Southland Girls' High School
Secondary (Year 7-15) · State
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 1,089
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Girls School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 328 Tweed Street, Georgetown, Invercargill
- Territorial authority
- Invercargill City
- Phone
- 03-2116030
- excellence@southlandgirls.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Invercargill · schools in Southland
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
All students must wear the complete and correct school uniform with pride, including to and from the school.
- Required
- Where to buy the uniform
- https://store.southlandgirls.school.nz/
To view either of the Uniform Shops please contact Student Services to book an appointment time, 03 211 6030 or click [HERE](https://store.southlandgirls.school.nz/) to purchase new uniform items via our online store.
- https://store.southlandgirls.school.nz/
- Getting there
- BusSmart provides dedicated School Buses to and from School within Invercargill City
BusSmart provides dedicated School Buses to and from School within Invercargill City.
- BusSmart provides dedicated School Buses to and from School within Invercargill City
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
We have a dedicated International Student Team who take care of and support every international student that steps through our red doors.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- FEMME
FEMME is our premier choir and has been to a number of NZCF Big Sing National Finales
- Sanguine
Sanguine performs at the NZCF Big Sing Competition, at Open Night, assemblies and Prizegiving.
- ROSSO
ROSSO is SGHS audition entry Year 7 and 8 Choir.
- Strings
Itinerant lessons are offered in Strings, Woodwind, Brass, Guitar, Piano, Vocal as well as Drums and Percussion.
- Woodwind
Itinerant lessons are offered in Strings, Woodwind, Brass, Guitar, Piano, Vocal as well as Drums and Percussion.
- Brass
Itinerant lessons are offered in Strings, Woodwind, Brass, Guitar, Piano, Vocal as well as Drums and Percussion.
- Guitar
Itinerant lessons are offered in Strings, Woodwind, Brass, Guitar, Piano, Vocal as well as Drums and Percussion.
- Piano
Itinerant lessons are offered in Strings, Woodwind, Brass, Guitar, Piano, Vocal as well as Drums and Percussion.
- Vocal
Itinerant lessons are offered in Strings, Woodwind, Brass, Guitar, Piano, Vocal as well as Drums and Percussion.
- Drums
Itinerant lessons are offered in Strings, Woodwind, Brass, Guitar, Piano, Vocal as well as Drums and Percussion.
- Percussion
Itinerant lessons are offered in Strings, Woodwind, Brass, Guitar, Piano, Vocal as well as Drums and Percussion.
- Jazz Band
Jazz Band performs at the ILT Jazz Festival in October.
- Shakespeare
Available to Year 9-13 students enthusiastic about performing Shakespeare with a modernised twist.
- Smokefree Rockquest
Smokefree Rockquest is an annual music competition for intermediate and high school bands throughout New Zealand
- Senior Production
Senior Production for Year 11 to 13 students takes place in Term 2
- Junior Production
Junior Production for Year 7 to 10 in Term 4
- Show Quest
Our Show Quest team is led by a group of senior students and is open to Years 7 – 13.
- Dance Recital
Dance Recital This is held annually to showcase and assess NCEA Senior Dance students.
- DanceNZmade
DanceNZmade Year 7-13 dancers have the opportunity to take part in this annual event.
- FEMME
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 835
- Māori
- 244
- Pacific
- 69
- Asian
- 58
- MELAA
- 27
- Other
- 11
- International
- 8
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 07 | 47 | 7 | 9 | 3 | 1 | 116 | 0 | 165 |
| Year 08 | 32 | 20 | 6 | 1 | 1 | 97 | 0 | 139 |
| Year 09 | 41 | 13 | 6 | 4 | 1 | 136 | 3 | 181 |
| Year 10 | 41 | 12 | 7 | 3 | 2 | 120 | 6 | 170 |
| Year 11 | 43 | 12 | 8 | 3 | 1 | 141 | 1 | 173 |
| Year 12 | 28 | 12 | 9 | 2 | 2 | 109 | 3 | 136 |
| Year 13+ | 24 | 13 | 6 | 0 | 1 | 90 | 4 | 117 |
| Total | 256 | 89 | 51 | 16 | 9 | 809 | 17 | 1081 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 10 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 11 | 35 | 6 | 8 | 2 | 1 | 82 | 0 | 121 |
| Age 12 | 36 | 17 | 4 | 1 | 0 | 100 | 0 | 140 |
| Age 13 | 32 | 12 | 7 | 4 | 2 | 131 | 1 | 168 |
| Age 14 | 49 | 15 | 9 | 3 | 1 | 128 | 4 | 184 |
| Age 15 | 42 | 11 | 7 | 1 | 1 | 132 | 5 | 166 |
| Age 16 | 32 | 12 | 7 | 3 | 3 | 112 | 0 | 142 |
| Age 17 | 25 | 10 | 7 | 1 | 1 | 102 | 6 | 128 |
| Age 18 | 5 | 6 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 22 | 1 | 31 |
| Total | 256 | 89 | 51 | 16 | 9 | 809 | 17 | 1081 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2024
97.6%
| Southland Girls' High School | 97.6% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 82.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 88.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 82.6% |
| New Zealand | 84.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 97.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 97.1% |
| Pacific | 85.7% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 98.1% |
| Total | 97.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2022-2024)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2024
88.2%
| Southland Girls' High School | 88.2% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 74.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 81.4% |
| State: Not integrated | 73.6% |
| New Zealand | 76.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 88.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 88.6% |
| Pacific | 71.4% |
| Asian | 80% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 88.3% |
| Total | 88.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2022-2024)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2024
65.4%
| Southland Girls' High School | 65.4% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 44.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 61.3% |
| State: Not integrated | 51.4% |
| New Zealand | 55.5% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 65.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 62.9% |
| Pacific | 28.6% |
| Asian | 80% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 68% |
| Total | 65.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2022-2024)
Percentage with VP Award — 2024
27.6%
| Southland Girls' High School | 27.6% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 13.9% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 12.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 11.8% |
| New Zealand | 11.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 27.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 37.1% |
| Pacific | 14.3% |
| Asian | 20% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 27.2% |
| Total | 27.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2022-2024)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2024
91.3%
| Southland Girls' High School | 91.3% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 75.2% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 82% |
| State: Not integrated | 79% |
| New Zealand | 81% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 91.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 97.1% |
| Pacific | 100% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 89.3% |
| Total | 91.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2022-2024)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2022
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2020-2022 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2022
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2020-2022 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
18.3%
| Southland Girls' High School | 18.3% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 61.8% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 43.4% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 18.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 40.6% |
| Pacific | 8.3% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 18.7% |
| Total | 18.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
1.1%
| Southland Girls' High School | 1.1% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 6.3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 4.6% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 1.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 2.3% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 1.4% |
| Total | 1.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
1.3%
| Southland Girls' High School | 1.3% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 2.8% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 2% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 1.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 2.7% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 1.7% |
| Total | 1.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 463
- Boarding
- Yes
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 9 February 1879
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
We have no ERO reports on record for this school. That can mean ERO has not published one yet, or that we have not matched one — it is not a finding about the school. ero.govt.nz is the place to check.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).