KuraHub

← Back to search

St Anthony's School (Wanganui)

Composite · Private : Fully Registered

Year levels
not reported
Total roll
91
Enrolment zone
No
Gender
Primary Co-Ed/Secondary Boys
Every one of the 197 schools in Manawatū-Whanganui Region with a published location. St Anthony's School (Wanganui) is the marked one. Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0

Where is it, and how do I get in touch?

Address
88 Alma Road, Whanganui
Territorial authority
Whanganui District
Phone
06-3443814
Email
info@sspx.org.nz
Website
http://www.sspx.org.nz/?page_id=15
Directions
Get directions

Other schools nearby: schools in Manawatū-Whanganui

Who goes here?

Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.

European
72
Māori
20
Pacific
7
Asian
34
MELAA
1
Other
0
International
0

Roll by year level and age

Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.

By year level
MāoriPacificAsianMELAAOtherEuropean/ PākehāInternational studentsTotal
Year 01216009012
Year 0230100707
Year 03106008010
Year 044240010013
Year 053050012014
Year 06315007010
Year 0700100405
Year 0800200204
Year 0911000505
Year 10214018011
Year 1120200607
Year 1201000202
Year 13+10000303
Total2273601830103
By age
MāoriPacificAsianMELAAOtherEuropean/ PākehāInternational studentsTotal
Age 0510200607
Age 064150010012
Age 0710500507
Age 083140011012
Age 094140011014
Age 103060010013
Age 1101200305
Age 1200200103
Age 1310000404
Age 1401300507
Age 15413009010
Age 1601001405
Age 1710000303
Age 1800000101
Total2273601830103

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0

Academic results

Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025

0%

St Anthony's School (Wanganui)0%
Manawatū-Whanganui Region84.7%
Composite (Year 1-15)91.4%
Private: Fully Reg.96.8%
New Zealand85.2%
Trend and demographic breakdown
FemaleNot applicable
Male0%
MāoriToo few to report
PacificNot applicable
AsianNot applicable
MELAANot applicable
OtherToo few to report
European/Pākehā0%
Total0%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)

Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025

0%

St Anthony's School (Wanganui)0%
Manawatū-Whanganui Region76.7%
Composite (Year 1-15)86%
Private: Fully Reg.95%
New Zealand77.8%
Trend and demographic breakdown
FemaleNot applicable
Male0%
MāoriToo few to report
PacificNot applicable
AsianNot applicable
MELAANot applicable
OtherToo few to report
European/Pākehā0%
Total0%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)

Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025

0%

St Anthony's School (Wanganui)0%
Manawatū-Whanganui Region55.5%
Composite (Year 1-15)71.7%
Private: Fully Reg.88.7%
New Zealand59%
Trend and demographic breakdown
FemaleNot applicable
Male0%
MāoriToo few to report
PacificNot applicable
AsianNot applicable
MELAANot applicable
OtherToo few to report
European/Pākehā0%
Total0%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)

Percentage with VP Award — 2025

0%

St Anthony's School (Wanganui)0%
Manawatū-Whanganui Region14.5%
Composite (Year 1-15)16%
Private: Fully Reg.12.1%
New Zealand14.1%
Trend and demographic breakdown
FemaleNot applicable
Male0%
MāoriToo few to report
PacificNot applicable
AsianNot applicable
MELAANot applicable
OtherToo few to report
European/Pākehā0%
Total0%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)

Retention

Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025

50%

St Anthony's School (Wanganui)50%
Manawatū-Whanganui Region81.1%
Composite (Year 1-15)86.6%
Private: Fully Reg.95%
New Zealand83%
Trend and demographic breakdown
FemaleNot applicable
Male50%
MāoriToo few to report
PacificNot applicable
AsianNot applicable
MELAANot applicable
OtherToo few to report
European/Pākehā60%
Total50%

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)

About the school

Equity Index (EQI)
not applicable
Boarding
No
Language of instruction
All students taught in English/other setting
Urban / rural
Large urban area
Date opened
22 May 1994

The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works

What did ERO find?

The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools

Reports ERO holds
3
Last reviewed
12 August 2022
Latest report
St Anthony’s School ( Wanganui ) August 2022
Report type
not reported
Board assurance
not reported

What this report states about the school

As stated in ERO’s report of 12 August 2022 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.

International students
  • trueThe school is a signatory provider to the Education (Pastoral Care of International Students) Code of Practice 2016

Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →

The roll ERO recorded, and when

ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 91 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.

  1. May 2016

    63

    Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 15 June 2016

  2. March 2012

    86

    Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 5 June 2012

We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.

Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →

All 3 reports ERO holds for this school

ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.

Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.

Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).