St Thomas of Canterbury College
Secondary (Year 7-15) · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 700
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Boys School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 69 Middlepark Road, Sockburn, Christchurch
- Territorial authority
- Christchurch City
- Phone
- 03-3487010
- staff@stc.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.stc.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Christchurch · schools in Canterbury
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- Our aim is to inspire students to be responsible, socially conscious, resilient, and personally successful in the rapidly changing 21st century, and to be a student-centred model for educational innovation.
- Special character
- We acknowledge and take responsibility for nurturing and celebrating our Catholic identity and sharing the intellectual and cultural traditions of our Catholic faith. We are welcoming and inclusive of all faiths traditions. We acknowledge the complexity of the modern world and therefore we seek ways to create a Catholic identity that is meaningful within the modern world.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
St Thomas of Canterbury College, located in Christchurch, New Zealand, proudly welcomes international students into a unique learning environment where academic success, personal growth, and strong values go hand in hand.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Being part of Polyfest
- Being part of Polyfest
- Singing in a national Choir festival
- Singing in a national Choir festival
- Learning an instrument
- Learning an instrument
- Being in a rock, jazz or orchestral band
- Being in a rock, jazz or orchestral band
- Composing and recording original music
- Composing and recording original music
- Participating in drama and musical productions
- Participating in drama and musical productions
- Learning technical and sound skills backstage
- Learning technical and sound skills backstage
- Theatresports
- Theatresports
- Exhibiting in art shows
- Exhibiting in art shows
- Painting murals on our buildings
- Painting murals on our buildings
- Kapahaka
- Kapahaka, Taiaha, Pasifika dance
- Taiaha
- Kapahaka, Taiaha, Pasifika dance
- Pasifika dance
- Kapahaka, Taiaha, Pasifika dance
- Debating
- Debating and public speaking
- public speaking
- Debating and public speaking
- Ngā Manu Kōrero
our Māori students participate in a wide range of kaupapa Māori, including Ngā Manu Kōrero, Kapa Haka, Ki-o-rahi, and Noho Marae Wānanga
- Ki-o-rahi
our Māori students participate in a wide range of kaupapa Māori, including Ngā Manu Kōrero, Kapa Haka, Ki-o-rahi, and Noho Marae Wānanga
- Noho Marae Wānanga
our Māori students participate in a wide range of kaupapa Māori, including Ngā Manu Kōrero, Kapa Haka, Ki-o-rahi, and Noho Marae Wānanga
- Po fa’afiafiaga
key cultural celebrations such as Polyfest, Po fa’afiafiaga, and the Tausala/Manaia fundraiser
- Power-Up Tutorial Club
the Power-Up Tutorial Club, Fijian Community Group, and active Pasifika Parents Komiti provide ongoing support and engagement opportunities
- Fijian Community Group
the Power-Up Tutorial Club, Fijian Community Group, and active Pasifika Parents Komiti provide ongoing support and engagement opportunities
- Being part of Polyfest
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 443
- Māori
- 130
- Pacific
- 142
- Asian
- 125
- MELAA
- 20
- Other
- 1
- International
- 28
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 08 | 14 | 9 | 4 | 3 | 0 | 47 | 0 | 58 |
| Year 09 | 25 | 33 | 22 | 5 | 0 | 82 | 0 | 138 |
| Year 10 | 33 | 30 | 18 | 3 | 0 | 105 | 0 | 147 |
| Year 11 | 28 | 21 | 10 | 0 | 0 | 94 | 7 | 131 |
| Year 12 | 21 | 26 | 18 | 6 | 1 | 68 | 10 | 121 |
| Year 13+ | 21 | 23 | 10 | 3 | 0 | 73 | 6 | 108 |
| Total | 142 | 142 | 82 | 20 | 1 | 469 | 23 | 703 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 11 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 12 | 13 | 4 | 3 | 3 | 0 | 34 | 0 | 42 |
| Age 13 | 21 | 26 | 18 | 5 | 0 | 71 | 0 | 117 |
| Age 14 | 31 | 34 | 15 | 2 | 0 | 100 | 0 | 138 |
| Age 15 | 32 | 27 | 18 | 1 | 0 | 103 | 2 | 149 |
| Age 16 | 21 | 24 | 16 | 4 | 1 | 72 | 8 | 119 |
| Age 17 | 19 | 19 | 11 | 5 | 0 | 77 | 9 | 116 |
| Age 18 | 5 | 8 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 11 | 3 | 20 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Total | 142 | 142 | 82 | 20 | 1 | 469 | 23 | 703 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
99.2%
| St Thomas of Canterbury College | 99.2% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 87.1% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 89.6% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 99.2% |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | 96% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 99.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
95.9%
| St Thomas of Canterbury College | 95.9% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 79.6% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.3% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 95.9% |
