Rutherford College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 1,607
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Kotuku Street, Te Atatu, Auckland
- Territorial authority
- Henderson-Massey Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-8349790
- admin@rutherford.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
Not stated on the school’s website.
- Getting there
- Auckland Transport school buses 013 Glendene, 014 View Rd and 213 Henderson; routes 013 and 014 are operated by Pavlovich Coachlines, route 213 by NZ Bus
For students living in Te Atatu South, Glendene, Sunnyvale and Henderson South, take one of the Auckland Transport-run school buses - 013 Glendene, 014 View Rd or 213 Henderson. Routes 013 and 014 are operated by Pavlovich Coachlines, while route 213 is operated by NZ Bus.
- Auckland Transport school buses 013 Glendene, 014 View Rd and 213 Henderson; routes 013 and 014 are operated by Pavlovich Coachlines, route 213 by NZ Bus
- How to enrol
- https://rutherfordcollege.school.kiwi/enrolment
Step 1: Complete the [Online Enrolment Form](https://rutherfordcollege.school.kiwi/enrolment)
- https://rutherfordcollege.school.kiwi/enrolment
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- At Rutherford we are focussed on delivering a knowledge rich curriculum where teachers implement the principles of explicit instruction. We value knowledge in our curriculum because knowledge and being knowledgeable, enables us to think.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
International students enrolled at Rutherford College have the same behavioural and attendance expectations as our domestic students.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Archery
Archery is held every Tuesday and Thursday 3:30pm-4:30pm on the school field during Term 1 and 4
- BADMINTON
ALL GAMES PLAYED AT WAITAKERE BADMINTON
- equestrian
If your require any information regarding equestrian please contact the sports office.
- TABLE TENNIS
ALL GAMES PLAYED AT WAITEMATA TABLE TENNIS
- String Ensemble
- String Ensemble
- Concert Band
- Concert Band
- Choir
- Choir
- Senior Band
- Senior Band
- Rutherford Liston Jazz Ensemble
- Rutherford Liston Jazz Ensemble
- Te Roopu Kapa Haka o Te Kōtuku
- Te Roopu Kapa Haka o Te Kōtuku
- Samoan Group
- Samoan Group
- Indian Cultural Group
- Indian Cultural Group
- Cook Islands Group
- Cook Islands Group
- Niuean Group
- Niuean Group
- K-Pop Dance Group
- K-Pop Dance Group
- Chinese Dance Group
- Chinese Dance Group
- Revive Salt & Light: Christian Group
- Revive Salt & Light: Christian Group
- Filipino Group
- Filipino Group
- Tuvaluan Group
- Tuvaluan Group
- Bollywood Showdown Group
- Bollywood Showdown Group
- German Goethe Exam Preparation
- German Goethe Exam Preparation
- Readers Cup
- Readers Cup
- Library Monitors
- Library Monitors
- International Language Week Committee
- International Language Week Committee
- World Scholars's Cup
- World Scholars's Cup
- Environmental Committee
- Environmental Committee
- Rainbow Club
- Rainbow Club
- PSSP - Peer Sexuality Support Programme
- PSSP - Peer Sexuality Support Programme
- Model United Nations Assembly (MUNA)
- Model United Nations Assembly (MUNA)
- Peer Mentors
- Peer Mentors
- Cultural Committee
- Cultural Committee
- Student Council
- Student Council
- Ball Committee
- Ball Committee
- Peace Ambassadors
- Peace Ambassadors
- Sports Committee
- Sports Committee
- Komiti Pasefika
- Komiti Pasefika
- Fundraising and Development Committee
- Fundraising and Development Committee
- Art Club
- Art Club
- Dungeons and Dragons (Board Games)
- Dungeons and Dragons (Board Games)
- Chess Club
- Chess Club
- Stage Technical Crew
- Stage Technical Crew
- Archery
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 752
- Māori
- 326
- Pacific
- 317
- Asian
- 481
- MELAA
- 88
- Other
- 32
- International
- 38
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 82 | 77 | 95 | 23 | 4 | 189 | 1 | 348 |
| Year 10 | 91 | 78 | 97 | 6 | 5 | 180 | 2 | 325 |
| Year 11 | 82 | 77 | 93 | 14 | 5 | 169 | 17 | 342 |
| Year 12 | 55 | 57 | 70 | 14 | 2 | 148 | 5 | 265 |
| Year 13+ | 53 | 35 | 81 | 16 | 2 | 122 | 4 | 258 |
| Total | 363 | 324 | 436 | 73 | 18 | 808 | 29 | 1538 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 13 | 62 | 57 | 70 | 17 | 4 | 149 | 1 | 267 |
| Age 14 | 88 | 74 | 97 | 11 | 5 | 185 | 1 | 328 |
| Age 15 | 93 | 92 | 102 | 12 | 3 | 173 | 2 | 350 |
| Age 16 | 55 | 55 | 73 | 11 | 4 | 150 | 12 | 271 |
| Age 17 | 58 | 40 | 62 | 17 | 1 | 128 | 8 | 253 |
| Age 18 | 5 | 3 | 27 | 1 | 1 | 22 | 3 | 55 |
