Te Awamutu College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 1,310
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 938 Alexandra Street, Te Awamutu
- Territorial authority
- Waipa District
- Phone
- 07-8714199
- info@tac.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.tac.school.nz/
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Waikato
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
All students are required to wear school uniform
- Required
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
The International Student Programme at Te Awamutu College was inaugurated in 2005.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Kapa Haka Group, "Te Hokai Rangatahi"
Te Awamutu College has a Kapa Haka Group, "Te Hokai Rangatahi".
- Drama
- Music Groups
- Guitar Ensemble
- Choir
- Junior Concert Band
- Senior Concert Band
- Jazz Band
- Rockquest
- School Production (alternate years)
- Show Quest (alternate years)
- National Chamber Music Competition
- Debating
- Kapa Haka Festivals
- EPro 8
- Speech, Essays and Creative Writing Competitions
- Talent Quest
- Shakespeare Festival
- Kapa Haka Group, "Te Hokai Rangatahi"
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 1,046
- Māori
- 363
- Pacific
- 45
- Asian
- 115
- MELAA
- 15
- Other
- 8
- International
- 2
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 112 | 10 | 21 | 6 | 0 | 263 | 0 | 328 |
| Year 10 | 96 | 8 | 23 | 3 | 2 | 251 | 0 | 315 |
| Year 11 | 79 | 8 | 22 | 3 | 2 | 239 | 0 | 296 |
| Year 12 | 68 | 9 | 19 | 2 | 0 | 195 | 2 | 241 |
| Year 13+ | 43 | 4 | 20 | 1 | 1 | 159 | 1 | 198 |
| Total | 398 | 39 | 105 | 15 | 5 | 1107 | 3 | 1378 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 13 | 93 | 8 | 17 | 5 | 0 | 207 | 0 | 260 |
| Age 14 | 94 | 7 | 26 | 3 | 2 | 256 | 0 | 321 |
| Age 15 | 81 | 10 | 20 | 4 | 2 | 238 | 0 | 295 |
| Age 16 | 68 | 7 | 17 | 1 | 0 | 209 | 2 | 250 |
| Age 17 | 51 | 6 | 17 | 2 | 1 | 165 | 0 | 203 |
| Age 18 | 10 | 1 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 31 | 1 | 45 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 3 |
| Total | 398 | 39 | 105 | 15 | 5 | 1107 | 3 | 1378 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
80.1%
| Te Awamutu College | 80.1% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 84.2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 83.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 77.3% |
| Māori | 69.2% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 90.5% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 81.3% |
| Total | 80.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
65.3%
| Te Awamutu College | 65.3% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 75.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 69.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 62.2% |
| Māori | 48.4% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 76.2% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 68.1% |
| Total | 65.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
36.3%
| Te Awamutu College | 36.3% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 51.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 46% |
|---|---|
| Male | 28.5% |
| Māori | 25.3% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 42.9% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 38.6% |
| Total | 36.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
16.7%
| Te Awamutu College | 16.7% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 15.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 25.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 9.3% |
| Māori | 9.9% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 14.3% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 17.9% |
| Total | 16.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
74.3%
| Te Awamutu College | 74.3% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 77.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 79.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 70.3% |
| Māori | 61.5% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 74.5% |
| Total | 74.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
55.7%
| Te Awamutu College | 55.7% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 53.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 30.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 83.1% |
| Māori | 101.8% |
| Pacific | 65.7% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 38.8% |
| European/Pākehā | 48.6% |
| Total | 55.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0.7%
| Te Awamutu College | 0.7% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 6.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 1.5% |
| Māori | 1.3% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0.9% |
| Total | 0.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0.9%
| Te Awamutu College | 0.9% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 2.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 1.8% |
| Māori | 1.5% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 1.1% |
| Total | 0.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 481
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Medium urban area
- Date opened
- 30 May 1939
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 5
- Last reviewed
- 2 October 2024
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (2 October 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 2 October 2024 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO has identified the following area of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
develop a Child Protection policy to guide staff to identify and report child abuse and neglect [Children’s Act 2014].
The board has since addressed the area of non-compliance identified.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 2 October 2024 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
Te Awamutu College is a co-educational secondary school and provides education for learners in Years 9 to 13. The school mission is to create ‘ learning success for every student in a place of learning where students, staff, families, whānau and the community enjoy working together to create success in all aspects of school life .’ Te Awamutu College is the managing school for alternative education and hosts the local attendance service.
There are three parts to this report.
Part A: A summary of the findings from the most recent Education Review Office (ERO) report and/or subsequent evaluation.
Part B: An evaluative summary of learner success and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction, including any education in Rumaki /bilingual settings.
Part C: The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Previous Improvement Goals
Since to previous ERO report of August 2022, ERO and the school have been working to evaluate the effectiveness of the strategies used to raise achievement in literacy in Years 9 and 10.
