St John's College (Hillcrest)
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 956
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Boys School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 85 Hillcrest Road, Hillcrest, Hamilton
- Territorial authority
- Hamilton City
- Phone
- 07-8567091
- secretary@stjohns-hamilton.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Hamilton · schools in Waikato
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- School day starts
- 8:45am
Students start at 8:45am each day, and finish at 3:10pm.
- 8:45am
- School day ends
- 3:10pm
Students start at 8:45am each day, and finish at 3:10pm.
- 3:10pm
- Uniform
- Required
The only hat permitted is the St John’s College cap or bucket hat. The College jacket may be worn during school hours and is the only jacket to be worn with the College uniform.
- Required
- Where to buy the uniform
- https://stjohns.nzuniforms.com/catalog/school-uniform-127074.htmx
The daily uniform is supplied exclusively by [NZ Uniforms](https://stjohns.nzuniforms.com/catalog/school-uniform-127074.htmx), corner Tristram Street & Rostrevor St or you can purchase online.
- https://stjohns.nzuniforms.com/catalog/school-uniform-127074.htmx
- Getting there
- The uniform is the student's ticket to ride on the St John's College rural bus services.
- How to enrol
- https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Qo1iSXeB4eNI13rwv1ScayaMGKZduJqo&usp=drive_fs
Please download and complete this [application form](https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Qo1iSXeB4eNI13rwv1ScayaMGKZduJqo&usp=drive_fs)
- https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Qo1iSXeB4eNI13rwv1ScayaMGKZduJqo&usp=drive_fs
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
International students follow a separate enrolment process
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Athletics
- Cross Country
- Cycling (Road/Track)
- Futsal
- Golf
- Hockey
- Motocross
- Mountain Biking
- Rugby Sevens
- Skiing
- Snowboarding
- Squash
- Swimming
- Touch Rugby
- Volleyball
- Water Polo
- rowing
The school has offered rowing as a sport for over 18 years.
- Learn to Row program in Term 3
We welcome all young men from year 9 to year 12 to participate in our Learn to Row program in Term 3.
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 697
- Māori
- 179
- Pacific
- 80
- Asian
- 186
- MELAA
- 23
- Other
- 17
- International
- 15
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 38 | 19 | 43 | 8 | 4 | 154 | 1 | 208 |
| Year 10 | 51 | 21 | 29 | 4 | 2 | 179 | 2 | 218 |
| Year 11 | 32 | 15 | 34 | 5 | 4 | 147 | 4 | 203 |
| Year 12 | 37 | 22 | 31 | 2 | 3 | 149 | 2 | 198 |
| Year 13+ | 25 | 15 | 19 | 2 | 2 | 101 | 4 | 137 |
| Total | 183 | 92 | 156 | 21 | 15 | 730 | 13 | 964 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 13 | 28 | 15 | 31 | 6 | 3 | 123 | 0 | 160 |
| Age 14 | 48 | 18 | 36 | 6 | 2 | 165 | 1 | 213 |
| Age 15 | 44 | 19 | 31 | 4 | 5 | 169 | 3 | 218 |
| Age 16 | 34 | 22 | 32 | 2 | 3 | 151 | 4 | 204 |
| Age 17 | 24 | 15 | 22 | 3 | 1 | 104 | 2 | 142 |
| Age 18 | 5 | 3 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 18 | 3 | 26 |
| Total | 183 | 92 | 156 | 21 | 15 | 730 | 13 | 964 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
97.2%
| St John's College (Hillcrest) | 97.2% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 84.2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 97.2% |
| Māori | 94.4% |
| Pacific | 100% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 96.5% |
| Total | 97.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
93.9%
| St John's College (Hillcrest) | 93.9% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 75.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 93.9% |
| Māori | 86.1% |
| Pacific | 100% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 92.4% |
| Total | 93.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
68.7%
| St John's College (Hillcrest) | 68.7% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 51.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 68.7% |
| Māori | 61.1% |
| Pacific | 70.6% |
| Asian | 94.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 64.6% |
| Total | 68.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
19.6%
| St John's College (Hillcrest) | 19.6% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 15.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 19.6% |
| Māori | 36.1% |
| Pacific | 35.3% |
| Asian | 5.3% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 18.1% |
| Total | 19.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
84.9%
| St John's College (Hillcrest) | 84.9% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 77.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 84.9% |
| Māori | 83.3% |
| Pacific | 94.1% |
| Asian | 94.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 83.3% |
| Total | 84.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
20.7%
| St John's College (Hillcrest) | 20.7% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 53.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 20.7% |
| Māori | 38.2% |
| Pacific | 46.8% |
| Asian | 13.4% |
| Other | 18.5% |
| European/Pākehā | 18.3% |
| Total | 20.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
1.6%
| St John's College (Hillcrest) | 1.6% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 6.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 1.6% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 10.9% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0.7% |
| Total | 1.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0.6%
| St John's College (Hillcrest) | 0.6% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 2.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 0.6% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 7.1% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 428
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1960
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 5
- Last reviewed
- 27 July 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (27 July 2023)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 27 July 2023 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 956 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
August 2016
780
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 28 October 2016
September 2013
760
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 18 November 2013
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 27 July 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
Background
This Profile Report was written within 18 months of the Education Review Office and St John’s College (Hillcrest) working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
St John’s College (Hillcrest) is a state integrated Year 9 to 13 secondary school for boys, located in Hamilton. The school’s Catholic character, based on the Marist charism, is integrated through all aspects of the life of the college.
St John’s College (Hillcrest) strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
to maintain and enhance the Catholic character of the College
to ensure a system of self-review and teaching development is implemented to raise student achievement across all areas of the curriculum
to provide school leadership and effective governance for priority groups: Māori, Pacific, and students with additional education needs.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on St John’s College (Hillcrest)’s website.
Each learning area has a raising attainment plan (RAP) that prioritise excellence and improved equity for all learners. ERO and the school are working together to evaluate the effectiveness of the implementation of these plans and the impact on learner outcomes.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
the raising attainment plans are a new strategic initiative. It is important to evaluate the usefulness and effectiveness of these learning area plans, as integral to a model for continuous improvement that focuses on student outcomes
there is clear alignment between the evaluation and the school’s strategic plan
enhancing leadership across all aspects of the school to develop specific learning area-based priorities for improved, equitable student outcomes.
The school expects to see:
increased achievement for all students
improved levels of literacy
enhanced digital learning capabilities
improved outcomes for groups of students to improve parity in achievement
a more responsive and enhanced junior curriculum.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to evaluate the effectiveness of the raising attainment plans:
a clear annual plan that focuses on a range of student outcomes
a positive inclusive school culture focused on ongoing improvement for all learners
consistently high levels of achievement in NCEA over time
strategic approach to building internal evaluation capability throughout the school
senior leaders who know and understand student achievement data well and prioritise targeted support for groups of students.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
embedding mātauranga Māori to support students’ language, culture, and identity so their full potential is realised, and academic outcomes further improved
further strengthen digital fluency to improve equity of outcomes for all learners with a specific focus on supporting outcomes for diverse learners
reviewing access to STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) pathways for all students and specifically for Pacific and Māori students.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
27 July 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 5 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).