| Māori | 87.1% |
| Pacific | 96% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 96.5% |
| Total | 95.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
76%
| St Thomas of Canterbury College | 76% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 59% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 64.5% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 76% |
| Māori | 58.1% |
| Pacific | 64% |
| Asian | 81.8% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 80% |
| Total | 76% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
11.6%
| St Thomas of Canterbury College | 11.6% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 13.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 14.7% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 11.6% |
| Māori | 9.7% |
| Pacific | 4% |
| Asian | 0% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 16.5% |
| Total | 11.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
92.6%
| St Thomas of Canterbury College | 92.6% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 83.6% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.1% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 92.6% |
| Māori | 77.4% |
| Pacific | 100% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 91.8% |
| Total | 92.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0.9%
| St Thomas of Canterbury College | 0.9% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 38.3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 43.4% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 0.9% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 1.3% |
| Total | 0.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| St Thomas of Canterbury College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 3.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 4.6% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| St Thomas of Canterbury College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 1.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 2% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 430
- Boarding
- Yes
- Language of instruction
- Some students taught in a Pacific language
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 25 January 1961
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 7
- Last reviewed
- 10 October 2025
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (24 June 2025)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 24 June 2025 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 10 October 2025 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- Year levels
- Years 8 to 13
providing education for boys in Years 8 to 13
- Years 8 to 13
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 700 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
June 2015
587
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 27 July 2015
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 10 October 2025 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Every New Zealand state and stage integrated school has an ERO review at least once every four years to evaluate what is working well for learners and what needs to be improved.
About the school
St Thomas of Canterbury College is a state-integrated Catholic school in the Edmund Rice tradition, providing education for boys in Years 8 to 13. The school is in the process of phasing out the provision of education at Years 7 and 8.
The school’s vision is to be a community that leads through educating hearts and minds , and its values are Brotherhood, Manawa , Compassion and Legacy .
Education Counts provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
An explanation of the terms and judgements used in this report can be found here: Reporting | Education Review Office
Expected improvements and findings
This section is about the progress the school has made since the April 2023 ERO report. It includes an explanation of the expected improvements and findings.
ERO and the school have been working together to evaluate the impact of strategies to accelerate achievement in the National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) for Māori learners to above 90%.
Expected Improvements
The school expected to see an increased attendance, achievement and engagement of Māori learners at all levels of NCEA and improved levels of NCEA Level 1 and 2 merit and excellence endorsements for all students.
Findings
Regular attendance rates have improved.
Since 2021, Māori achievement has, with some minor variability, improved, and over 80% of Māori learners achieve NCEA at their level.
The achievement gap between groups of learners has narrowed and, in some areas, has been eliminated. The school is now focused on sustaining and embedding these results to ensure consistent improvement.
The number of students achieving NCEA endorsed with Merit and Excellence has been variable; however, over the past three years, it has surpassed national averages.
There has been an upward trend in the number of Merit and Excellence endorsements achieved at NCEA Level 2. Continuing to enhance these outcomes remains a key priority for the school.
