St Kevins College (Oamaru)
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 483
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 44A Taward Street, Oamaru
- Territorial authority
- Waitaki District
- Phone
- 03-4371665
- college@stkevins.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Otago
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Girls’ Uniform Years 9, 10, 11 • Blue and red tartan kilt • Tailored white open-necked blouse short sleeve (summer) • White socks – ankle length (summer) • Black lace-up flat heeled shoes
- Required
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- Our Core Values
- The St Kevin’s community has identified four key values that specifically mark it as a Catholic community in the South Island of New Zealand. The four key values are: FamilyIntegrityRespectExcellence
- Special character
- As Fire people, the members of the St Kevin’s community strive to live the ideals set before us by the Gospels and the example of the lives of Dominic and Edmund.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
The annual tuition fee for international students at St Kevin’s College in 2026 is $18,500
- Accepted, as stated
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 331
- Māori
- 51
- Pacific
- 40
- Asian
- 93
- MELAA
- 11
- Other
- 8
- International
- 14
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 12 | 8 | 13 | 3 | 1 | 64 | 0 | 89 |
| Year 10 | 14 | 7 | 18 | 2 | 1 | 73 | 0 | 95 |
| Year 11 | 12 | 5 | 19 | 4 | 1 | 79 | 2 | 107 |
| Year 12 | 8 | 4 | 24 | 1 | 3 | 77 | 4 | 112 |
| Year 13+ | 7 | 6 | 20 | 1 | 1 | 45 | 0 | 73 |
| Total | 53 | 30 | 94 | 11 | 7 | 338 | 6 | 476 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 13 | 7 | 7 | 10 | 1 | 0 | 49 | 0 | 67 |
| Age 14 | 14 | 7 | 20 | 3 | 2 | 74 | 0 | 100 |
| Age 15 | 13 | 5 | 10 | 4 | 1 | 81 | 1 | 98 |
| Age 16 | 12 | 4 | 26 | 2 | 3 | 75 | 3 | 114 |
| Age 17 | 7 | 5 | 19 | 0 | 0 | 56 | 2 | 81 |
| Age 18 | 0 | 2 | 9 | 1 | 1 | 3 | 0 | 16 |
| Total | 53 | 30 | 94 | 11 | 7 | 338 | 6 | 476 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
89.9%
| St Kevins College (Oamaru) | 89.9% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 90.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 94.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 86.3% |
| Māori | 73.3% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 89.5% |
| Total | 89.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
79.8%
| St Kevins College (Oamaru) | 79.8% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 84.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 84.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 76.5% |
| Māori | 53.3% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 90.5% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 78.9% |
| Total | 79.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
58.4%
| St Kevins College (Oamaru) | 58.4% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 65.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 68.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 51% |
| Māori | 33.3% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 81% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 54.4% |
| Total | 58.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
5.6%
| St Kevins College (Oamaru) | 5.6% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 20.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 5.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 5.9% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 0% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 8.8% |
| Total | 5.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
83.1%
| St Kevins College (Oamaru) | 83.1% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 84.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 82.4% |
| Māori | 53.3% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 78.9% |
| Total | 83.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| St Kevins College (Oamaru) | 0% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 36.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| St Kevins College (Oamaru) | 0% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 4.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| St Kevins College (Oamaru) | 0% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 447
- Boarding
- Yes
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Medium urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1927
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 8
- Last reviewed
- 23 March 2026
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (23 March 2026)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 23 March 2026 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO and the board have identified the need to ensure cyclical review of policies, according to changing regulatory and legislative requirements, to ensure a safe physical and emotional environment is maintained [Section 127 Education and Training Act 2020].
The board has since taken steps to address this area of non-compliance.
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 23 March 2026 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- Year levels
- Years 9 to 13
a co-educational state integrated Catholic school for students in Years 9 to 13
- Years 9 to 13
- Also provides
- Co-educational on-site hostel
A co-educational on-site hostel is operated by St Kevin’s College Hostel Trust Board
- Alternative education programme
operates an alternative education programme for students needing an individualised programme to support engagement in education
- Co-educational on-site hostel
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 23 March 2026 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Every New Zealand state and state integrated school has an ERO review at least once every four years to evaluate what is working well for learners and what needs to be improved.
About the school
St Kevins College ( Oamaru ) is a co-educational state integrated Catholic school for students in Years 9 to 13. It is located in the North Otago town of Oamaru . The school has a roll of 484 students, 72% of whom identify as Pakeha |New Zealand European, 18% as Asian, 11% as Māori and 5% as Pacific heritage.
The college’s vision is to provide education focused on excellence, values and diversity and which supports challenge and engenders Christian citizenship.
A co-educational on-site hostel is operated by St Kevin’s College Hostel Trust Board. The St Kevin’s College Board operates an alternative education programme for students needing an individualised programme to support engagement in education and an equine studies programme in partnership with the Primary Industry Trades Organisation.
St Joseph’s School, the local Catholic special character primary school is being rebuilt on site and is due to open in 2027.
Education Counts provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement, school enrolments and school zones. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
An explanation of the terms and judgements used in this report can be found here: Reporting | Education Review Office
Improvement and progress
This section is about the progress the school has made since the June 2022 ERO report. It includes an explanation of the expected improvements and findings.
