KuraHub

← Back to search

Saint Kentigern Boys' School

Full Primary · Private : Fully Registered

Year levels
1–8
Total roll
658
Enrolment zone
No
Gender
Boys School
Every one of the 569 schools in Auckland Region with a published location. Saint Kentigern Boys' School is the marked one. Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0

Where is it, and how do I get in touch?

Address
82 Shore Road, Remuera, Auckland
Territorial authority
Ōrākei Local Board Area
Phone
09-5207682
Email
sandra.melhuish@saintkentigern.com
Website
http://www.saintkentigern.com
Directions
Get directions

Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland

What would the day look like?

The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.

Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.

Uniform

Not stated on the school’s website.

Getting there
  • Both Saint Kentigern campuses are serviced by a large fleet of dedicated buses, operated on our behalf by Howick and Eastern Bus CompanyBoth Saint Kentigern campuses are serviced by a large fleet of dedicated buses, operated on our behalf by Howick and Eastern Bus Company.
How to enrol

Check it on the school’s own website →

What does the school say about itself?

Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.

Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.

In their words
  • The Mission of Saint Kentigern is to provide an education that inspires students to strive for excellence in all areas of life for the glory of God and the service of others.
International students
  • Not accepted, as statedThe Boys’ School at 82 Shore Road, Remuera are unable to accept international students as we do not have an international student licence.

Check it on the school’s own website →

Who goes here?

Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.

European
446
Māori
20
Pacific
18
Asian
236
MELAA
13
Other
1
International
0

Roll by year level and age

Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.

By year level
MāoriPacificAsianMELAAOtherEuropean/ PākehāInternational studentsTotal
Year 0112131014028
Year 0240210022038
Year 0302222126049
Year 0422400039075
Year 0501271057079
Year 0651302049077
Year 079434311200152
Year 085745211170160
Total26192321134440658
By age
MāoriPacificAsianMELAAOtherEuropean/ PākehāInternational studentsTotal
Age 0512131014028
Age 0640210022038
Age 0702221125048
Age 0812351033064
Age 0910301052078
Age 1042282056082
Age 11833331990129
Age 127640111150153
Age 1302101028038
Total26192321134440658

Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0

About the school

Equity Index (EQI)
not applicable
Boarding
No
Language of instruction
All students taught in English/other setting
Urban / rural
Major urban area
Date opened
3 February 1959

The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works

What did ERO find?

The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools

Reports ERO holds
3
Last reviewed
21 November 2023
Latest report
Saint Kentigern Boys' School November 2023
Report type
not reported
Board assurance
not reported

The roll ERO recorded, and when

ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 658 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.

  1. August 2016

    544

    Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 10 October 2016

  2. July 2012

    479

    Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 7 September 2012

We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.

Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →

All 3 reports ERO holds for this school

ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.

Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.

Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).