Tamaki College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 721
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Elstree Avenue, Glen Innes, Auckland
- Territorial authority
- Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-5211104
- admin@tamaki.ac.nz
- Website
- http://www.tamaki.ac.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
International students are able to access all curriculum areas, including academies. All technology and every other benefit or opportunity available to domestic students is also available to International Students.
- Accepted, as stated
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 61
- Māori
- 180
- Pacific
- 533
- Asian
- 74
- MELAA
- 19
- Other
- 2
- International
- 2
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 47 | 126 | 26 | 4 | 0 | 20 | 0 | 178 |
| Year 10 | 48 | 127 | 14 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 163 |
| Year 11 | 26 | 108 | 16 | 9 | 0 | 12 | 1 | 149 |
| Year 12 | 40 | 128 | 22 | 2 | 1 | 16 | 2 | 170 |
| Year 13+ | 22 | 82 | 37 | 1 | 1 | 9 | 3 | 134 |
| Total | 183 | 571 | 115 | 16 | 2 | 69 | 6 | 794 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Age 13 | 37 | 103 | 21 | 3 | 0 | 16 | 0 | 146 |
| Age 14 | 52 | 117 | 16 | 2 | 0 | 16 | 0 | 158 |
| Age 15 | 28 | 115 | 14 | 6 | 0 | 10 | 1 | 151 |
| Age 16 | 37 | 130 | 19 | 3 | 1 | 13 | 2 | 169 |
| Age 17 | 22 | 89 | 18 | 1 | 1 | 12 | 2 | 119 |
| Age 18 | 7 | 16 | 12 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 34 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 14 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 15 |
| Total | 183 | 571 | 115 | 16 | 2 | 69 | 6 | 794 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
76.4%
| Tamaki College | 76.4% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 79.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 73.9% |
| Māori | 68.4% |
| Pacific | 72.9% |
| Asian | 93.1% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 76.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
69.1%
| Tamaki College | 69.1% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 68.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 69.3% |
| Māori | 57.9% |
| Pacific | 67.8% |
| Asian | 86.2% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 69.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
50.3%
| Tamaki College | 50.3% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 51.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 48.9% |
| Māori | 36.8% |
| Pacific | 43.2% |
| Asian | 86.2% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 50.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
15.8%
| Tamaki College | 15.8% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 16.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 14.8% |
| Māori | 7.9% |
| Pacific | 12.7% |
| Asian | 31% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 15.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
81.2%
| Tamaki College | 81.2% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 81.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 80.7% |
| Māori | 73.7% |
| Pacific | 79.7% |
| Asian | 93.1% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 81.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
30.8%
| Tamaki College | 30.8% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 29.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 33.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 28.4% |
| Māori | 41.5% |
| Pacific | 33.5% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 50.4% |
| Total | 30.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
5%
| Tamaki College | 5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 3.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 6.8% |
| Māori | 8.6% |
| Pacific | 6.6% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
5.4%
| Tamaki College | 5.4% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 1.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 1.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 8.3% |
| Māori | 10.5% |
| Pacific | 7% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 5.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 526
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1957
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 5
- Last reviewed
- 11 February 2025
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (11 February 2025)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 11 February 2025 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
The board has identified the following area of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
physical Restraint training for teachers and support staff. [Education (Physical Restraint) 2023 (Rule 12)]
The board has since taken steps to address this area of non-compliance identified.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 721 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
May 2017
631
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 30 June 2017
March 2014
518
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 26 June 2014
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 11 February 2025 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
Tamaki College , located in the eastern districts of Auckland City, is a coeducational school providing education for students in Years 9 to 13. The school values are ‘Respect, Innovation, Success and Excellence’.
There are two parts to this report.
Part A: An evaluative summary of learner success and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction, including any education in Rumaki /bilingual settings.
Part B: The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Current
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
Improvements are required to ensure all learners attend regularly, make sufficient progress and achieve well.
A small majority of students gained their National Certificate in Educational Achievement (NCEA) in Level 2 with less than half gaining Levels 1 and 3, and very few gaining University Entrance; disparity for Māori is evident.
