St John's College (Hastings)
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 406
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Boys School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 410 Jervois Street, Hastings
- Territorial authority
- Hastings District
- Phone
- 06-8786853
- admin@stjohns.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Hastings · schools in Hawke’s Bay
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- SJC VISION
- To create a caring, inclusive and sustainable environment to ensure we nurture the best possible version of ourselves
- Special character
- Whakapono (faith) provides the foundation for which we exist as a school, so it is at the foot of the St John’s eagle. The major expression of our faith is made through Aroha (love) because we are called by Christ to love our neighbour as ourselves.
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Instrumental Lessons
Instrumental Lessons Tuition by our specialist instrumental teachers is available for a wide range of instruments.
- JRP Band
JRP Band The Jazz-Rock-Pop Band is a great introduction to Jazz, Swing and Funk styles
- Junior Band
The Junior Band is the perfect place for beginner and intermediate players
- ‘Vox Box’ (Vocal Group)
- Combined St John’s and Sacred Heart Concert Band
- Assembly/Church Band
Assembly/Church Band This important group supports whole-school singing in Assembly and Mass at Sacred Heart Church.
- School Production
School Production Every second year, we have our collaboration with Sacred Heart College to produce our joint-school production.
- HB Festival of Bands
HB Festival of Bands About eighteen community and school bands from HB and across the country come to perform
- HB Schools’ Jazz Night
HB Schools’ Jazz Night HB High Schools’ rock-pop-jazz groups collegially perform to each other at the Napier Sailing Club in August.
- Junior School Gig
Junior School Gig This is a great opportunity for our burgeoning Year 9 and 10 musos to perform
- Senior Performance Evening
Senior Performance Evening Senior music students perform pieces from their solo and group repertoires at these two annual evenings.
- Smokefree Rockquest
Smokefree Rockquest and Pacifica Beats St John’s enters Rock and Reggae bands for these competitions.
- Pacifica Beats
Smokefree Rockquest and Pacifica Beats St John’s enters Rock and Reggae bands for these competitions.
- SJC Senior Vocal Choir
The SJC Senior Vocal Choir sings their heart and soul out at this national competition.
- Chamber Music ensemble
We have boys participating in the Chamber Music ensemble competitions each year.
- Sports Institute programmes which run in Year 9 and 10
Our Sports Institute programmes which run in Year 9 and 10 are directed by highly qualified and skilled coaches
- U15 and 1st XV Rugby
Hato Pāora - Away - Tuesday 24 March - U15 and 1st XV Rugby
- Pasifika groups
Our Pasifika groups perform for parents and the wider community.
- Fiafia night
Once a year we host a combined Fiafia night with Sacred Heart College.
- Instrumental Lessons
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 266
- Māori
- 90
- Pacific
- 27
- Asian
- 69
- MELAA
- 11
- Other
- 4
- International
- 2
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 25 | 7 | 15 | 0 | 3 | 52 | 1 | 90 |
| Year 10 | 24 | 9 | 6 | 2 | 2 | 65 | 0 | 91 |
| Year 11 | 21 | 7 | 14 | 1 | 0 | 67 | 0 | 95 |
| Year 12 | 15 | 4 | 12 | 2 | 0 | 51 | 1 | 74 |
| Year 13+ | 20 | 5 | 13 | 2 | 0 | 46 | 1 | 69 |
| Total | 105 | 32 | 60 | 7 | 5 | 281 | 3 | 419 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 13 | 21 | 5 | 11 | 0 | 2 | 36 | 1 | 65 |
| Age 14 | 22 | 9 | 7 | 1 | 2 | 60 | 0 | 88 |
| Age 15 | 23 | 6 | 13 | 2 | 1 | 70 | 0 | 99 |
| Age 16 | 16 | 5 | 11 | 2 | 0 | 58 | 1 | 80 |
| Age 17 | 20 | 5 | 16 | 2 | 0 | 48 | 1 | 74 |
| Age 18 | 3 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 13 |
| Total | 105 | 32 | 60 | 7 | 5 | 281 | 3 | 419 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
94.2%
| St John's College (Hastings) | 94.2% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 86% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 94.2% |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 96.7% |
| Total | 94.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
84.9%
| St John's College (Hastings) | 84.9% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 77.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 84.9% |
| Māori | 87.5% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 85.2% |
| Total | 84.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
67.4%
| St John's College (Hastings) | 67.4% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 57.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 67.4% |
| Māori | 62.5% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 84.6% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 67.2% |
| Total | 67.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
3.5%
| St John's College (Hastings) | 3.5% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 16.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 3.5% |
| Māori | 4.2% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 0% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 3.3% |
| Total | 3.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
88.4%
| St John's College (Hastings) | 88.4% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 78.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 88.4% |
| Māori | 91.7% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 86.9% |
| Total | 88.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
41.8%
| St John's College (Hastings) | 41.8% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 33.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 41.8% |
| Māori | 47.2% |
| Pacific | 169% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 36.5% |
| Total | 41.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
9.7%
| St John's College (Hastings) | 9.7% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 6.2% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 9.7% |
| Māori | 14.4% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 10.5% |
| Total | 9.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
3%
| St John's College (Hastings) | 3% |
|---|---|
| Hawke's Bay Region | 3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 3% |
| Māori | 6% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 2.1% |
| Total | 3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 456
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 25 January 1941
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 5
- Last reviewed
- 7 February 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (7 February 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 7 February 2024 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 406 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
August 2018
370
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 12 November 2018
August 2015
359
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 28 September 2015
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 7 February 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 29 months of the Education Review Office and St John’s College working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
St John’s College (Hastings) is a state integrated Catholic school in Hastings, providing education for boys in Years 9 to 13. A new Principal was appointed in Term Three, 2022.
St John’s College ’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
enhance engagement so that each individual can become the best version God intended them to be
enact the intent of te Tiriti o Waitangi.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on St John’s College ’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate the extent to which effective teaching strategies and practices in the junior school promote equity and excellence in learner outcomes, particularly for Māori , Pacific and learners with diverse learning needs.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is to:
support and promote equitable and excellent outcomes for all learners
strengthen and embed effective responsive teaching
ensure an inclusive learning climate that is responsive to all learners needs, with improved equity of access to a broad, rich curriculum and meaningful pathways
align the junior curriculum to a wellbeing framework to enhance engagement.
The school expects to see:
improved equity in outcomes for all learners to reach their full potential
Māori and Pacific learners engaged and well supported to achieve success with a strong sense of cultural identity
effective responsive teaching practices embedded within teaching and learning programmes
learners with diverse learning needs well supported by school conditions and learning programmes within an inclusive climate.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal of effective teaching strategies and practices in the junior school to promote equity and excellence for all learners:
learners have a sense of community and belonging with respectful, positive and supportive relationships that reflect the values and special character of the school
leadership prioritises and plans for school improvement and for equitable and excellent learner outcomes.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
giving effect to Te Tiriti o Waitangi to ensure systematic and sustained school processes, practices and actions are in place that value students’ wellbeing, cultural identity and support diverse learning needs
improved use of data and assessment practices within the Universal Design for Learning (UDL) framework to inform teaching and learning in the junior school
p rofessional learning that builds the capacity and capability of teachers in effective responsive teaching practices to meet the needs of all learners.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
7 February 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 5 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).