| Age 19+ | 1 | 2 | 4 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 11 |
| Total | 363 | 324 | 436 | 73 | 18 | 808 | 29 | 1538 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
90.2%
| Rutherford College | 90.2% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 91.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 88.7% |
| Māori | 82.1% |
| Pacific | 81.3% |
| Asian | 95.1% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 92.9% |
| Total | 90.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
83.5%
| Rutherford College | 83.5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 83.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 83.5% |
| Māori | 73.1% |
| Pacific | 70.8% |
| Asian | 92.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 86.4% |
| Total | 83.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
69%
| Rutherford College | 69% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 71.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 66.2% |
| Māori | 51.3% |
| Pacific | 50% |
| Asian | 81.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 72.1% |
| Total | 69% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
20.2%
| Rutherford College | 20.2% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 23.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 16.5% |
| Māori | 21.8% |
| Pacific | 8.3% |
| Asian | 14.6% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 25.7% |
| Total | 20.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
88.6%
| Rutherford College | 88.6% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 89.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 87.2% |
| Māori | 78.2% |
| Pacific | 79.2% |
| Asian | 95.1% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 91.4% |
| Total | 88.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
25.5%
| Rutherford College | 25.5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 29.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 11.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 38.9% |
| Māori | 49.6% |
| Pacific | 37.8% |
| Asian | 11.3% |
| Other | 8.8% |
| European/Pākehā | 20.2% |
| Total | 25.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
1.4%
| Rutherford College | 1.4% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 2.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0.7% |
| Māori | 3.9% |
| Pacific | 4.7% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0.6% |
| Total | 1.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
1.7%
| Rutherford College | 1.7% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 1.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 2.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0.8% |
| Māori | 4.8% |
| Pacific | 5.4% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0.8% |
| Total | 1.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 459
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1961
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 11 December 2024
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (11 December 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 11 December 2024 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO has identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
ensuring information on authorised staff members responsible for physical restraint is made available to the school community and non-teaching staff authorised to use physical restraint are notified in writing [Education and Training Act 2020, s. 101, 5. (3), Section 102.3]
ensuring a risk assessment process is completed and documented for all staff before appointment [Section 599, Education and Training Act 2020].
The board has not yet addressed the areas of non-compliance identified.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 1607 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
March 2017
1303
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 15 May 2017
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 11 December 2024 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa .
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
Rutherford College is a co-educational secondary school that provides education for students in Years 9 to 13 and is located on Te Atatū Peninsula, west Auckland. The school vision is ‘ Tohea ’ (To strive for personal excellence), and its values are Whakaaute (Respect), Manaakitanga (Responsibility), Pono (Integrity) and Kairangi (Excellence).
Since the last ERO review there have been changes to the senior leadership team.
There are two parts to this report.
