St Hildas Collegiate
Secondary (Year 7-15) · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 461
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Girls School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 2 Cobden Street, Dunedin
- Territorial authority
- Dunedin City
- Phone
- 03-477 0989
- admin@shcs.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.shcs.school.nz/
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Dunedin · schools in Otago
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
All students in Years 7-12 (and 13 if required), must wear the correct school uniform.
- Required
- Where to buy the uniform
- https://shcs.nzuniforms.com/
It is also possible to shop online using [this link here](https://shcs.nzuniforms.com/).
- https://shcs.nzuniforms.com/
- How to enrol
- https://shcs.school.nz/about/enrolments/domestic-enrolments
[Apply Apply Online Enrolment Form](https://shcs.school.nz/about/enrolments/domestic-enrolments)
- https://shcs.school.nz/about/enrolments/domestic-enrolments
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Special character
- St Hilda’s is a Christian school in the Anglican tradition.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
We teach girls aged 11 to 18 and accept international students at all years.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- strings
We offer private tuition in strings, brass, woodwind, percussion, voice and guitar.
- brass
We offer private tuition in strings, brass, woodwind, percussion, voice and guitar.
- woodwind
We offer private tuition in strings, brass, woodwind, percussion, voice and guitar.
- percussion
We offer private tuition in strings, brass, woodwind, percussion, voice and guitar.
- voice
We offer private tuition in strings, brass, woodwind, percussion, voice and guitar.
- guitar
We offer private tuition in strings, brass, woodwind, percussion, voice and guitar.
- speech competitions
We also encourage entry into speech competitions, and can help organise lessons with several excellent speech teachers at lunchtime or after school.
- The Big Sing
The Big Sing - Biennial School Musical
- Biennial School Musical
The Big Sing - Biennial School Musical
- Photography Competition
Photography Competition - Art Exhibitions
- Art Exhibitions
Photography Competition - Art Exhibitions
- Royal New Zealand Ballet Workshops
Royal New Zealand Ballet Workshops - Rockquest
- Rockquest
Royal New Zealand Ballet Workshops - Rockquest
- Kapa Haka
Group, Individual and Kapa Haka performances at parent evenings and other school occasions
- Biennial Stage Challenge
Biennial Stage Challenge - Junior Orchestra Workshop Day
- Junior Orchestra Workshop Day
Biennial Stage Challenge - Junior Orchestra Workshop Day
- Otago University Shakespeare festival
Otago University Shakespeare festival - Interschool Theatre Sports Competition
- Interschool Theatre Sports Competition
Otago University Shakespeare festival - Interschool Theatre Sports Competition
- Otago Secondary Schools Music Festival
Otago Secondary Schools Music Festival - Polyfest.
- Polyfest
Otago Secondary Schools Music Festival - Polyfest.
- athletics sports day
Inter-house rivalry is in full flow at athletics sports day, cross-country, and swimming sports
- cross-country
Inter-house rivalry is in full flow at athletics sports day, cross-country, and swimming sports
- swimming sports
Inter-house rivalry is in full flow at athletics sports day, cross-country, and swimming sports
- Z Club
The St Hilda’s Z Club is a group comprised of Year 12 and 13 students, who work together to help “advance the status of women worldwide”.
