Sir Keith Park School
Specialist School · State
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 188
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 33 Robertson Road, Mangere, Auckland
- Territorial authority
- Māngere-Ōtāhuhu Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-2754455
- admin@skp.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.skp.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- Empowering our students through respect, teamwork, and specialised education, to realise their potential.
Our Mission Empowering our students through respect, teamwork, and specialised education, to realise their potential.
- Empowering our students through respect, teamwork, and specialised education, to realise their potential.
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 8
- Māori
- 28
- Pacific
- 150
- Asian
- 16
- MELAA
- 1
- Other
- 2
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 0 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 |
| Year 02 | 0 | 10 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 11 |
| Year 03 | 2 | 15 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 18 |
| Year 04 | 0 | 17 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 19 |
| Year 05 | 2 | 10 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 14 |
| Year 06 | 1 | 6 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10 |
| Year 07 | 0 | 14 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 15 |
| Year 08 | 1 | 13 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 15 |
| Year 09 | 3 | 10 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 13 |
| Year 10 | 3 | 9 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 14 |
| Year 11 | 2 | 7 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 11 |
| Year 12 | 3 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 9 |
| Year 13+ | 6 | 18 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 27 |
| Total | 23 | 139 | 16 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 180 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 0 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 |
| Age 06 | 0 | 10 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 11 |
| Age 07 | 2 | 15 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 18 |
| Age 08 | 0 | 18 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 21 |
| Age 09 | 2 | 9 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 10 | 1 | 8 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 11 | 0 | 12 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 13 |
| Age 12 | 1 | 13 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 15 |
| Age 13 | 3 | 11 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 14 |
| Age 14 | 3 | 8 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 13 |
| Age 15 | 2 | 7 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 11 |
| Age 16 | 3 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 9 |
| Age 17 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 18 | 1 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 |
| Age 19+ | 3 | 11 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 16 |
| Total | 23 | 139 | 16 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 180 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
0%
| Sir Keith Park School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Specialist School | 12.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
0%
| Sir Keith Park School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Specialist School | 8% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
0%
| Sir Keith Park School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Specialist School | 1.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
0%
| Sir Keith Park School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Specialist School | 0.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
91.7%
| Sir Keith Park School | 91.7% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Specialist School | 79.1% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | 87.5% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 91.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Total | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Sir Keith Park School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 29.7% |
| Specialist School | 24.1% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Sir Keith Park School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 3% |
| Specialist School | 3.4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Sir Keith Park School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 1.4% |
| Specialist School | 1.8% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 500
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 23 May 1976
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 27 March 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (27 March 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 27 March 2024 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 188 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
November 2019
165
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 14 February 2020
March 2016
143
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 16 June 2016
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 27 March 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within six months of the Education Review Office and Sir Keith Park School working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
This report is part of a nationally coordinated evaluation of 27-day specialist schools during the second half of 2023. This included the development of day specialist school evaluation indicators by ERO with significant input from principals, staff, and the Special Education Principals’ Association of New Zealand (SEPAnz).
Context
Sir Keith Park School is a multicultural learning community located in Favona, Auckland. It provides education for learners with intellectual and multiple complex learning disabilities between the ages of five to 21 years old. All learners have Ongoing Resourcing Scheme (ORS) funding. The school has a base school and four satellite sites located at local host schools.
The school employs a specialist therapy team that includes speech and language therapists, occupational therapists, physiotherapists, and behaviour specialists, who support the learning of students. The school also operates a specialist teacher outreach service that supports ORS funded students enrolled in 17 schools across the South Auckland area.
The school’s whakatauki is ‘ Ehara taku toa i te toa takitahi, engari he toa takitini ’ - ‘The result of one’s work is the product of many hands’. The school is guided by its values of Teamwork- Whanaungatanga ; Respect- Manaakitanga ; Integrity- Ngākau Pono.
The school continues to navigate and manage roll growth pressures along with the employment and property demands associated with this.
Recognising movement as the foundation for all learning, the school uses the MOVE Programme for students who cannot sit, stand, or walk independently. The programme is an activity-based approach that combines education, therapy, and family knowledge to teach the students new skills.
Sir Keith Park School ’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
ākonga focused curriculum
engaging and empowering relationships
empowering school culture
continuity and change.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Sir Keith Park School ’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate how effectively school systems and processes support specialist teaching and learning practices, to ensure equity and excellence for all learners to reach their potential.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is to evaluate how effectively school systems and processes are in supporting specialist teaching and learning practices.
The school expects to see:
learners continuing to make sustained progress towards achieving their potential
schoolwide systems and processes that further support effective specialist teaching and learning practices
effective schoolwide communication at all levels of the school.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to evaluate how effectively school systems and processes support specialist teaching and learning practices, to ensure equity and excellence for all learners to reach their potential.
Clear evidence of positive student outcomes reflected in progress and achievement of individual learning goals.
Students experience a welcoming, calm, settled, and supportive learning environment.
A school environment where language, culture and identity are celebrated, in particular Pacific and Māori .
A school culture that promotes wellbeing and care for the students, whānau , and the school community.
An adaptive and responsive strength-based school curriculum that supports students to experience success in their learning.
A senior school leadership team that effectively builds collective capacity to review and inquire into sustained improvement in schoolwide systems to actively respond to the complex environment of a special day school.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
developing a schoolwide shared understanding to further embed systems and process that enhance specialist teaching and learning practices
ensuring systems and processes are accessible for a range of purposes
strengthening opportunities for distributed leadership across the school.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
27 March 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).