Data for Years 9 and 10 shows a small majority achieve curriculum expectations in reading, a majority in numeracy and less than half in writing.
School collected information from a student survey in Term 3, 2024 indicates that most feel well supported, and their cultures and languages valued.
The school is well below the Ministry of Education target for attendance, with few students attending regularly.
Conditions to support learner success
Leadership is working towards implementing planned and deliberate steps to improve student engagement and achievement.
Leaders have, appropriately, established targets to bring about improvements in attendance and achievement and taken some steps, such as working with families and more targeted individual support; the targets have not been met and require action planning with measurables to do so.
Student progress and achievement data is gathered; analysis and use are areas for further development to better inform school decision making, teaching capability needs and programmes of learning.
Leaders recognise, and ERO’s evaluation affirms, the need to improve the quality of programmes of learning to engage students, including a variety of approaches to teaching.
Leaders and teachers are taking steps to provide a responsive curriculum to meet student needs.
Positive relationships between students and with teachers are evident; purposeful teaching and engaged students were evident in those classes observed by ERO.
Students have sufficient opportunities to learn across the breadth and depth of The New Zealand Curriculum; staff in the junior school are beginning to use different approaches in response to student need.
Senior students have opportunity to participate in academies for health, trades and service; the extent of successful outcomes of these pathways for learners is not clear.
Aspects of school conditions have been established to support improvement and student outcomes.
Leaders are building positive relationships with contributing schools to enhance the transition of students from primary to secondary school.
The response to student learning needs requires a more strategic and sustainable approach; not clear is the extent to which in-school responses, and the support from outside agencies, have contributed to improved student outcomes.
A well-resourced pastoral support team uses community-based services for the wellbeing and pastoral needs of students; the impact on learners, needs to be further explored to know what is working and who for.
Part B: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
increase expectations of the school and its community for engagement and attendance; monitor the effectiveness of school curriculum, systems and processes to support improved student attendance
have leaders comprehensively analyse achievement and leavers’ data to inform decision making, teaching and learning programmes, pathway provision and targeted support for at risk learners
evaluate programmes and initiatives across the school to identify the impact on student engagement and achievement and inform decision making about resourcing of these
evaluate the effectiveness of the curriculum in providing programmes of learning to meet student needs and engage them to achieve success, with a specific focus on literacy and mathematics.
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows.
Within three months:
have in place an action plan for attendance expectations; closely monitor attendance, with a focus on the senior school
develop a system to evaluate programmes and initiatives to know the impact on student success and outcomes
establish schoolwide processes for collecting and analysing dependable student progress data and achievement and leavers’ information; these processes should enable data to be collected and used over time
establish a plan to review the curriculum, with the focus on ensuring teaching and learning programmes engages students and meets their needs
Within six months:
review progress of the attendance action plan and report to the board
to inform decision making, analyse progress on the evaluation of the impact of programmes and initiatives on learner outcomes
check systems to track and monitor student progress and achievement are in place, understood and consistently used
start the curriculum review to identify strengths and areas that need further development to support student engagement and achievement
Every six months
analyse and report to the board on attendance, progress and achievement for ongoing decision making and timely adjustments; include progress in teacher capability development and curriculum changes
Annually:
report to the board analysed attendance, progress, achievement and leavers’ destination data to identify trends and next steps the school needs to take for improvement
report to the board on the impact of initiatives and programmes on student learning and wellbeing outcomes and adjust accordingly
use ongoing curriculum review findings to implement changes for the following year.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in:
improved attendance, progress and achievement for all year levels
programmes and initiatives that contribute to student success and positive outcomes, including beyond school
student attendance and achievement regularly tracked, monitored, analysed and responded to and used for well-founded decision making
students learning through a curriculum that meets their needs and prepares them well for life after school.
Recommendation to the Ministry of Education
ERO recommends that the Secretary for Education consider intervention(s) in Section 174 of the Education and Training Act 2020 in order to bring about the following improvements:
action planning to address attendance and achievement concerns and curriculum development
evidence-based decision making; knowing about and using assessment information.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Acting Director of Schools
11 March 2025
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 5 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).