Sacred Heart Girls' College (N Plymouth)
Secondary (Year 7-15) · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 737
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Girls School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 9 Pukaka Street, Fitzroy, New Plymouth
- Territorial authority
- New Plymouth District
- Phone
- 06-7585023
- admin@shgcnp.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.shgcnp.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in New Plymouth · schools in Taranaki
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
White blouse - Tartan skirt—mid knee length - Navy blue shorts - Jersey
- Required
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Special character
- Teaching and learning programmes, along with behaviour expectations, reflect our Catholic belief that each individual is unique, loved by God, and has a valuable contribution to make to the wellbeing of others and their world. Sacred Heart Girls’ College commits itself to the development of the whole person, serving as an authentic expression of the Church in action.
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Bands
We have a variety of Bands that cater to instrumental players of all skill levels.
- Jazz bands
Our Jazz bands perform at the local Jazz club, and we also regularly participate in the Waikato Festival.
- Concert Band
Our Concert Band, combined with Francis Douglas Memorial College, allows students the opportunity to be a part of a larger group – learning multiple skills while playing some great music.
- 2 Choirs
If you love to sing, then you are welcome to join one of our 2 Choirs – no audition necessary.
- Kids Sing
The Kids Sing and Big Sing are regional competitions, where we can perform but also see other choirs from other schools.
- Big Sing
The Kids Sing and Big Sing are regional competitions, where we can perform but also see other choirs from other schools.
- RockQuest
RockQuest and BandQuest are two amazing opportunities for our young Rock Stars.
- BandQuest
RockQuest and BandQuest are two amazing opportunities for our young Rock Stars.
- Bands
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 605
- Māori
- 114
- Pacific
- 23
- Asian
- 81
- MELAA
- 29
- Other
- 1
- International
- 1
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 07 | 13 | 3 | 10 | 4 | 0 | 84 | 0 | 96 |
| Year 08 | 18 | 4 | 14 | 2 | 0 | 77 | 0 | 96 |
| Year 09 | 15 | 0 | 8 | 5 | 0 | 105 | 0 | 121 |
| Year 10 | 21 | 7 | 12 | 3 | 0 | 91 | 0 | 114 |
| Year 11 | 23 | 3 | 8 | 5 | 0 | 86 | 0 | 103 |
| Year 12 | 14 | 5 | 10 | 4 | 0 | 92 | 1 | 112 |
| Year 13+ | 24 | 3 | 5 | 3 | 0 | 88 | 1 | 99 |
| Total | 128 | 25 | 67 | 26 | 0 | 623 | 2 | 741 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 11 | 8 | 2 | 9 | 3 | 0 | 63 | 0 | 74 |
| Age 12 | 21 | 2 | 15 | 3 | 0 | 83 | 0 | 101 |
| Age 13 | 16 | 3 | 5 | 5 | 0 | 97 | 0 | 111 |
| Age 14 | 19 | 5 | 13 | 2 | 0 | 106 | 0 | 128 |
| Age 15 | 22 | 4 | 9 | 6 | 0 | 74 | 1 | 95 |
| Age 16 | 12 | 4 | 4 | 3 | 0 | 96 | 0 | 104 |
| Age 17 | 26 | 4 | 12 | 2 | 0 | 85 | 1 | 107 |
| Age 18 | 4 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 19 | 0 | 21 |
| Total | 128 | 25 | 67 | 26 | 0 | 623 | 2 | 741 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
99.1%
| Sacred Heart Girls' College (N Plymouth) | 99.1% |
|---|---|
| Taranaki Region | 88.4% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 89.6% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 99.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 99.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
94.8%
| Sacred Heart Girls' College (N Plymouth) | 94.8% |
|---|---|
| Taranaki Region | 79.6% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.3% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 94.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 92.3% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 83.3% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 97.1% |
| Total | 94.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
77.4%
| Sacred Heart Girls' College (N Plymouth) | 77.4% |
|---|---|
| Taranaki Region | 58.2% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 64.5% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 77.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 76.9% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 83.3% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 78.4% |
| Total | 77.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
7%
| Sacred Heart Girls' College (N Plymouth) | 7% |
|---|---|
| Taranaki Region | 17.3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 14.7% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 7% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 7.7% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 16.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 5.9% |
| Total | 7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
92.2%
| Sacred Heart Girls' College (N Plymouth) | 92.2% |
|---|---|
| Taranaki Region | 76.9% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.1% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 92.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | 88.5% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 83.3% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 94.1% |
| Total | 92.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
11.6%
| Sacred Heart Girls' College (N Plymouth) | 11.6% |
|---|---|
| Taranaki Region | 41.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 43.4% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 11.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 19.9% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 11.1% |
| Other | 25% |
| European/Pākehā | 10.6% |
| Total | 11.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Sacred Heart Girls' College (N Plymouth) | 0% |
|---|---|
| Taranaki Region | 4.1% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 4.6% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Sacred Heart Girls' College (N Plymouth) | 0% |
|---|---|
| Taranaki Region | 1.6% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 2% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 414
- Boarding
- Yes
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 25 January 1884
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 8
- Last reviewed
- 5 February 2025
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (5 February 2025)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 5 February 2025 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO and the board have identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
consultation with the school's Māori community, developed and made known to the school's community policies, plans and targets for improving the progress and achievement of Māori students, has not been held [Section 127(1)(d), Education and Training Act 2020]
reporting to the school community the progress and achievement of Māori students against plans and targets has not been carried out [Regulation 21, Education (School Boards) Amendment Regulations 2022]
consultation with the school community, at least once in every two years, prior to adopting a statement on the delivery of the health curriculum has not been undertaken [Section 91, Education and Training Act, 2020]
The board has since taken steps to address the areas of non-compliance identified.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 5 February 2025 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
Sacred Heart Girls’ College (N Plymouth) is a state-integrated Catholic school providing education for students in Years 7 to 13. The school offers day and boarding options. Students are encouraged to do everything to the best of their ability; striving for personal excellence with their academic, physical and spiritual hauora.
