KuraHub

← Back to search

St Michael's Church School

Full Primary · Private : Fully Registered

Year levels
1–8
Total roll
126
Enrolment zone
No
Gender
Co-Educational
Every one of the 293 schools in Canterbury Region with a published location. St Michael's Church School is the marked one. Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0

Where is it, and how do I get in touch?

Address
249 Durham Street, Christchurch Central, Christchurch
Territorial authority
Christchurch City
Phone
03-3799790
Email
principal@saintmichaels.co.nz
Website
http://www.saintmichaels.school.nz
Directions
Get directions

Other schools nearby: schools in Christchurch · schools in Canterbury

What would the day look like?

The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.

What does the school say about itself?

Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.

Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.

In their words
  • St Michael’s is a Christian community providing quality education and empowering learners to be compassionate, responsible, resourceful citizens.

Check it on the school’s own website →

What is on offer beyond the classroom?

The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.

Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.

On offer
  • swimmingThe school has championships in swimming, cross-country and athletics
  • cross-countryThe school has championships in swimming, cross-country and athletics
  • athleticsThe school has championships in swimming, cross-country and athletics
  • gymnastics eventsPupils also compete in the winter tournament and gymnastics events.
  • Beach EdStudents participate in Beach Ed, Surf Safe, First Aid, Orienteering and Sailing.
  • Surf SafeStudents participate in Beach Ed, Surf Safe, First Aid, Orienteering and Sailing.
  • OrienteeringStudents participate in Beach Ed, Surf Safe, First Aid, Orienteering and Sailing.
  • SailingStudents participate in Beach Ed, Surf Safe, First Aid, Orienteering and Sailing.
  • Tough Kids' ChallengeThey enter the Tough Kids' Challenge, participate in climbing, biking as well as High and Low Ropes at Orton Bradley Park.
  • climbingThey enter the Tough Kids' Challenge, participate in climbing, biking as well as High and Low Ropes at Orton Bradley Park.
  • bikingThey enter the Tough Kids' Challenge, participate in climbing, biking as well as High and Low Ropes at Orton Bradley Park.
  • High and Low RopesThey enter the Tough Kids' Challenge, participate in climbing, biking as well as High and Low Ropes at Orton Bradley Park.
  • Independent Schools' Ski RacingEach year, St Michael's team enter the Independent Schools' Ski Racing, a slalom event at Porters Heights.

Check it on the school’s own website →

Who goes here?

Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.

European
83
Māori
8
Pacific
0
Asian
55
MELAA
4
Other
0
International
0

Roll by year level and age

Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.

By year level
MāoriPacificAsianMELAAOtherEuropean/ PākehāInternational studentsTotal
Year 010011008016
Year 020092012019
Year 0310100015019
Year 043010107016
Year 051090010018
Year 061090117024
Year 07207009016
Year 081070012019
Total907231900147
By age
MāoriPacificAsianMELAAOtherEuropean/ PākehāInternational studentsTotal
Age 05008005011
Age 0600112013022
Age 0710110015019
Age 082010108017
Age 09208009016
Age 1010100019026
Age 11207019017
Age 12104009013
Age 1300300306
Total907231900147

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0

About the school

Equity Index (EQI)
not applicable
Boarding
No
Language of instruction
All students taught in English/other setting
Urban / rural
Major urban area
Date opened
16 November 1858

The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works

What did ERO find?

The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools

Reports ERO holds
2
Last reviewed
29 July 2024
Latest report
St Michael’s Church School July 2024
Report type
not reported
Board assurance
not reported

The roll ERO recorded, and when

ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 126 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.

  1. May 2019

    85

    Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 18 June 2019

This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.

Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →

All 2 reports ERO holds for this school

ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.

Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.

Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).