Southern Cross Campus
Composite · State
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 1,678
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 237 Buckland Road, Mangere, Auckland
- Territorial authority
- Māngere-Ōtāhuhu Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-2550404
- not reported
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 60
- Māori
- 222
- Pacific
- 1,427
- Asian
- 173
- MELAA
- 24
- Other
- 2
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 10 | 57 | 7 | 1 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 67 |
| Year 02 | 5 | 54 | 11 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 66 |
| Year 03 | 12 | 47 | 10 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 60 |
| Year 04 | 10 | 67 | 13 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 81 |
| Year 05 | 12 | 76 | 10 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 93 |
| Year 06 | 14 | 80 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 86 |
| Year 07 | 17 | 114 | 17 | 5 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 139 |
| Year 08 | 13 | 108 | 11 | 1 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 124 |
| Year 09 | 38 | 211 | 24 | 2 | 0 | 15 | 0 | 245 |
| Year 10 | 29 | 184 | 17 | 3 | 1 | 8 | 0 | 212 |
| Year 11 | 32 | 180 | 12 | 0 | 1 | 8 | 0 | 201 |
| Year 12 | 19 | 131 | 22 | 1 | 1 | 7 | 0 | 165 |
| Year 13+ | 13 | 136 | 20 | 2 | 1 | 5 | 0 | 161 |
| Total | 224 | 1445 | 178 | 16 | 5 | 63 | 0 | 1700 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 8 | 49 | 7 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 58 |
| Age 06 | 7 | 54 | 10 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 66 |
| Age 07 | 11 | 51 | 10 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 65 |
| Age 08 | 11 | 63 | 13 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 76 |
| Age 09 | 12 | 81 | 10 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 98 |
| Age 10 | 14 | 80 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 87 |
| Age 11 | 16 | 103 | 15 | 4 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 127 |
| Age 12 | 11 | 110 | 12 | 2 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 124 |
| Age 13 | 36 | 193 | 20 | 2 | 0 | 15 | 0 | 226 |
| Age 14 | 32 | 186 | 16 | 3 | 1 | 9 | 0 | 212 |
| Age 15 | 26 | 189 | 17 | 0 | 1 | 6 | 0 | 214 |
| Age 16 | 25 | 131 | 16 | 1 | 1 | 7 | 0 | 158 |
| Age 17 | 11 | 132 | 16 | 2 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 152 |
| Age 18 | 4 | 22 | 7 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 32 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 1 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 |
| Total | 224 | 1445 | 178 | 16 | 5 | 63 | 0 | 1700 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
85.6%
| Southern Cross Campus | 85.6% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 87.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 83.3% |
| Māori | 73.7% |
| Pacific | 84.4% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 71.4% |
| Total | 85.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
83.1%
| Southern Cross Campus | 83.1% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 86.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 78.9% |
| Māori | 73.7% |
| Pacific | 81.4% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 71.4% |
| Total | 83.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
72.3%
| Southern Cross Campus | 72.3% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 76.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 67.8% |
| Māori | 52.6% |
| Pacific | 71.9% |
| Asian | 90% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 71.4% |
| Total | 72.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
17.9%
| Southern Cross Campus | 17.9% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 17.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 18.9% |
| Māori | 31.6% |
| Pacific | 18% |
| Asian | 15% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 17.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
88.2%
| Southern Cross Campus | 88.2% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 89.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 86.7% |
| Māori | 78.9% |
| Pacific | 87.4% |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 71.4% |
| Total | 88.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
33.8%
| Southern Cross Campus | 33.8% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 29.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 26.5% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 37.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 30.1% |
| Māori | 33% |
| Pacific | 36% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 27% |
| Total | 33.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
2.3%
| Southern Cross Campus | 2.3% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 3.2% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 4.4% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 2.7% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 2.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0.6%
| Southern Cross Campus | 0.6% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 1.4% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 1.2% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 1% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0.6% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 515
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 19 July 1998
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 6 June 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (6 June 2023)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 6 June 2023 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 1678 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
September 2015
1544
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 16 November 2015
June 2012
1525
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 18 September 2012
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 6 June 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 18 months of the Education Review Office and Southern Cross Campus working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Southern Cross Campus provides education for students in years 1 to 13 and is located in Mangere, south Auckland. The school’s vision of ‘ Mahi Tahi Kia Angitu Ai ’ Working together for Success and the values of Respect, Responsibility, Relationships and Resilience are promoted in the curriculum.
Southern Cross Campusstrategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
effective teaching that accelerates learning for equity and excellence
wellbeing that develops a community of care, where everyone belongs so that they can learn, grow, and flourish
leadership that develops collaborative solutions, focused students and adult leaders committed to serving the school community
genuine partnerships with key stakeholders which support the school’s vision.
A copy of the school's strategic and annual plan can be found on the Southern Cross Website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate how effectively teaching and assessment strategies engage and improve students’ learning, including the integration of a coherent and comprehensive curriculum from year 1 to year 13.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is to:
shift teacher practice to accelerate students’ learning
effectively meet the learning needs of students and the school community continue to strengthen the academic, social, and cultural achievement of all students to be confident, resilient and achieve personal and academic excellence.
The school expects to see:
a positive shift in teacher practice
improving student engagement and achievement in learning students experience effective teaching practices such as assessment for learning, reciprocal teaching and deliberate acts of teaching.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to evaluate how effectively teaching and assessment strategies engage and improve students’ learning and outcomes:
Students experience a positive and inclusive school culture that values their language, culture and identity.
Supportive leadership in curriculum, culture and relational teambuilding and well-established professional learning and support systems for teachers.
Teachers and leaders who model effective practice and have a strong commitment from all improve their practice and outcomes for all learners.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
collating and analysing classroom observations of teachers’ practice to inform professional learning that improves learner outcomes
collating and analysing students' progress and achievement at all year levels to review and improve the impact of teaching
developing review processes that further develop the year 1 to 13 curriculum to sustain equitable and excellent outcomes for all learners.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
6 June 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).