Tapawera Area School
Composite · State
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 147
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 48 Main Road, Tapawera, Nelson
- Territorial authority
- Tasman District
- Phone
- 03-5224337
- office@tapawera.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Tasman
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Students in Years 0-11 wear uniform.
- Required
- Where to buy the uniform
- https://www.thewarehouse.co.nz/c/schools/tapawera-area-school
Uniform can be purchased from The Warehouse in Richmond or using [this link](https://www.thewarehouse.co.nz/c/schools/tapawera-area-school).
- https://www.thewarehouse.co.nz/c/schools/tapawera-area-school
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 137
- Māori
- 45
- Pacific
- 3
- Asian
- 0
- MELAA
- 1
- Other
- 2
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 10 |
| Year 02 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 03 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 16 | 0 | 16 |
| Year 04 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 8 |
| Year 05 | 4 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 13 | 0 | 15 |
| Year 06 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 13 |
| Year 07 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 11 |
| Year 08 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 09 | 5 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 13 |
| Year 10 | 9 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 18 | 0 | 20 |
| Year 11 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 11 |
| Year 12 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 11 |
| Year 13+ | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 7 |
| Total | 58 | 2 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 145 | 0 | 159 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 8 |
| Age 06 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 13 |
| Age 07 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 17 | 0 | 17 |
| Age 08 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 8 |
| Age 09 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 10 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 14 | 0 | 16 |
| Age 11 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 9 |
| Age 12 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 9 |
| Age 13 | 5 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 13 | 0 | 15 |
| Age 14 | 8 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 16 | 0 | 17 |
| Age 15 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 13 | 0 | 15 |
| Age 16 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 17 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 6 |
| Age 18 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 4 |
| Total | 58 | 2 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 145 | 0 | 159 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
66.7%
| Tapawera Area School | 66.7% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 82.2% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | 66.7% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 69.2% |
| Total | 66.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
60%
| Tapawera Area School | 60% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 72.8% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | 50% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 61.5% |
| Total | 60% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
26.7%
| Tapawera Area School | 26.7% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 43.8% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | 33.3% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 30.8% |
| Total | 26.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
26.7%
| Tapawera Area School | 26.7% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 9% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | 16.7% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 30.8% |
| Total | 26.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
53.3%
| Tapawera Area School | 53.3% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 77.2% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | 50% |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 53.8% |
| Total | 53.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
82.1%
| Tapawera Area School | 82.1% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 33% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 26.5% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 95.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 72% |
| Māori | 170.3% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 46.1% |
| Total | 82.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Tapawera Area School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 3.2% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 3.2% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Tapawera Area School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Tasman Region | 2.1% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 1.2% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 496
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Rural settlement
- Date opened
- 30 April 1942
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 2 March 2026
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (2 March 2026)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 2 March 2026 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 2 March 2026 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- Year levels
- Years 1 to 13
provides education for students in Years 1 to 13
- Years 1 to 13
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 2 March 2026 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Every New Zealand state and state integrated school has an ERO review at least once every four years to evaluate what is working well for learners and what needs to be improved.
About the school
Tapawera Area School is located near Nelson and provides education for students in Years 1 to 13. The school has a junior school for Years 1 to 8 and a senior school for Years 9 to 13. The current school roll is 160 of which 89% identify as European/ Pakeha , 40% identify as Māori and 2% as Pacific. The school’s vision is ‘with fire in our hearts, empower learn and grow.’ ‘ Nā te hatete i te ngākau, ko whakamana, ko ako, ko whanake .’
A Limited Statutory Manager (LSM) was appointed in October 2025.
Education Counts provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement, school enrolments and school zones. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
An explanation of the terms and judgements used in this report can be found here: Reporting | Education Review Office
Improvement and progress
This section is about the progress the school has made since the April 2024 ERO report. It includes an explanation of the expected improvements and findings.
Expected improvements
The school focused on evaluate the extent that leadership for learning develops and promotes cohesive schoolwide systems and processes to support and builds effective teaching practice that improves student learning and wellbeing outcomes.
The school expected to see a greater focus on high expectations and consistency of explicit teaching across the school, the use of formative assessment being used to inform teaching and shared with students leading to improved learning and wellbeing outcomes for all learners.
Findings
There has been some progress in reading and writing. Achievement mathematics achievement has significantly declined over the past 2 years.
School leadership maintain a focus on developing internal capability and growing middle leadership. Leaders have a clear strong vision and a strong strategic and annual plan. Targeted professional learning for staff has been provided with a focus on maintaining high expectations and the use of explicit teaching, which is visible in the junior school.
Across the school teaching quality remains variable. Leaders are implementing strategic working groups and professional learning groups for all staff which align with the strategic goals of the school.
