Southland Boys' High School
Secondary (Year 7-15) · State
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 1,087
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Boys School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 181 Herbert Street, Invercargill
- Territorial authority
- Invercargill City
- Phone
- 03-2113003
- mail@sbhs.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.sbhs.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Invercargill · schools in Southland
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- How to enrol
- https://www.sbhs.school.nz/enrol
On the Enrolment page, head to the [Enrol Now Banner](https://www.sbhs.school.nz/enrol) , then click the 'Apply Now' button to begin your application.
- https://www.sbhs.school.nz/enrol
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Athletics
Athletics Summer Sport
- SBHS Sporting 'Developing Athletes Programme'
Our SBHS Sporting 'Developing Athletes Programme' supports elite athletes across a wide range of disciplines
- Athletics
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 913
- Māori
- 292
- Pacific
- 120
- Asian
- 42
- MELAA
- 22
- Other
- 9
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 07 | 49 | 19 | 13 | 3 | 3 | 151 | 0 | 176 |
| Year 08 | 58 | 17 | 4 | 1 | 2 | 134 | 0 | 158 |
| Year 09 | 53 | 18 | 6 | 3 | 1 | 143 | 0 | 172 |
| Year 10 | 26 | 19 | 4 | 2 | 2 | 141 | 0 | 163 |
| Year 11 | 55 | 22 | 6 | 2 | 0 | 145 | 0 | 174 |
| Year 12 | 25 | 19 | 2 | 5 | 0 | 128 | 0 | 148 |
| Year 13+ | 31 | 8 | 7 | 2 | 0 | 56 | 1 | 80 |
| Total | 297 | 122 | 42 | 18 | 8 | 898 | 1 | 1071 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 11 | 34 | 12 | 11 | 2 | 1 | 104 | 0 | 121 |
| Age 12 | 59 | 18 | 6 | 2 | 4 | 137 | 0 | 164 |
| Age 13 | 53 | 16 | 5 | 1 | 1 | 143 | 0 | 169 |
| Age 14 | 35 | 23 | 5 | 4 | 1 | 141 | 0 | 167 |
| Age 15 | 41 | 16 | 5 | 0 | 1 | 146 | 0 | 167 |
| Age 16 | 36 | 22 | 2 | 6 | 0 | 122 | 0 | 147 |
| Age 17 | 33 | 15 | 7 | 1 | 0 | 86 | 1 | 114 |
| Age 18 | 6 | 0 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 19 | 0 | 22 |
| Total | 297 | 122 | 42 | 18 | 8 | 898 | 1 | 1071 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2024
87.3%
| Southland Boys' High School | 87.3% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 82.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 88.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 82.6% |
| New Zealand | 84.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 87.3% |
| Māori | 72.1% |
| Pacific | 80% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 90.5% |
| Total | 87.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2022-2024)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2024
76.4%
| Southland Boys' High School | 76.4% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 74.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 81.4% |
| State: Not integrated | 73.6% |
| New Zealand | 76.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 76.4% |
| Māori | 58.1% |
| Pacific | 66.7% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 81% |
| Total | 76.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2022-2024)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2024
36.3%
| Southland Boys' High School | 36.3% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 44.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 61.3% |
| State: Not integrated | 51.4% |
| New Zealand | 55.5% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 36.3% |
| Māori | 23.3% |
| Pacific | 20% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 39.7% |
| Total | 36.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2022-2024)
Percentage with VP Award — 2024
12.1%
| Southland Boys' High School | 12.1% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 13.9% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 12.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 11.8% |
| New Zealand | 11.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 12.1% |
| Māori | 7% |
| Pacific | 13.3% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 14.3% |
| Total | 12.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2022-2024)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2024
73.9%
| Southland Boys' High School | 73.9% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 75.2% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 82% |
| State: Not integrated | 79% |
| New Zealand | 81% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 73.9% |
| Māori | 53.5% |
| Pacific | 93.3% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 73.8% |
| Total | 73.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2022-2024)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2022
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2020-2022 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2022
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2020-2022 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
79.4%
| Southland Boys' High School | 79.4% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 61.8% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 43.4% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 79.4% |
| Māori | 139.3% |
| Pacific | 84.1% |
| Asian | 62.7% |
| Other | 117.2% |
| European/Pākehā | 69% |
| Total | 79.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
7.7%
| Southland Boys' High School | 7.7% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 6.3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 4.6% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 7.7% |
| Māori | 8.3% |
| Pacific | 4.6% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 8.5% |
| Total | 7.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
2.6%
| Southland Boys' High School | 2.6% |
|---|---|
| Southland Region | 2.8% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 2% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 2.6% |
| Māori | 7.4% |
| Pacific | 5.5% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 2.3% |
| Total | 2.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 464
- Boarding
- Yes
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 25 January 1881
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
We have no ERO reports on record for this school. That can mean ERO has not published one yet, or that we have not matched one — it is not a finding about the school. ero.govt.nz is the place to check.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).