St Paul's Collegiate (Hamilton)
Secondary (Year 9-15) · Private : Fully Registered
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 972
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Boys/Senior Co-Ed
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 77 Hukanui Road, Chartwell, Hamilton
- Territorial authority
- Hamilton City
- Phone
- 07-9578899
- h.bradford@stpauls.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Hamilton · schools in Waikato
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
All international students fall under the pastoral care of the school’s Director of International Students.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Rowing
Rowing Caps Awarded at the discretion of the Director of Rowing and Headmaster.
- First XI Cricket
First XI Cricket Caps
- First XI Football
First XI Football Caps
- First XV Rugby
First XV Rugby Caps
- First XI Hockey
First XI Hockey Caps
- First Team Basketball
First Team Basketball Caps
- First Team Lacrosse
First Team Lacrosse Caps
- Rowing
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 736
- Māori
- 124
- Pacific
- 15
- Asian
- 203
- MELAA
- 13
- Other
- 1
- International
- 39
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 18 | 0 | 17 | 2 | 0 | 98 | 2 | 136 |
| Year 10 | 8 | 0 | 20 | 0 | 4 | 114 | 4 | 146 |
| Year 11 | 24 | 2 | 30 | 2 | 8 | 150 | 12 | 213 |
| Year 12 | 27 | 4 | 38 | 3 | 2 | 159 | 7 | 224 |
| Year 13+ | 20 | 2 | 29 | 0 | 2 | 118 | 7 | 161 |
| Total | 97 | 8 | 134 | 7 | 16 | 639 | 32 | 880 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 13 | 15 | 0 | 15 | 1 | 0 | 78 | 0 | 108 |
| Age 14 | 11 | 0 | 19 | 1 | 2 | 113 | 5 | 147 |
| Age 15 | 23 | 2 | 30 | 2 | 8 | 133 | 7 | 193 |
| Age 16 | 24 | 3 | 32 | 2 | 3 | 174 | 8 | 229 |
| Age 17 | 21 | 2 | 37 | 1 | 3 | 118 | 7 | 173 |
| Age 18 | 3 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 22 | 5 | 29 |
| Total | 97 | 8 | 134 | 7 | 16 | 639 | 32 | 880 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
98.3%
| St Paul's Collegiate (Hamilton) | 98.3% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 84.2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 96.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 98.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 98.2% |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 97.9% |
| Total | 98.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
97.7%
| St Paul's Collegiate (Hamilton) | 97.7% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 75.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 95% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 97.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 98.2% |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 97.2% |
| Total | 97.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
85.3%
| St Paul's Collegiate (Hamilton) | 85.3% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 51.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 88.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 83.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 86.2% |
| Māori | 86.4% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 83% |
| Total | 85.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
11.9%
| St Paul's Collegiate (Hamilton) | 11.9% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 15.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 12.1% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 17.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 8.3% |
| Māori | 22.7% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 3.6% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 10.6% |
| Total | 11.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
96%
| St Paul's Collegiate (Hamilton) | 96% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 77.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 95% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 97.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 95.4% |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 95% |
| Total | 96% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Male | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- not applicable
- Boarding
- Yes
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 11 February 1959
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 3
- Last reviewed
- 14 November 2022
- Latest report
- Private School Review Report
- Report type
- Review report
- Board assurance
- not reported
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 14 November 2022 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- International students
- true
The school is a signatory provider to the Education (Pastoral Care of International Students) Code of Practice 2016
- true
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 972 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
March 2017
701
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 23 March 2017
March 2012
675
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 28 May 2012
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 14 November 2022 — “Private School Review Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Introduction
ERO reviews of private schools are significantly different in process and more limited in scope and reporting than those for state and state-integrated schools, focusing as they do on the Criteria for Registration set out in clauses 2 to 6, Schedule 7 of the Education and Training Act 2020.
Clause 9, Schedule 7 of the Education and Training Act requires the Education Review Office (ERO) to review private schools and to report to the Secretary for Education on whether each school meets the criteria for registration.
More information about ERO reviews of private schools can be found on ERO’s website. Private and independent schools | Education Review Office (ero.govt.nz)
The criteria for registration are that the school —
a) has premises that are suitable, as described in clause 3, Schedule 7; and b) usually provides tuition for 9 or more students who are of or over the age of 5 years but are under the age of 16 years [clause 2(b), Schedule 7); and c) has staffing that is suitable to the age range and level of its students, the curriculum taught at the school, and the size of the school (clause 2(c), Schedule 7; and d) has equipment that is suitable for the curriculum being delivered or to be delivered at the school (clause 2(d) Schedule 7); and e) has a curriculum for teaching, learning, and assessment and makes details of the curriculum and its programme for delivery available for parents; and f) has suitable tuition standards, as described in clauses 2(e),(f) and 5, Schedule 7; and g) has managers who are fit and proper persons (as described in clause 6, Schedule 7) to be managers of a private school; and h) is a physically and emotionally safe place for students (clause 2(h), Schedule 7).
