Selwyn House School
Full Primary · Private : Fully Registered
- Year levels
- 1–8
- Total roll
- 294
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Girls School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 122 Merivale Lane, Merivale, Christchurch
- Territorial authority
- Christchurch City
- Phone
- 03-355 7299
- office@selhouse.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Christchurch · schools in Canterbury
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Term dates
- Term 1, 2026: Monday 2 February 2026 – Thursday 2 April 2026
Term 1 | | Monday 2 February 2026 | | Thursday 2 April 2026
- Term 2, 2026: Tuesday 28 April 2026 – Friday 26 June 2026
Term 2 | | Tuesday 28 April 2026 | | Friday 26 June 2026
- Term 3, 2026: Monday 20 July 2026 – Friday 18 September 2026
Term 3 | | Monday 20 July 2026 | | Friday 18 September 2026
- Term 4, 2026: Monday 12 October 2026 – Wednesday 9 December 2026
Term 4 | | Monday 12 October 2026 | | Wednesday 9 December 2026
- Term 1, 2027: Wednesday 27 January 2027 – Friday 9 April 2027
Term 1 | | Wednesday 27 January 2027 | | Friday 9 April 2027
- Term 2, 2027: Monday 3 May 2027 – Friday 2 July 2027
Term 2 | | Monday 3 May 2027 | | Friday 2 July 2027
- Term 3, 2027: Monday 26 July 2027 – Friday 17 September 2027
Term 3 | | Monday 26 July 2027 | | Friday 17 September 2027
- Term 4, 2027: Monday 11 October 2027 – Wednesday 8 December 2027
Term 4 | | Monday 11 October 2027 | | Wednesday 8 December 2027
- Term 1, 2026: Monday 2 February 2026 – Thursday 2 April 2026
- How to enrol
- https://enrol.selwynhouse.school.nz/enrolment-expression-of-interest
A family may register their interest and to learn more about Selwyn House School at any time [by completing this form.](https://enrol.selwynhouse.school.nz/enrolment-expression-of-interest)
- https://enrol.selwynhouse.school.nz/enrolment-expression-of-interest
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- Our vision is clear, 'Thriving Today, Changing Tomorrow.' Every day, we work to instill the values that will help our students become curious, resilient, courageous and inspirational. These values guide our school community and help shape personal and academic growth.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
Successful domestic and international applicants will be sent an Offer of Place and additional details.
- Accepted, as stated
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 224
- Māori
- 8
- Pacific
- 4
- Asian
- 70
- MELAA
- 8
- Other
- 2
- International
- 3
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 4 | 0 | 15 | 0 | 1 | 17 | 1 | 30 |
| Year 02 | 2 | 0 | 6 | 1 | 0 | 23 | 0 | 28 |
| Year 03 | 3 | 1 | 3 | 2 | 0 | 26 | 0 | 31 |
| Year 04 | 4 | 1 | 10 | 2 | 2 | 24 | 2 | 37 |
| Year 05 | 1 | 0 | 10 | 1 | 0 | 30 | 0 | 38 |
| Year 06 | 3 | 0 | 12 | 2 | 0 | 39 | 2 | 53 |
| Year 07 | 2 | 0 | 4 | 1 | 0 | 29 | 1 | 33 |
| Year 08 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 37 | 0 | 41 |
| Total | 19 | 2 | 63 | 9 | 4 | 225 | 6 | 291 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 4 | 0 | 14 | 0 | 1 | 14 | 0 | 26 |
| Age 06 | 2 | 0 | 6 | 1 | 0 | 24 | 1 | 29 |
| Age 07 | 3 | 0 | 4 | 2 | 0 | 24 | 0 | 30 |
| Age 08 | 4 | 2 | 9 | 2 | 2 | 25 | 2 | 37 |
| Age 09 | 1 | 0 | 11 | 1 | 0 | 31 | 0 | 40 |
| Age 10 | 3 | 0 | 10 | 2 | 0 | 41 | 1 | 52 |
| Age 11 | 2 | 0 | 6 | 1 | 0 | 23 | 2 | 30 |
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 30 | 0 | 32 |
| Age 13 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 13 | 0 | 15 |
| Total | 19 | 2 | 63 | 9 | 4 | 225 | 6 | 291 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- not applicable
- Boarding
- Yes
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 25 January 1929
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 2
- Last reviewed
- 14 April 2025
- Latest report
- Selwyn House School April 2025
- Report type
- not reported
- Board assurance
- not reported
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 14 April 2025 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- International students
- true
The school is a signatory provider to the Education (Pastoral Care of Tertiary and International Learners) Code of Practice 2021
- true
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 2 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).