St Patrick's College (Silverstream)
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 750
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Boys School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 207 Fergusson Drive, Upper Hutt
- Territorial authority
- Upper Hutt City
- Phone
- 04-9394224
- info@stream.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.stream.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Wellington Region
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
This school has an enrolment zone, but Ministry of Education has not published a mapped boundary we could load for it. Contact the school directly to check your address.
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
Not stated on the school’s website.
- Getting there
- NZ Coach Services daily school bus runs, Routes 971 & 973
From NZ Coach Services Review Daily School Bus Runs -Routes 971 & 973
- NZ Coach Services daily school bus runs, Routes 971 & 973
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Special character
- We believe in the person of Jesus Christ.
- We believe in his teachings, as found in the Gospels.
- We believe in the inherent dignity of each human person, and their limitless possibilities, further developed by Christ’s Grace and Mary’s Inspiration.
- We seek to live out the gospel daily in the way of Mary (the Marist Way).
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
We welcome international applicants to enter any year group, subject to availability.
- Accepted, as stated
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 526
- Māori
- 173
- Pacific
- 158
- Asian
- 105
- MELAA
- 17
- Other
- 13
- International
- 4
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 43 | 38 | 18 | 3 | 0 | 117 | 1 | 157 |
| Year 10 | 33 | 35 | 15 | 3 | 4 | 118 | 0 | 163 |
| Year 11 | 39 | 43 | 22 | 4 | 2 | 118 | 0 | 159 |
| Year 12 | 35 | 38 | 14 | 3 | 6 | 112 | 2 | 149 |
| Year 13+ | 26 | 27 | 15 | 1 | 2 | 69 | 0 | 113 |
| Total | 176 | 181 | 84 | 14 | 14 | 534 | 3 | 741 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 13 | 35 | 31 | 18 | 2 | 0 | 99 | 0 | 134 |
| Age 14 | 38 | 37 | 14 | 3 | 3 | 119 | 1 | 162 |
| Age 15 | 37 | 44 | 20 | 4 | 2 | 122 | 0 | 164 |
| Age 16 | 35 | 38 | 17 | 3 | 6 | 115 | 0 | 150 |
| Age 17 | 29 | 28 | 14 | 1 | 1 | 73 | 2 | 118 |
| Age 18 | 2 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 6 | 0 | 12 |
| Total | 176 | 181 | 84 | 14 | 14 | 534 | 3 | 741 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
94.7%
| St Patrick's College (Silverstream) | 94.7% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 90.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 94.7% |
| Māori | 96.4% |
| Pacific | 88.2% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 95.3% |
| Total | 94.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
91%
| St Patrick's College (Silverstream) | 91% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 91% |
| Māori | 96.4% |
| Pacific | 79.4% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 91.9% |
| Total | 91% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
55.6%
| St Patrick's College (Silverstream) | 55.6% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 68.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 55.6% |
| Māori | 50% |
| Pacific | 41.2% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 53.5% |
| Total | 55.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
5.3%
| St Patrick's College (Silverstream) | 5.3% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 12.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 5.3% |
| Māori | 10.7% |
| Pacific | 8.8% |
| Asian | 0% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 4.7% |
| Total | 5.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
93.2%
| St Patrick's College (Silverstream) | 93.2% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 88.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 93.2% |
| Māori | 96.4% |
| Pacific | 88.2% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 91.9% |
| Total | 93.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
26.5%
| St Patrick's College (Silverstream) | 26.5% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 24.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 26.5% |
| Māori | 41.7% |
| Pacific | 41.2% |
| Asian | 15.8% |
| Other | 20.8% |
| European/Pākehā | 24.5% |
| Total | 26.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
2.8%
| St Patrick's College (Silverstream) | 2.8% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 2.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 2.8% |
| Māori | 3.1% |
| Pacific | 5.6% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 1% |
| Total | 2.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| St Patrick's College (Silverstream) | 0% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 0.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 433
- Boarding
- Yes
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 14 March 1931
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 5
- Last reviewed
- 25 October 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (25 October 2023)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 25 October 2023 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 25 October 2023 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- Also provides
- Boarding hostel located on school grounds
This school has a boarding hostel which is located on school grounds
- Boarding hostel located on school grounds
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 750 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
November 2018
709
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 24 December 2018
March 2015
740
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 20 May 2015
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 25 October 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 14 months of the Education Review Office and St Patrick’s College (Silverstream) working in Te Ara Huarau, an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
St Patrick’s College (Silverstream) is a state-integrated school located in the Hutt Valley that provides education for boys from year 9 to 13. St Patrick’s College (Silverstream) was founded on Catholic and Marist values and traditions aiming for young men to develop knowledge, skills, attitudes, and values which enable them to become compassionate, just, and successful citizens. The rector (principal) joined the school in May 2022.
St Patrick’s College (Silverstream)’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are that:
high-impact teaching and learning programmes occur
the junior curriculum is reviewed and localised to incorporate: “our people, our faith, our environment”.
A copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan is available on request from St Patrick’s College (Silverstream).
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate the impact on student engagement and achievement outcomes of their reviewed year 9 and 10 curriculum.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is to:
more directly link curriculum learning with the school’s values and special character
increase learner-centred practices to better meet the needs of year 9 and 10 students, including those identified as needing acceleration
improve the learning culture, engagement, and academic focus of the junior school.
The school expects to see:
shared understandings and expectations about quality teaching knowledge, practices, and processes through a common framework for planning across learning areas
clarity of valued academic, leadership, spiritual, and wellbeing outcomes for each student
increased student achievement and engagement.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to evaluate the impact on engagement and achievement outcomes of their reviewed year 9 and 10 curriculum:
the graduate profile focuses on holistic education and Catholic character and provides an aspirational end-point which informs planning and determines outcomes at each year level
student engagement and achievement data are routinely gathered and shared with teachers and coaches so that individual student’s progress can be monitored, and interventions planned where needed
regular gathering of student voice from a range of groups informs decision making and identification of priorities.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
professional learning focused on learner-centred practices and learning design
regular consultation of the college community and staff for feedback to inform review and decision-making
continuing to strategically gather and analyse data to measure the impact of initiatives on student achievement, attendance, and engagement.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
25 October 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
This school has a boarding hostel which is located on school grounds.
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 5 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).