Part A: An evaluative summary of learner success and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction, including any education in Rumaki /bilingual settings.
Part B: The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Current State
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
The school is working towards equitable and excellent outcomes.
A small majority of students are achieving at curriculum expectations in Years 9 and 10.
The majority of students achieve National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) Levels 1, 2 and 3 and less than half achieve University Entrance (UE); there is significant disparity for Māori and Pacific students at Levels 1, 2, 3 and UE.
Learners with additional needs are provided targeted support and a large majority achieve NCEA in Years 11 to 13.
A small majority of students attend school regularly; the school is not yet meeting the Ministry of Education target for regular attendance.
Conditions to support learner success
Leadership is establishing effective processes within the school to support student success.
School leaders are beginning to set and pursue improvement-focused goals to raise overall student achievement and improve equity.
Leaders and teachers are taking steps to improve the quality and consistency of teaching to support better student progress and achievement.
Leaders are beginning to align professional learning needs and processes with strategic goals to ensure improvement in learner outcomes.
The school is taking steps to provide students with consistent quality teaching and a meaningful and relevant curriculum.
Teachers are beginning to implement effective teaching practices more consistently to better engage students in learning.
Some learning areas are creating a positive, mutually respectful environment where learning is maximised; the school is considering ways to promote this schoolwide.
The curriculum is beginning to reflect local contexts and build on learners’ experiences, knowledge and understanding.
The school is establishing the conditions required to meet key strategic priorities.
Teachers are participating in professional learning in the teaching of reading and writing and te ao Māori to improve strategies for student success.
Teachers are beginning to strengthen inclusive practices to support students’ sense of belonging and improve attendance.
The board is taking steps to represent, serve and work with the school community to develop the school’s vision, values and strategic direction.
Leaders of te ao Māori within the school increasingly enact their role in giving effect to Te Tiriti o Waitangi to ensure Māori students’ success as Māori .
Part B: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
monitor and support students’ academic success through tracking and purposeful interventions
embed teachers’ active participation in professional learning in teaching reading and writing for Years 9 to 10
embed the consistent use of effective teaching strategies to engage students in successful learning, raise overall achievement and reduce disparity for groups of students
continue to develop a meaningful and responsive curriculum including mātauranga Māori that engages and challenges students to succeed in their learning
improve rates of regular attendance to meet Ministry of Education targets.
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows.
Within three months:
collect and analyse baseline data to improve the monitoring of students’ academic success, engagement, attendance and retention
continue teachers’ active participation in professional learning in reading and writing in Years 9 to 10
complete the design of effective classroom practice guidelines to promote teachers’ consistent use of effective teaching strategies.
Within six months:
continue to develop a meaningful and responsive curriculum that engages and challenges students to succeed in their learning
implement professional learning in teaching of reading and writing for Years 9 to 10 to support improved progress and achievement for students
implement effective classroom practice guidelines to promote teachers’ consistent use of effective teaching strategies.
Every six months:
review and respond to students’ academic achievement, engagement, attendance and retention data to help the school know what is working and for who
review the development a meaningful and responsive curriculum including mātauranga Māori that engages and challenges students to succeed in their learning
review the quality and implementation of classroom practice guidelines to promote teachers’ consistent use of effective teaching strategies.
Annually:
evaluate teachers’ implementation of professional learning in reading and writing in Years 9 to 10 to ensure ongoing progress and improvement in achievement outcomes
evaluate the quality of the school curriculum to engage and challenge students to succeed in their learning to track and monitor improvement in achievement, attendance and engagement and inform improvement priorities
evaluate the effectiveness of classroom practice guidelines, its impact on students’ retention and success to help the school know what is working and for who; use this information to make further improvements to programmes and practices.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in:
improved levels of attendance, engagement, retention and achievement for all groups of students including increased parity for Māori and Pacific learners
increased consistency of teachers’ use of effective teaching practice schoolwide
comprehensive reporting and better use of achievement data at all year levels to better inform effective teaching and a responsive curriculum.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
11 December 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).