St Dominic's College
Secondary (Year 7-15) · Private : Fully Registered
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 51
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Girls School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 12B York Street, Gonville, Whanganui
- Territorial authority
- Whanganui District
- Phone
- 06-3443814
- info@sspx.org.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Manawatū-Whanganui
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 39
- Māori
- 5
- Pacific
- 3
- Asian
- 12
- MELAA
- 0
- Other
- 0
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 0 | 2 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 18 | 0 | 21 |
| Year 10 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 9 |
| Year 11 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 8 |
| Year 12 | 1 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 9 |
| Year 13+ | 1 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 1 | 11 |
| Total | 4 | 4 | 12 | 0 | 0 | 46 | 1 | 58 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 11 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 8 |
| Age 13 | 0 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 8 |
| Age 14 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 7 |
| Age 15 | 2 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 9 |
| Age 16 | 1 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 17 | 1 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 18 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Total | 4 | 4 | 12 | 0 | 0 | 46 | 1 | 58 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
100%
| St Dominic's College | 100% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 84.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 89.6% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 96.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
92.3%
| St Dominic's College | 92.3% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 76.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.3% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 95% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 92.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 90% |
| Total | 92.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
69.2%
| St Dominic's College | 69.2% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 55.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 64.5% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 88.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 69.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 80% |
| Total | 69.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
0%
| St Dominic's College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 14.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 14.7% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 12.1% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
84.6%
| St Dominic's College | 84.6% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 81.1% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.1% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 95% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 84.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 80% |
| Total | 84.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- not applicable
- Boarding
- Yes
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1999
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 3
- Last reviewed
- 11 August 2022
- Latest report
- St Dominic's College August 2022
- Report type
- not reported
- Board assurance
- not reported
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 11 August 2022 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- International students
- true
The school is a signatory provider to the Education (Pastoral Care of International Students) Code of Practice 2016
- true
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 51 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
May 2016
67
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 15 June 2016
March 2012
41
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 5 June 2012
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 3 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).