St Paul's College (Ponsonby)
Secondary (Year 7-15) · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 395
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Boys School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 183 Richmond Road, Ponsonby, Auckland
- Territorial authority
- Waitematā Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-3761287
- stpauls@stpaulscollege.co.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- School day ends
- 15.20pm (end of the school day)
| 15.20pm | End of the School Day | End of the School Day |
- 15.20pm (end of the school day)
- Uniform
- Required
Every student is required to be correctly dressed in the uniform appropriate to his level.
- Required
- Where to buy the uniform
- https://prestidges.co.nz/account-request/
To place orders online, please register with PRESTIDGES by clicking [HERE](https://prestidges.co.nz/account-request/) and follow the steps below.
- https://prestidges.co.nz/account-request/
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- “The St Paul’s graduate will be qualified, inquisitive and innovative. He will have a strong Christian moral compass based on the College Catholic and Marist tradition.”
- Special character
- Catholic Marist culture and ethos are at the heart of all growth and development from which the school draws its life, vision and mission.
- Voluntary donation
- $2,256.00 per year (Years 7-8) or $1,676.00 per year (Years 9-13) in Financial Contributions
| Per Instalment | Years 7-8 | Years 9 - 13 | | Attendance Dues | $136.00 | $281.00 | | Catholic Character Contribution | $17.50 | $17.50 | | Financial Contribution – School Board | $371.50 | $226.50 | | Financial Contribution - Proprietor | $175.00 | $175.00 | | Total per Instalment | $700.00 | $700.00 | | Total for the year | $2,800.00 | $2,800.00 | | Annual Financial Contributions available for Tax Credit of which 1/3rd equates to | $2,256.00 $752.00 | $1,676.00 $558.67 |
- $2,256.00 per year (Years 7-8) or $1,676.00 per year (Years 9-13) in Financial Contributions
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Premier 1st XIII
Premier 1st XIII Champions! After a fairly dominant regular season, winning all of our games and not conceding more than 10 points in a game, the 1st XIII played the semi-final against Manurewa High School in front of a packed crowd at home on Wednesday 18 June. A tough game with both sides showing resilience and refusing to go down. It was a hard fought victory for our young men but they managed to win 20-16 and advance to the grand final against old foes, De La Salle College.
- badminton
Badminton Another enjoyable badminton session in the books for SPL
- Premier 1st XIII
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 97
- Māori
- 78
- Pacific
- 347
- Asian
- 18
- MELAA
- 12
- Other
- 1
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 07 | 3 | 23 | 2 | 3 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 28 |
| Year 08 | 10 | 33 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 14 | 0 | 38 |
| Year 09 | 12 | 57 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 16 | 0 | 65 |
| Year 10 | 15 | 65 | 5 | 3 | 0 | 22 | 0 | 71 |
| Year 11 | 16 | 51 | 1 | 3 | 0 | 18 | 0 | 64 |
| Year 12 | 13 | 69 | 5 | 2 | 0 | 19 | 0 | 75 |
| Year 13+ | 10 | 53 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 15 | 0 | 62 |
| Total | 79 | 351 | 24 | 11 | 1 | 112 | 0 | 403 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 11 | 3 | 17 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 22 |
| Age 12 | 7 | 31 | 3 | 1 | 1 | 12 | 0 | 36 |
| Age 13 | 13 | 55 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 17 | 0 | 63 |
| Age 14 | 14 | 63 | 5 | 3 | 0 | 21 | 0 | 69 |
| Age 15 | 14 | 56 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 18 | 0 | 64 |
| Age 16 | 15 | 67 | 4 | 3 | 0 | 21 | 0 | 77 |
| Age 17 | 10 | 51 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 60 |
| Age 18 | 3 | 11 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 12 |
| Total | 79 | 351 | 24 | 11 | 1 | 112 | 0 | 403 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
98.4%
| St Paul's College (Ponsonby) | 98.4% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 89.6% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 98.4% |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | 98.1% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 98.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
98.4%
| St Paul's College (Ponsonby) | 98.4% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.3% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 98.4% |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | 98.1% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 98.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
93.7%
| St Paul's College (Ponsonby) | 93.7% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 64.5% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 93.7% |
| Māori | 80% |
| Pacific | 92.6% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 86.7% |
| Total | 93.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
1.6%
| St Paul's College (Ponsonby) | 1.6% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 14.7% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 1.6% |
| Māori | 10% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 1.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
98.4%
| St Paul's College (Ponsonby) | 98.4% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.1% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 98.4% |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | 98.1% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 98.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
60.3%
| St Paul's College (Ponsonby) | 60.3% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 29.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 43.4% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 60.3% |
| Māori | 87.2% |
| Pacific | 65.6% |
| Asian | 61.7% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 27.5% |
| Total | 60.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
5.3%
| St Paul's College (Ponsonby) | 5.3% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 4.6% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 5.3% |
| Māori | 11.6% |
| Pacific | 6.1% |
| Asian | 26.5% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 5.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
4.8%
| St Paul's College (Ponsonby) | 4.8% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 1.4% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 2% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 4.8% |
| Māori | 7% |
| Pacific | 5.5% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 4.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 480
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 31 December 1954
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 3
- Last reviewed
- 18 October 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (18 October 2023)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 18 October 2023 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 395 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
September 2019
248
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 6 December 2018
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 18 October 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within three months of the Education Review Office and St Paul’s College (Ponsonby) working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
St Paul’s College (Ponsonby) is a Catholic Champagnat Marist school that provides education for students in Years 7 to 13 located in Ponsonby, central Auckland. Five new school leaders, including the headmaster, have been appointed to the senior leadership team since the last ERO review.
The College Motto is ‘ Confortare Esto Vir’, ‘Take Courage, Be a Man’ and i ts values are Faith, Commitment, Excellence, Courage and Brotherhood.
St Paul’s College’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are outlined in the school’s strategic plan and relate to:
special character
governance
leadership
learning and curriculum design
pastoral care
teachers and staff
co-curricular activities
finance and property
community.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on St Paul’s College (Ponsonby)’s website.
ERO and the College are working together to establish the impact of teaching practice on learner progress and achievement.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
to meet students’ and parents' aspirations for success
to respond effectively to the college’s increasing roll growth.
The College expects to see students’ increasing success in learning particularly in viable pathways, NCEA endorsements and University Entrance qualifications. It also expects to see students with strong values who are holistic and confident learners.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to establish the impact of teaching practice on learner progress and achievement:
Supportive, caring and honest learning relationships that promote students’ sense of belonging and tuakana/teina practices.
High expectations for the success of all students.
Teachers' commitment to professional learning and life-long learning.
Dedicated parent/ whānau / aiga support for students’ success.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
building the quality and depth of teaching and learning to enhance students’ opportunities for success
continuing to develop teachers’ use of effective teaching strategies in an increasingly meaningful and engaging curriculum.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
18 October 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 3 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).