What we know about learner success
This is a summary of learner success, which guides the School Board’s future strategic direction, including any education in Rumaki /bilingual settings.
Less than a third Less than half Small majority Large majority Most Almost all
0 to 33% 34 to 49% 50 to 64% 65 to 79% 80 to 90% Over 90%
Learner success and wellbeing
This section provides a summary of learner success and wellbeing.
Most learners are engaged, make progress and achieve at high levels with mainly equitable outcomes.
Most learners achieve NCEA levels 1, 2 and 3, and almost all learners meet literacy and numeracy requirements.
Most learners in Years 8 to 10 achieve at the expected curriculum levels in reading, writing and mathematics.
Students regularly report feeling safe, valued and supported and comment particularly on the sense of brotherhood.
The small majority of learners attend school regularly. The school is yet to reach the Government’s target of 80% regular attendance by 2030.
Conditions to support learner success
This section provides a summary of leadership, teaching, curriculum and foundation school conditions for improvement.
A cohesive leadership team work well together to best meet the needs of learners.
A consultative and considered approach by leaders to change and capacity building supports the achievement of strategic priorities and ongoing improvement in student learning and wellbeing.
Leaders and staff at all levels engage in professional development and staff are encouraged to take up opportunities to lead.
Leaders carry out effective evaluation of all aspects of school organisation.
Learners benefit from high quality teaching practice and an increasingly responsive curriculum.
The classroom learning culture is well-established and characterised by respect, inclusion, high expectations and collaboration between teachers and learners.
Teachers are supported to develop strategies and programmes to promote engagement and success for students at all levels.
Learners benefit from a curriculum that provides a wide range of learning opportunities both within and outside the classroom.
The use of data and information by leaders and teachers across the school helps inform and direct teaching practice.
Students learn and grow in a positive environment where there is a very strong sense of belonging and brotherhood.
The school vision and values are evident in all aspects of the school, underpinning decision making and actions of leaders, staff and students.
A new mentoring system and the use of vertical form time contributes to every boy feeling supported, valued and involved on his own wellbeing and learning.
Learners are encouraged through a range of ways, formal and informal, to have a voice about their learning and their school, and surveys show a high degree of learner satisfaction.
Next steps for improvement
This section provides more detail for the school to include in its strategic and annual planning for ongoing improvement across the school. It identifies key priorities and actions for improvement.
Key priorities
Develop a responsive and engaging curriculum for Years 9 and 10.
Develop a schoolwide approach to graduate profiles at Years 10 and 13 that reflects the school’s values and learner journeys.
Review and strengthen the mentor programme throughout the school.
Continue to evaluate and refine attendance processes to achieve the Government target of 80% regular attendance by 2030.
Actions to bring about improvement
Within three months:
leaders and teachers complete planning for development of the Years 9 and 10 curricula
leaders and teachers progress actions to develop graduate profiles
leaders and teachers continue to monitor and report against the key milestones and expected outcomes of the mentor programme
leaders and teachers continue to evaluate and refine attendance processes to achieve the Government attendance target
Every six months:
leaders and teachers continue development of the Years 9 and 10 curricula for implementation
leaders and teachers continue to develop graduate profiles and their implementation
leaders monitor progress against key milestones and the expected outcomes of the mentor programme
leaders continue to evaluate, report and refine attendance processes
Annually:
leaders and the Board use reported evaluation information about the implementation of the Years 9 and 10 curricula to inform ongoing changes as required
leaders evaluate the effectiveness and appropriateness of the graduate profile
leaders and the Board use reported evaluation information about the effectiveness of the mentor programme against expected outcomes to inform next steps
leaders and the Board use reported evaluation information about approaches to improving attendance to inform steps to further improve regular attendance levels.
Expected outcomes
Improved engagement, progress and achievement in Years 9 and 10.
Learners are formally recognised for a wider range of achievements in line with the school’s stated vision.
Increased student attendance.
The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within four years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Director of Schools
10 October 2025
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 7 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).