Taonga Education Centre
Teen Parent Unit · State
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- not reported
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 28 Palmers Road, Clendon, Auckland
- Territorial authority
- Manurewa Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-2692863
- s.cunningham@kiwa.school.nz
- Website
- https://www.jchs.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- How to enrol
- https://www.jchs.school.nz/enrolment-information
Visit our [Enrolment page](https://www.jchs.school.nz/enrolment-information).
- https://www.jchs.school.nz/enrolment-information
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Basketball
- Basketball
- Football
- Football
- Netball
- Netball
- Rugby Union
- Rugby Union
- Rugby League
- Rugby League
- Tag Football
- Tag Football
- Touch
- Touch
- Volleyball
- Volleyball
- Basketball
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- not reported
- Māori
- not reported
- Pacific
- not reported
- Asian
- not reported
- MELAA
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- International
- not reported
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
71.4%
| Taonga Education Centre | 71.4% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Teen Parent Unit | 65.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 71.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Not applicable |
| Total | 71.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
71.4%
| Taonga Education Centre | 71.4% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Teen Parent Unit | 47.9% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 71.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Not applicable |
| Total | 71.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
28.6%
| Taonga Education Centre | 28.6% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Teen Parent Unit | 24.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 28.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Not applicable |
| Total | 28.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
0%
| Taonga Education Centre | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Teen Parent Unit | 4.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Not applicable |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
85.7%
| Taonga Education Centre | 85.7% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Teen Parent Unit | 89.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 85.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Not applicable |
| Total | 85.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Clendon Teen Parent Unit | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 29.7% |
| Teen Parent Unit | 0% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Clendon Teen Parent Unit | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 3% |
| Teen Parent Unit | 0% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Clendon Teen Parent Unit | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 1.4% |
| Teen Parent Unit | 0% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 569
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- not reported
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 2005
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 2
- Last reviewed
- 8 April 2019
- Latest report
- Clendon Teen Parent Unit - 08/04/2019
- Report type
- not reported
- Board assurance
- not reported
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education has not reported a current roll for this school. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
February 2019
19
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 8 April 2019
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 2 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: not reported (2026).