Leaders have developed systems for the collection of achievement data but are yet to grow teacher capability to better use and share data with students.
What we know about learner success
This section provides a summary of learner success, wellbeing and foundation school conditions, including any education in Rumaki/Reo Rua settings. The judgments are based on the ERO School Improvement Framework and evidence provided to ERO during the evaluation.
Less than a third Less than half Small majority Large majority Most Almost all
0 to 33% 34 to 49% 50 to 64% 65 to 79% 80 to 90% Over 90%
Learner success and wellbeing
This section provides a summary of learner success and wellbeing.
The school is working towards improving student attendance, progress and achievement.
A large majority of students in Years 1 to 10 are at or above expected levels for reading and writing and a small majority achieve in mathematics. Overall achievement in mathematics has dropped over the last two years. There is persistent disparity for girls and Māori students in writing and mathematics.
In 2024 a small majority of students achieved National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) Level 1 and 3 and less than half achieved NCEA Level 2. Student achievement in NCEA Level 2 showed significant improvement with most students achieving Level 2 in 2024.
Wellbeing data indicates students feel increasingly positive about the school and express a sense of belonging.
A small majority of students attend school regularly; the school is not meeting the Government target of 80%. Chronic absence is not reducing over time.
Conditions to support learner success
This section provides a summary of leadership, teaching, curriculum and foundation school conditions for improvement.
Leaders are taking steps to establish a collaborative school culture to drive improvement across a range of areas of the school.
Leaders focus on raising expectations and strengthening support to improve academic outcomes for all learners and the development of a positive culture for student learning.
The leadership team works effectively to build staff and middle leadership capability to implement school improvement priorities.
Leaders have developed a thorough, consistent Professional Growth Cycle process involving observations feedback, student voice, learning walls and targeted professional learning.
Professional learning opportunities are strategically aligned with the school’s improvement priorities and learner needs.
Leaders and teachers are establishing a responsive curriculum and working towards consistency in teaching practice.
The quality of teaching in the junior school is good. Teaching quality across the school is variable, greater consistency of expectations and behaviour management is required.
A curriculum team leads the development of a Year 1 to 10 curriculum plan and school-wide themes provide local context and authentic learning opportunities for students.
Students with additional learning and behaviour needs are identified early by leaders and teachers and provided with relevant, effective support to progress and achieve.
Targeted interventions such as the Forge programme and the Āko learning support hub are showing improvement in positive engagement and progress for some students.
Leaders establish systems, structures and practices to develop school-wide conditions required to improve student outcomes.
Intentional steps taken by leaders to develop professional networks and collaborate with external agencies are showing improvement in engagement and progress for some learners.
Student wellbeing is prioritised; student feedback is gathered regularly and school-wide behavioural systems and processes reviewed to strengthen classroom practices and school culture; deeper analysis of well-being data is needed to identify patterns and inform strategies for improvement.
Leaders create positive opportunities for whanau and student engagement through events and community initiatives; flexible approaches such as hybrid timetables and individual plans reduce barriers for at risk students.
Next steps for improvement
This section provides more detail for the school to include in its strategic and annual planning for ongoing improvement across the school. It identifies key priorities and actions for improvement .
Key priorities
Strengthen the quality of teaching practice and clearly align across the curriculum from Year 1 to 13 to improve equity of achievement and progress for all students.
Introduce a school wide framework of expectations for effective and consistent teaching practice.
Improve regular attendance to meet the government targets.
Actions to bring about improvement
Within six months:
teachers participate in professional learning to build capability in gathering, analysing and using learning information effectively
develop a school wide framework of expectations for effective and consistent teaching practice
Every six months:
leaders gather and respond to wellbeing surveys and monitor consistent behaviour management strategies across the school
leaders monitor the implementation of the school wide framework, determine what is working and decide on appropriate next steps
leaders evaluate the impact of teaching practices on the equity of student progress and achievement and plan for future development
review attendance data, evaluate impact of actions and adjust strategies to improve regular attendance
Annually:
the school Board and leaders collect, analyse and report on attendance, progress, wellbeing, behaviour and achievement data to evaluate the effectiveness and impact of the school’s initiatives, inform strategic and annual planning, identify next steps for improvement and share with the school community.
Expected outcomes
Improved wellbeing, positive behaviour, engagement and equitable progress and achievement for all students.
Students below expected curriculum levels make accelerated progress through targeted interventions.
Consistent, positive and effective teaching practices embedded across the school that promote equitable outcomes for all students.
Improved and sustained levels of regular attendance for all learners.
Clear and coherent school processes used systematically to support continual improvement.
The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Report and is due within four years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Director of Schools
2 March 2026
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).