There are three parts to this report.
Part A: A summary of the findings from the most recent Education Review Office (ERO) report and/or subsequent evaluation.
Part B: An evaluative summary of learner success and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction, including any education in Rumaki /bilingual settings.
Part C: The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Previous Improvement Goals
Since the previous ERO report of July 2022 the school has been evaluating how effectively the pastoral needs of the students are met.
Expected Improvements and Findings
The school expected to see:
The refinement of pastoral care systems and processes to meet student needs more effectively.
Leaders have carried out an extensive review of pastoral care systems and processes over the past three years that has informed the preferred structure and programmes going forward.
Well-defined roles and responsibilities for Manaaki teachers and deans have been established through meaningful consultation with stakeholders.
The role of deans has been aligned with the House structure, and an increase in number, has been implemented for the start of 2025 to provide greater accessibility and cohesion of pastoral care provision.
The school’s goal setting and mentoring programme (GEMS) has been reviewed; new programmes, attending to student Hauora /wellbeing, positive relationships and self-efficacy, have been developed and are delivered by staff with specialty in these areas.
A shared understanding of pastoral needs in the school community.
Leaders, staff and students increasingly understand the range of pastoral needs within the school community; leaders and ERO agree that there is yet to be consistently applied pastoral practice at all levels of the school.
Students know who is available to speak to about their pastoral needs and how to access their assistance; most students access a member of the pastoral team if necessary.
A way to measure the effectiveness of pastoral care and improved wellbeing outcomes for all students, particularly those who are at risk.
The school is yet to put in place an evaluation process to regularly gather evidence and monitor whether the new pastoral system and programmes are having the desired outcomes, and who for.
Part B: Current State
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
Most students are engaged, make good progress and achieve well.
Almost all students gain National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) Level 1 and most students gain Level 2 and 3, and University Entrance; the majority of students gain the certificate endorsed with either Merit or Excellence.
The school has yet to address small disparity in achievement for Māori learners in NCEA Level 2.
A large majority of Year 7 to 10 students achieve at curriculum level expectation in reading, mathematics, and science and make expected progress over time; a few students make accelerated progress.
Regular student attendance is below the 2024 Ministry of Education targets; regular attendance has improved over time and continues to be a focus for the school.
Conditions to support learner success
Leadership is taking steps towards implementing a more strategic focus on learner outcomes.
Leaders pursue key improvement goals and are beginning to use evidence to plan and monitor aspects of the strategic improvement cycle; a next step for the school is to systematically gather evidence, feedback and ideas to measure the impact of initiatives on student outcomes and who for.
Leaders are strengthening collaboration at every level of the school to effect strategic vision and improvement goals.
Whānau and students are increasingly involved in decision making in the school and they are beginning to see their aspirations reflected in the school’s decision making.
Teachers increasingly provide a responsive curriculum and high-quality teaching practice.
Teachers create orderly learning environments and are developing collaborative planning that respond to individual learning needs and to strengthen student engagement.
Teachers have clear achievement outcomes for students from Year 7 to 13, guiding and setting expectations for high-quality teaching practice and coordinated curriculum progressions.
Te reo Māori , tikanga Māori , mātauranga Māori and te aō Māori are increasingly woven through all aspects of the school curriculum and day-to-day life of the school.
Leaders and the board are strengthening systems, structures and practices to guide improvement.
Leaders and teachers recognise, affirm, and appreciate the diversity of students and are taking steps towards fully understanding students’ cultural identity and values.
Professional learning opportunities are increasingly aligned with the school’s strategic direction.
Leaders and teachers are building a shared understanding of the role of evaluation for improvement; the school is growing its data analysis capability.
The board is strengthening the regular review of student data to identify strategic improvement priorities, plan and make appropriate resourcing decisions.
Part C: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
develop and implement an evaluation process, with regular milestones, to gather evidence and measure the impact of the new pastoral structure and programmes on improved outcomes, including attendance, for students and inform next steps
continue professional learning for leaders and teachers to access, interpret and use attendance, wellbeing and achievement data to build a more responsive and consistent approach to student learning and pastoral care
consolidate a consistent understanding of high-quality teaching and learning to respond to a wide range of student learning and pastoral needs, including Māori learners in NCEA Level 2.
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows.
Within six months:
create an evaluation timeline outlining actions to regularly gather stakeholder feedback and ideas and voice about the restructured pastoral structure and programmes
review and refine targeted professional learning to strengthen the data literacy of staff and ensure the restructured pastoral system and wellbeing programmes are understood by all.
Every six months:
use whānau, student and staff feedback and ideas to determine the impact the new pastoral structure and programmes is having on improved student engagement
continue to collect and analyse attendance, achievement and wellbeing data, to ensure that the initiatives are having the desired outcomes; use this information to refine and make improvements to the pastoral structure and learning programme.
Annually:
analyse and report attendance, achievement and wellbeing outcomes to the board and community; in partnership with whānau , students and staff; use this information to inform the next strategic steps.
review the impact of professional learning for leaders and teachers to access, interpret and use attendance, wellbeing and achievement data; use this information to plan the next steps in professional learning.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in:
Improved student outcomes; leaders and teachers use attendance, wellbeing and achievement data and evidence to be responsive and consistent when attending to student progress and pastoral care
staff, students and whānau feedback and ideas are actively sought, considered and used in decision making by the school
an embedded and sustained understanding of the role of evaluation for improvement.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau , kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Acting Director of Schools
5 February 2025
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 8 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).