Expected improvements
The school focused on improving levels of literacy achievement for learners in Years 9 and 10 through a focus on equitable access to high quality teaching and learning opportunities.
Findings
The school introduced a new international curriculum and qualifications (Cambridge International Curriculum) with the aim of raising student engagement and motivation and providing a sound foundation in core secondary subjects. Teachers participated in professional learning and development with a focus on supporting diverse learners to access the curriculum. Leaders and teachers promote consistent writing processes across learning areas. School information shows a raised number of learners achieving literacy and numeracy requirements for national qualifications, particularly in writing.
What we know about learner success
This section provides a summary of learner success, wellbeing and foundation school conditions, including any education in Rumaki/Reo Rua settings. The judgments are based on the ERO School Improvement Framework and evidence provided to ERO during the evaluation.
Less than a third Less than half Small majority Large majority Most Almost all
0 to 33% 34 to 49% 50 to 64% 65 to 79% 80 to 90% Over 90%
Learner success and wellbeing
This section provides a summary of learner success and wellbeing.
A large majority of students are engaged in learning and achieve well.
A large majority of Yr 10 students achieve the reading and writing requirements for National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA), a small majority achieve the numeracy requirement; nearly all achieve NCEA literacy and numeracy requirements by the end of Year 12.
A large majority of students achieve NCEA Levels 2 and 3 and less than half achieve University Entrance (UE). There is disparity for some groups of learners.
An increasing number of students are sitting Cambridge International examinations. The school is yet to build a picture of achievement over time in these qualifications.
A small majority of learners attend school regularly. The number of students attending school regularly is improving. The school has appropriate processes for promoting regular attendance.
Conditions to support learner success
This section provides a summary of leadership, teaching, curriculum and foundation school conditions for improvement.
Leadership fosters a positive, inclusive learning culture focused on relevant school improvement goals
Leadership fosters relational trust and effective collaboration across the school community to achieve the strategic vision and improvement goals.
Leaders, together with teachers, recognise, affirm and value the diverse identities, languages, cultures and abilities of students and actively support access to learning for all.
Leaders work collaboratively to build and sustain orderly school conditions that support effective delivery of curriculum, teaching and learning and pastoral care for students.
Learning programmes and teaching practices are increasingly responsive to student needs.
The school delivers a wide range of vocational and academic learning programmes that respond well to students’ abilities, interests and aspirations.
Senior students participating in vocational programmes are well-supported to make successful transitions to work and further training throughout the year.
Teachers know students well as learners and individuals and adapt their teaching to address barriers to learning and support student success in learning.
Teachers increasingly provide explicit instruction and use learning strategies that support students to develop confidence and independence in their learning.
The school engages effectively with its community to improve learning, student wellbeing and transition outcomes.
Students report that the school’s values of family, integrity, respect and excellence are actively promoted and contribute to a strong sense of belonging, inclusion and connection.
Students have meaningful opportunities to learn about and enact the school’s special character Catholic values through participation and service in the wider community.
Leadership is working constructively to engage with and involve members of the school’s diverse community, including Māori , Pacific and Filipino communities, to contribute to decision-making and support the learning of their students.
The school has well established partnerships with local industries, employers and training providers to support positive transitions to work and further learning.
Next steps for improvement
This section provides more detail for the school to include in its strategic and annual planning for ongoing improvement across the school. It identifies key priorities and actions for improvement.
Key priorities
Effectively implement and evaluate the school’s new international curriculum and assessment pathways.
Further develop strategic and annual goals to clearly identify intended outcomes for learners to more effectively support evaluation of school improvement goals.
Extend analysis of progress and achievement information to know about equity for all groups of learners.
Establish a regular cycle of policy review and assurance reporting to be better assured the St Kevins College Board is meeting legal and regulatory requirements.
Further improve regular attendance.
Actions to bring about improvement
Within three months:
the school Board and leadership identify and develop success indicators connected with annual goals and appropriate reporting requirements
the Board establish a regular policy review cycle
Every six months:
the Board and leaders use the success indicators tied to annual goals to evaluate progress toward those goals and adapt planning to improve outcomes for students
leaders report to the Board about the engagement, progress and achievement for all groups of students to better support scrutiny of equity and inform strategic decision-making
leaders and teachers monitor the effective implementation of the college’s international curriculum drawing on student, teacher and parent feedback and progress and achievement information
leaders and Board review attendance data to know about the effectiveness of strategies to promote regular attendance and to inform future planning
Annually:
leaders and Board use reporting against these priorities to inform strategic and annual planning.
Expected outcomes
Equitable engagement, progress and achievement outcomes for all groups of students.
An increasing proportion of students have success in the college’s international qualifications.
Teachers, parents and students have clear, shared understandings of and confidence in the college’s learning programmes and qualifications and know how to navigate these to achieve their aspirations.
Evaluation of progress toward the school’s improvement goals is strengthened and contributes to strategic decision-making.
More students attend school regularly, maximising their opportunity to learn and succeed.
The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Report and is due within four years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Director of Schools
23 March 2026
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 8 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).