains a concern at 23%.
Conditions to support learner success
This section provides a summary of leadership, teaching, curriculum and foundation school conditions for improvement.
Schoolwide leadership is in the early stages of i mplementing sustainable improvements focused on students in teaching, learning, and planning.
Leaders have developed a wide-ranging strategic plan with suitable priorities and goals, based on community consultation; developing and implement ing explicit action plans to achieve these goals is a primary focus.
Leadership across the school, including middle leadership requires strengthening to bring about improvement.
Leaders have identified accountability across the school, teaching effectiveness and ensuring a rigorous approach to attendance as key areas for improvement.
The Board and leadership have identified the need to establish oversight and monitoring of school systems and processes, with focus on attendance and the use of analysed data to support planning.
Strengthening genuine student-driven learning for improved engagement is a priority.
Most teachers provide a range of learning opportunities. They have begun to extend their understanding and use of effective teaching strategies that engage learners and enable them to be more involved in and informed about their own learning.
Providing a range of useful pathways that meet learner needs is an area that the school has begun to improve.
Teachers are now taking a cohesive approach to assessment and data collection; it is essential to use this data consistently for planning programmes that meet the needs of all learners.
Staff should provide learners with opportunities to offer feedback and show that their input is respected and considered by the school.
A strength of the school is the positive culture where most learners have a sense of belonging.
Relationships between learners and teachers are based on respect and positive expectations.
Learners requiring additional learning assistance are well supported to make progress through tailored interventions.
Learners are actively participating and leading a wide range of cultural and sporting activities and there is the potential to develop more student leadership opportunities.
The opportunities provided by the new Service Academy have a positive impact on the learning and wellbeing on those involved.
Next steps for improvement
This section provides more detail for the school to include in its strategic and annual planning for ongoing improvement across the school.
Key priorities
Improve leadership capacity across the school at all levels.
Improve student progress, achievement, attendance and engagement.
Establishing coherent organisational systems and practices that include:
clear implementation plans that include measures, actions and timeframes
accountability mechanisms to monitor and report each term to the board on progress
evaluation of impact and effectiveness school actions on student achievement
Embed teaching practices that are responsive to all learners’ needs and cultures and strengthen student management of learning.
Improve regular attendance and reduce chronic absences.
Actions to bring about improvement
Within three months:
leaders review and identify leadership capacity and develop a clear plan outlining expected improvements, measures, actions, timeframes, and responsibilities
leaders identify the areas of school operations most in need of cohesive and consistent systems, and develop plans to improve these
leaders and teachers collaboratively plan and implement effective teaching practices schoolwide to improve student progress, achievement, and self-management of learning
leaders and the School Board urgently review current attendance planning to ensure that strategies improve regular attendance and reduce chronic absence
Within six months:
leaders review and report on the early impact of targeted professional development focused on improving student progress, achievement, and self-management of learning
Every six months:
leaders and the School Board monitor and review the impact the of the leadership improvement plans across the school to ensure that milestones are met
leaders and the School Board monitor and review the progress in strengthening schoolwide systems, processes and practices
leaders and the School Board monitor and review the schoolwide implementation of attendance planning, procedures and progress including progress with whānau engagement
Annually:
leaders and the School Board review the impact of leadership development in order to reset improvement priorities for the next year
leaders and the School Board review the effectiveness of school systems and practices in improving school conditions and outcomes for students and identify areas for ongoing improvement
leaders and the School Board review the impact of staff professional development on improving schoolwide teaching practices and student outcomes
leaders and the School Board review and reset attendance planning for the following year based on strategies that make the biggest difference.
Expected outcomes
Strengthened schoolwide leadership for effective teaching and learning.
Improved rates of achievement, NCEA success and access to meaningful pathways.
Reliable and consistent implementation of school systems, processes and practices that underpin positive school conditions for students and staff.
Improved schoolwide teaching practices that enable students to self-manage more of their learning.
Significant improvement in regular attendance and reduced chronic absences.
Recommendation to the Ministry of Education
ERO recommends that the Secretary for Education consider limited statutory manager intervention as listed in section 171(1)h of the Education and Training Act 2020 to bring about the following improvements in:
schoolwide leadership development at all levels in the school including middle leaders and teachers
assessment, effective teaching, planning and curriculum to improve achievement and student’s self-management of their learning
employment and support for school leaders
attendance planning and implementation to increase regular attendance.
The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Report and is due within four years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Director of Schools
30 October 2025
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 6 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).