Expected Improvements and Findings
The school expected to see:
Positive trends in achievement for all Year 9 and 10 students in literacy and accelerated progress for those who need this.
A small majority of the targeted Year 10 students achieved the Common Assessment Activity in reading, writing and mathematics.
A small shift in the overall reading achievement part of the Common Assessment Activity (CAA) literacy requirement for National Certificates of Educational Achievement (NCEA) between 2023 and 2024.
Increasingly equitable student outcomes in formal literacy assessments.
A small target group of Year 9 students who required additional support made accelerated progress in literacy.
A collaborative and consistent approach to literacy learning across all curriculum areas.
An across-school literacy committee leads literacy initiatives and there have been some positive shifts in the use of specific literacy teaching strategies.
Teacher professional development resulted in a more consistent and collaborative schoolwide approach to teaching literacy across the curriculum.
Increased teacher understanding of the literacy requirements for Year 9 and 10 students.
Other Findings
During the course of the evaluation, disparity in literacy achievement for Māori and boys was still evident and improving this remains a priority. The school recognises the need to use progress and achievement data more effectively to respond to identified learning needs.
The greatest shift that occurred in response to the school’s action has been teachers’ increasingly taking collective responsibility for literacy.
Part B: Current State
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
Some students experience positive outcomes; however, inequity in achievement remains for some groups of learners.
A large majority of students achieve the National Certificates of Educational Achievement (NCEA) at Levels 1 and 2 with a small majority in Level 3, less than half gain University Entrance; disparity in Māori and boys’ achievement continues.
Progress and achievement outcomes for Years 9 and 10 are yet to be fully analysed.
The Ministry of Education targets for regular attendance is yet to be achieved with just over half of students attending regularly, this remains a priority.
Conditions to support learner success
Leadership has yet to effectively monitor and evaluate the impact of school strategic initiatives to improve student outcomes.
School leaders recognise they need to raise student achievement and reduce disparity in outcomes by working collaboratively towards this key goal.
Leadership has begun to take steps to respond to student wellbeing surveys; this remains an ongoing priority to further promote a positive school culture.
Leaders consider and respond to learner needs when developing a wide range of curriculum and future pathways for students.
The curriculum offers a broad range of relevant and meaningful learning.
A well-resourced curriculum offers a variety of relevant learning pathways; improving the schoolwide understanding of effective teaching practice is a next step.
Teachers have established clear in-class routines that increasingly respond to individual students’ needs.
Learners needing additional support are identified and plans to support their progress are being strengthened.
The board and school leaders are taking initial steps to strengthen organisational conditions to bring about improvement.
Regular opportunities for staff professional growth and development occur and these need to be aligned and targeted to annual student achievement improvement goals.
The school is working to further develop partnerships with mana whenua to better respond to whānau, hapū and iwi aspirations for Māori learners.
The board needs to strengthen the development and ongoing monitoring of the implementation of the school’s strategic plan to improve student outcomes.
Part C: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
develop a more targeted and strategic approach to school improvement planning
improve student achievement outcomes and attendance, particularly for Māori learners and boys
take steps to further promote a positive, safe and inclusive environment for all learners
continue to build partnerships with iwi, hapū and whānau to improve learning opportunities and outcomes for Māori students.
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows.
Within three months:
the board, together with leadership, identify a small number of student achievement improvement priorities
develop an action plan with strategies, responsibilities, measures of success and timeframes
investigate, analyse and respond to the key areas of need identified in the student wellbeing survey
continue to build iwi, hapū and whānau connections to support the integration of mātauranga Māori principles into teaching and learning programmes in relation to te reo Māori, me onā tikanga Māori and te ao Māori.
Every six months:
continue to build teacher capacity to use progress and achievement data to identify and respond to learner needs
identify next learning steps and develop schoolwide data management systems and processes to support teachers to do this
evaluate the measures put in place to promote a safe and inclusive school environment and adjust planning and implementation/practice as needed
collaboratively review and develop schoolwide expectations for effective teaching and learning across the curriculum, including integration of te reo Māori, me onā Māori and te ao Māori across the school
report to the board on progress, achievement and attendance from Years 9 to 13.
Annually:
review and reset the strategic priorities for student achievement and attendance in annual implementation planning
review longitudinal data to understand shifts in trends and patterns of student attendance, progress, achievement and wellbeing to monitor the sustainability of improvements
evaluate the impact of the agreed teaching and learning practices and professional development
use agreed measures to monitor the progress and achievement of Māori students and integration of te ao Māori across the school curriculum.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in:
improved regular student attendance, achievement outcomes, particularly for Māori and boys
a clear, manageable, aligned and targeted school improvement strategy and planning implementation
a positive and inclusive environment with increased levels of student engagement
clear and consistent expectations for evidence-based teaching and learning practices.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
2 October 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 5 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).