When an ERO report identifies an area within the criteria for registration that is not meeting the criteria at the time of the ERO review, that will be reported, the Ministry will be informed and the Ministry will follow up the issue with the school.
a) The school has premises that are suitable as described in clause 3, Schedule 7
Meeting
b) The school usually provides tuition for 9 or more students who are of or over the age of 5 years but are under the age of 16 years
Meeting
c) The school has staffing that is suitable to the age range and level of its students, the curriculum taught at the school, and the size of the school
Refer to conclusion below
d) The school has equipment that is suitable for the curriculum being delivered or to be delivered at the school
Meeting
e) The school has a curriculum for teaching, learning, and assessment and makes details of the curriculum and its programme for delivery available for parents
Meeting
f) The school has suitable tuition standards as described in clauses 2(e), (f) and 5, Schedule 7
Meeting
g) The school has managers who are fit and proper persons (as described in clause 6, Schedule 7)
Meeting
h) The school is a physically and emotionally safe place for students
A safe place is one in which risks to student safety are regularly assessed and evaluated with a view to eliminating, or at least reducing, harm. A safe place is one where clear policies exist and are acted upon to eliminate or minimise harm.
ERO’s judgement is based on the quality, intent and regular review of the school’s policies and procedures. Please refer to conclusion below.
Conclusion
At the time of the on-site review, ERO identified the school was not meeting an aspect within two of the criteria for registration as private school.
The school had not obtained a police vet of every non-teaching employee who still works at the school on or about the third anniversary of their previous police vet (Section 104 and schedule 4 of the Education and Training Act 2020).
The school had not updated its recruitment and employment procedures to ensure that all non-teaching positions are vet checked every three years.
During and following the on-site review, the school addressed these aspects.
On the basis of the information obtained during the review, ERO considers that St Paul’s Collegiate meets the criteria for registration as a private school set out in clauses 2 to 6, Schedule 7 of the Education and Training Act 2020.
Provision for international students
The school is a signatory provider to the Education (Pastoral Care of International Students) Code of Practice 2016 established under section 534 of the Education and Training Act 2020. The school has attested that it complies with all aspects of the Code and has completed an annual self review of its implementation of the Code.
At the time of this review there were 16 international students attending the school.
The school has effective procedures for orientation and induction. International students enjoy being fully integrated into school life and value the broad range of experiences on offer. They have equitable access to the breadth of the curriculum and are well supported to succeed.
The school ensures that relationships and communication channels are established and maintained to support student wellbeing. International students, spoken to by ERO, feel well supported by other students and staff at the school.
Communication pathways between school and parents are well established and provide open avenues for ongoing, reciprocal information sharing. A range of systems and structures ensure that student and parent aspirations are identified and actively pursued.
Self-review, informed by a range of stakeholder voices, supports the school to identify and respond to areas for improvement. The school is focused on continually improving the quality of provision for international students.
Provision for students in the school hostel
The school hostel, St Paul’s Collegiate School Hostel, accommodates up to 343 students, 44% of the school roll. It is owned by The Waikato Anglican College Trust. The hostel owner has attested that all the requirements of the Hostel Regulations are met.
Boarders spoken to by ERO, report that they enjoy living and learning at St Paul’s Collegiate. They recognise and appreciate the care that they receive, the lifelong friendships that they make and the rich and varied opportunities that are offered through the boarding experience.
Young people are well supported in both their physical and emotional wellbeing. Boarders are accommodated in suitable rooms in four separate houses (three boys’ houses and one girls’ house). Each house has built its own culture but follows consistent operational processes. Systems and processes are responsive to individual need and are focused on supporting the physical and emotional safety of all boarders. Systems use appropriate technology to help with efficiency and communication.
Independence, responsibility, leadership, and privacy are increased as boarders proceed through to the senior school. There are multiple ways that young people can seek wellbeing support. Boarders are encouraged to offer regular feedback to inform the ongoing review and improvement of the boarding experience.
Boarders enjoy the extensive facilities at the school and are supported by staff who both teach and live onsite. Quality food is served throughout the day and is well received by students. Kitchenettes, communal spaces and improved outdoor areas provide boarders the opportunity for rest and recreation.
Clear and regular communication is welcomed by parents who appreciate the care and support that the school provides for their children.
Phil Cowie Director Review and Improvement Services (Central) Central Region - Te Tai Pūtahi Nui
14 November 2022
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 3 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).