KuraHub

← Back to search

St Margaret's College

Composite · Private : Fully Registered

Year levels
not reported
Total roll
867
Enrolment zone
No
Gender
Girls School
Every one of the 293 schools in Canterbury Region with a published location. St Margaret's College is the marked one. Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0

Where is it, and how do I get in touch?

Address
12 Winchester Street, Merivale, Christchurch
Territorial authority
Christchurch City
Phone
03-3792000
Email
admin@stmargarets.school.nz
Website
http://www.stmargarets.school.nz/
Directions
Get directions

Other schools nearby: schools in Christchurch · schools in Canterbury

What would the day look like?

The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.

Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.

Uniform

Not stated on the school’s website.

How to enrol

Check it on the school’s own website →

What does the school say about itself?

Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.

Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.

In their words
  • To create empathetic, confident and connected global citizens, who value personal excellence and strive to make a positive difference.
International students
  • Accepted, as statedOur international students develop confidence, leadership, and resilience as part of their everyday learning.

Check it on the school’s own website →

What is on offer beyond the classroom?

The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.

Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.

On offer
  • Athlete Development ProgrammeOur Athlete Development Programme aims to better educate our young athletes in all areas of sport
  • Archery
  • Athletics
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Canoe Polo
  • Climbing
  • Cricket
  • Cross Country
  • Cycling
  • Equestrian
  • Fencing
  • Football (Soccer)
  • Football – Indoor
  • Golf
  • Hockey
  • Korfball
  • Lifesaving
  • Multi-Sport
  • Netball
  • Netball – Indoor
  • Rowing
  • Rugby
  • Rugby Sevens
  • Skiing/Snowboarding
  • Summer Hockey
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Touch
  • Tramping/Walking
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball
  • Water Polo

Check it on the school’s own website →

Who goes here?

Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.

European
688
Māori
62
Pacific
3
Asian
158
MELAA
7
Other
34
International
19

Roll by year level and age

Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.

By year level
MāoriPacificAsianMELAAOtherEuropean/ PākehāInternational studentsTotal
Year 01006004010
Year 02019055016
Year 03108017013
Year 043160012119
Year 051070013021
Year 061090015023
Year 076080543057
Year 088071641156
Year 099016116954128
Year 1012018010996133
Year 11719101183127
Year 129114311044123
Year 13+2113101075121
Total59513074466324847
By age
MāoriPacificAsianMELAAOtherEuropean/ PākehāInternational studentsTotal
Age 05007004011
Age 06018055015
Age 07108017013
Age 083160012119
Age 091070013021
Age 101090015023
Age 116080331043
Age 125051744158
Age 1310016114832112
Age 14120180111026137
Age 157010221162128
Age 168114111005120
Age 174212101095122
Age 181021022225
Total59513074466324847

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0

Academic results

Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025

97.5%

St Margaret's College97.5%
Canterbury Region87.1%
Composite (Year 1-15)91.4%
Private: Fully Reg.96.8%
New Zealand85.2%
Trend and demographic breakdown
Female97.5%
MaleNot applicable
MāoriToo few to report
PacificToo few to report
Asian100%
MELAANot applicable
OtherNot applicable
European/Pākehā97.3%
Total97.5%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)

Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025

96.7%

St Margaret's College96.7%
Canterbury Region79.6%
Composite (Year 1-15)86%
Private: Fully Reg.95%
New Zealand77.8%
Trend and demographic breakdown
Female96.7%
MaleNot applicable
MāoriToo few to report
PacificToo few to report
Asian100%
MELAANot applicable
OtherNot applicable
European/Pākehā96.4%
Total96.7%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)

Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025

90%

St Margaret's College90%
Canterbury Region59%
Composite (Year 1-15)71.7%
Private: Fully Reg.88.7%
New Zealand59%
Trend and demographic breakdown
Female90%
MaleNot applicable
MāoriToo few to report
PacificToo few to report
Asian84.6%
MELAANot applicable
OtherNot applicable
European/Pākehā91.1%
Total90%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)

Percentage with VP Award — 2025

8.3%

St Margaret's College8.3%
Canterbury Region13.7%
Composite (Year 1-15)16%
Private: Fully Reg.12.1%
New Zealand14.1%
Trend and demographic breakdown
Female8.3%
MaleNot applicable
MāoriToo few to report
PacificToo few to report
Asian7.7%
MELAANot applicable
OtherNot applicable
European/Pākehā8.9%
Total8.3%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)

Retention

Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025

96.7%

St Margaret's College96.7%
Canterbury Region83.6%
Composite (Year 1-15)86.6%
Private: Fully Reg.95%
New Zealand83%
Trend and demographic breakdown
Female96.7%
MaleNot applicable
MāoriToo few to report
PacificToo few to report
Asian92.3%
MELAANot applicable
OtherNot applicable
European/Pākehā97.3%
Total96.7%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)

About the school

Equity Index (EQI)
not applicable
Boarding
Yes
Language of instruction
All students taught in English/other setting
Urban / rural
Major urban area
Date opened
25 January 1910

The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works

What did ERO find?

The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools

Reports ERO holds
2
Last reviewed
8 May 2024
Latest report
St Margaret's College May 2024
Report type
not reported
Board assurance
not reported

What this report states about the school

As stated in ERO’s report of 8 May 2024 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.

International students
  • trueThe school is a signatory provider to the Education (Pastoral Care of Tertiary and International Learners) Code of Practice 2021

Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →

The roll ERO recorded, and when

ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 867 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.

  1. September 2018

    807

    Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 24 October 2018

This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.

Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →

All 2 reports ERO holds for this school

ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.

Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.

Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).