Scots College
Composite · Private : Fully Registered
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 1,169
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 1 Monorgan Road, Strathmore, Wellington
- Territorial authority
- Wellington City
- Phone
- 04-3880850
- enquiries@scotscollege.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Wellington · schools in Wellington Region
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
Not stated on the school’s website.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
International students who study at Scots College will benefit from:
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Kotahitanga Treble Choir
Kotahitanga Treble Choir This is for those who want to sing in two or more parts and extend themselves as a vocalist.
- Kotahitanga Choir
Kotahitanga Choir This is an energetic all-comers group that combines fine singing with movement.
- Kairangi Chorale
The Kairangi Chorale is an auditioned Chamber choir for ambitious and committed singers
- Strathmore Singers
Strathmore Singers In this energetic and fun choir
- Jazz Band
Jazz Band A very busy and high-energy group that tackles a wide range of music from funk to jazz.
- Scots College Orchestra
Scots College Orchestra For accomplished instrumentalists with at least three years of playing experience.
- Scots Rock programme
The Scots Rock programme is an opportunity for rock students to learn the process of performing and creating songs in a band setting.
- Twisted Notes
Twisted Notes is for instrumentalists to join after initial lessons to gain experience playing in a group.
- Chess Club
Chess Club Students develop strategic thinking and problem-solving skills while learning and playing chess in a friendly, supportive environment.
- debating
At the Year 7–8 level, debating is an impromptu/limited preparation club with an emphasis on fun and gaining experience and confidence.
- 20-Week Player Development Programme
- 20-Week Player Development Programme held during Term 2 and Term 3.
- 48Hours Film Festival
- 4.8 Film – Middle School Film Competition
- DanceNZ Made
- Middle and Senior School Cabaret
- Scots Crew
- Shakespeare Globe Centre NZ Festival
- Showquest Performance
- Speech & Drama
- Kotahitanga Treble Choir
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 765
- Māori
- 91
- Pacific
- 69
- Asian
- 363
- MELAA
- 42
- Other
- 20
- International
- 57
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 0 | 1 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 16 |
| Year 02 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 1 | 7 | 0 | 14 |
| Year 03 | 0 | 1 | 4 | 3 | 1 | 14 | 1 | 24 |
| Year 04 | 0 | 0 | 17 | 1 | 1 | 17 | 0 | 36 |
| Year 05 | 0 | 2 | 11 | 2 | 2 | 26 | 0 | 43 |
| Year 06 | 0 | 2 | 20 | 2 | 1 | 24 | 2 | 50 |
| Year 07 | 4 | 1 | 21 | 3 | 6 | 58 | 2 | 94 |
| Year 08 | 10 | 3 | 22 | 1 | 6 | 60 | 4 | 99 |
| Year 09 | 12 | 11 | 35 | 5 | 8 | 84 | 4 | 149 |
| Year 10 | 9 | 8 | 30 | 3 | 7 | 95 | 6 | 147 |
| Year 11 | 15 | 8 | 37 | 7 | 1 | 103 | 11 | 161 |
| Year 12 | 9 | 5 | 31 | 4 | 7 | 112 | 10 | 163 |
| Year 13+ | 7 | 3 | 33 | 3 | 3 | 91 | 14 | 141 |
| Total | 66 | 45 | 271 | 34 | 44 | 702 | 54 | 1137 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 0 | 1 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 16 |
| Age 06 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 1 | 7 | 0 | 15 |
| Age 07 | 0 | 1 | 3 | 2 | 0 | 12 | 1 | 19 |
| Age 08 | 0 | 0 | 16 | 2 | 2 | 18 | 0 | 38 |
| Age 09 | 0 | 2 | 11 | 1 | 1 | 23 | 0 | 38 |
| Age 10 | 0 | 2 | 20 | 3 | 2 | 24 | 1 | 51 |
| Age 11 | 4 | 1 | 18 | 3 | 6 | 53 | 1 | 85 |
| Age 12 | 7 | 1 | 26 | 1 | 6 | 64 | 5 | 105 |
| Age 13 | 12 | 12 | 28 | 5 | 7 | 78 | 1 | 133 |
| Age 14 | 10 | 8 | 31 | 1 | 7 | 100 | 4 | 150 |
| Age 15 | 15 | 9 | 40 | 7 | 2 | 101 | 7 | 159 |
| Age 16 | 10 | 5 | 31 | 4 | 6 | 114 | 11 | 166 |
| Age 17 | 7 | 3 | 30 | 5 | 4 | 78 | 13 | 129 |
| Age 18 | 1 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 19 | 7 | 30 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Total | 66 | 45 | 271 | 34 | 44 | 702 | 54 | 1137 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
97.7%
| Scots College | 97.7% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 90.8% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 96.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 96.6% |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 97% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 97.9% |
| Total | 97.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
96.9%
| Scots College | 96.9% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 85.3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 95% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 95.5% |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 97% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 97.9% |
| Total | 96.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
90.8%
| Scots College | 90.8% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 68.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 88.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 97.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 87.5% |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 93.9% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 89.4% |
| Total | 90.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
17.6%
| Scots College | 17.6% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 12.5% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 12.1% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 23.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 14.8% |
| Māori | 57.1% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 15.2% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 16% |
| Total | 17.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
96.9%
| Scots College | 96.9% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 88.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 95% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 97.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 96.6% |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 97% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 96.8% |
| Total | 96.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- not applicable
- Boarding
- Yes
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1916
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 3
- Last reviewed
- 9 April 2024
- Latest report
- Scots College April 2024
- Report type
- not reported
- Board assurance
- not reported
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 9 April 2024 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- International students
- true
The school is a signatory provider to the Education (Pastoral Care of Tertiary and International Learners) Code of Practice 2021
- true
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 1169 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
October 2018
871
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 10 December 2018
May 2014
847
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 22 July 2014
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 3 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).