- strings
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 415
- Māori
- 58
- Pacific
- 7
- Asian
- 35
- MELAA
- 4
- Other
- 5
- International
- 12
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 07 | 6 | 1 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 24 | 0 | 28 |
| Year 08 | 5 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 23 | 0 | 27 |
| Year 09 | 8 | 1 | 6 | 1 | 2 | 72 | 3 | 81 |
| Year 10 | 11 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 81 | 0 | 84 |
| Year 11 | 8 | 4 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 72 | 7 | 85 |
| Year 12 | 12 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 74 | 4 | 82 |
| Year 13+ | 9 | 1 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 68 | 1 | 77 |
| Total | 59 | 9 | 22 | 2 | 2 | 414 | 15 | 464 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 11 | 5 | 1 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 21 | 0 | 25 |
| Age 12 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 19 | 0 | 22 |
| Age 13 | 10 | 1 | 5 | 1 | 1 | 66 | 1 | 73 |
| Age 14 | 8 | 1 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 81 | 1 | 86 |
| Age 15 | 8 | 4 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 77 | 4 | 85 |
| Age 16 | 13 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 61 | 7 | 73 |
| Age 17 | 10 | 1 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 74 | 1 | 83 |
| Age 18 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 15 | 1 | 17 |
| Total | 59 | 9 | 22 | 2 | 2 | 414 | 15 | 464 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
100%
| St Hildas Collegiate | 100% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 90.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 89.6% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
100%
| St Hildas Collegiate | 100% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 84.8% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.3% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
96%
| St Hildas Collegiate | 96% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 65.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 64.5% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 96% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 95.5% |
| Total | 96% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
33.3%
| St Hildas Collegiate | 33.3% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 20.4% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 14.7% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 33.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 37.5% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 35.8% |
| Total | 33.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
98.7%
| St Hildas Collegiate | 98.7% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.1% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 98.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 98.5% |
| Total | 98.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| St Hildas Collegiate | 0% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 36.8% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 43.4% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
1.2%
| St Hildas Collegiate | 1.2% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 4.6% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 4.6% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 1.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 1.3% |
| Total | 1.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| St Hildas Collegiate | 0% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 2% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 2% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 394
- Boarding
- Yes
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1896
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 6
- Last reviewed
- 23 January 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (23 January 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 23 January 2024 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO and the board have identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
meeting the requirements of the Health (Immunisation) Regulations 1995
ensuring that policies, practices and procedures on surrender and retention of property and searches of students by the principal, teachers and authorised staff members have regard to the rules and guidelines noted in the Education and Training Act 2020 [sections 105 to 114, Part 3, Subpart 4]
having policies and procedures for reducing student distress and the use of physical restraint [Education and Training Act 2020, sections 99 to 101]
complying with all aspects of safety checking of the workforce [Children’s (Requirements for Safety Checks of Children’s Workers) Regulations 2015, regulations 5-8].
The board has since addressed the areas of non-compliance identified.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 461 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
May 2015
472
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 16 June 2015
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 23 January 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within eight months of St Hildas Collegiate working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
St Hildas Collegiate is an Anglican state-integrated school for girls in Years 7 to 13 located in Dunedin. The school’s vision is to develop ‘future ready, independent learners’ by encouraging students to develop the skills and attitudes linked to the school values of: Exploring faith|Ara whakapono ; Can do| Ka taea e au ; Better together| Toa takatini ; and Be you| Tū motohake .
The school’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
developing competency for incorporating te reo, tikanga and mātauranga Māori across the school
quality teaching, flexible structures and responsive curriculum that make a difference for learners and foster the school’s graduate dispositions
identifying and implementing wellbeing priorities that matter to the school community.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on St Hildas Collegiate ’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate how well effective teaching and responsive curriculum are fostering students’ development of the skills and attitudes inherent in the school’s values.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is that the school wants to ensure that implementation of changes to curriculum and national qualifications continue to support student success in learning and development of the school values.
The school expects to see students:
apply the school’s values to enhance their wellbeing and learning
continue to have success in national qualifications
have meaningful opportunities to experience and learn te reo, tikanga and mātauranga Māori.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support it in its goal to ensure teaching and curriculum are fostering the school values:
consultative school leadership with well-considered approaches to planning and implementing change that s upports a culture of continuous improvement
curriculum structures that provide the opportunity for authentic learning in the breadth of the New Zealand curriculum
comprehensive wellbeing and pastoral support programmes that respond to student needs and promote the school values
teachers who use a variety of strategies and approaches to engage students in learning, respond to diverse learning needs and promote critical reflection.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
effective leadership and implementation of ongoing changes to the New Zealand Curriculum and NCEA – including the strengthening of provision of opportunities to learn te reo and mātauranga Māori and to participate in tikanga Māori
strengthening incorporation of the school’s values in and through learning programmes
internal evaluation, that draws on student and parent voice, to know about how well the curriculum and teaching is supporting all students to be able to demonstrate the school values.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
23 January 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 6 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).