KuraHub

← Back to search

St George's School

Full Primary · Private : Fully Registered

Year levels
1–8
Total roll
133
Enrolment zone
No
Gender
Co-Educational
Every one of the 197 schools in Manawatū-Whanganui Region with a published location. St George's School is the marked one. Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0

Where is it, and how do I get in touch?

Address
132 Liverpool Street, Whanganui
Territorial authority
Whanganui District
Phone
06-3490298
Email
admin@stgeorges.school.nz
Website
https://www.stgeorges.school.nz/
Directions
Get directions

Other schools nearby: schools in Manawatū-Whanganui

What would the day look like?

The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.

Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.

Uniform
  • RequiredChapel uniform is required for students Year 2 to Year 8 for all formal occasions e.g. Chapel, visits outside school ie. to the Museum, hosting visiting schools, School formal photos etc. Year 0-1 students are required to wear their full sports uniform for Chapel and formal occasions.

Check it on the school’s own website →

What does the school say about itself?

Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.

Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.

In their words
    • To grow faithful and daring citizens who are prepared for tomorrow.
    • To be the leading innovative school with enduring traditions.

Check it on the school’s own website →

Who goes here?

Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.

European
97
Māori
18
Pacific
1
Asian
29
MELAA
6
Other
0
International
1

Roll by year level and age

Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.

By year level
MāoriPacificAsianMELAAOtherEuropean/ PākehāInternational studentsTotal
Year 012041111015
Year 0230200709
Year 03003207010
Year 04305008012
Year 050051111015
Year 062120113017
Year 075070133039
Year 085051034041
Total20133541240158
By age
MāoriPacificAsianMELAAOtherEuropean/ PākehāInternational studentsTotal
Age 052041111015
Age 0630200709
Age 0700310508
Age 08205109013
Age 091051110014
Age 102130115020
Age 114060127032
Age 126041030036
Age 130010010011
Total20133541240158

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0

About the school

Equity Index (EQI)
not applicable
Boarding
No
Language of instruction
All students taught in English/other setting
Urban / rural
Large urban area
Date opened
25 January 1927

The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works

What did ERO find?

The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools

Reports ERO holds
3
Last reviewed
5 August 2022
Latest report
St George's School
Report type
not reported
Board assurance
not reported

What this report states about the school

As stated in ERO’s report of 5 August 2022 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.

International students
  • trueThe school is a signatory provider to the Education (Pastoral Care of International Students) Code of Practice 2016

Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →

The roll ERO recorded, and when

ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 133 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.

  1. October 2016

    88

    Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 10 November 2016

  2. September 2012

    98

    Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 19 November 2012

We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.

Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →

All 3 reports ERO holds for this school

ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.

Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.

Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).