Rudolf Steiner School (Chch)
Composite · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 282
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 19 Ombersley Terrace, Opawa, Christchurch
- Territorial authority
- Christchurch City
- Phone
- 03-3370514
- admin@ch.steiner.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Christchurch · schools in Canterbury
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
This school has an enrolment zone, but Ministry of Education has not published a mapped boundary we could load for it. Contact the school directly to check your address.
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Special character
- - Respect for the unique individuality and recognition of the spiritual essence of each student at evolving stages of maturation. This is our Special Character
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
The Christchurch Rudolf Steiner School invites international students into our upper school community.
- Accepted, as stated
- Voluntary donation
- $300 per student per year
Board of Trustees Contribution - Voluntary $300 per student per year
- $300 per student per year
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 256
- Māori
- 37
- Pacific
- 3
- Asian
- 27
- MELAA
- 10
- Other
- 6
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 9 |
| Year 02 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 16 | 0 | 16 |
| Year 03 | 6 | 0 | 4 | 2 | 0 | 33 | 0 | 33 |
| Year 04 | 3 | 0 | 4 | 1 | 0 | 27 | 0 | 27 |
| Year 05 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 26 | 0 | 30 |
| Year 06 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 27 | 0 | 27 |
| Year 07 | 6 | 2 | 8 | 1 | 0 | 36 | 0 | 39 |
| Year 08 | 1 | 0 | 6 | 2 | 0 | 20 | 0 | 24 |
| Year 09 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 18 | 0 | 18 |
| Year 10 | 7 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 20 | 0 | 23 |
| Year 11 | 4 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 16 | 0 | 18 |
| Year 12 | 7 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 18 | 0 | 20 |
| Year 13+ | 2 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 15 | 1 | 16 |
| Total | 49 | 6 | 33 | 10 | 1 | 280 | 1 | 300 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 06 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 24 | 0 | 25 |
| Age 07 | 6 | 0 | 4 | 2 | 0 | 33 | 0 | 33 |
| Age 08 | 3 | 0 | 5 | 1 | 0 | 30 | 0 | 30 |
| Age 09 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 24 | 0 | 28 |
| Age 10 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 24 | 0 | 24 |
| Age 11 | 4 | 1 | 7 | 1 | 0 | 28 | 0 | 31 |
| Age 12 | 1 | 0 | 5 | 2 | 0 | 16 | 0 | 20 |
| Age 13 | 4 | 1 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 29 | 0 | 29 |
| Age 14 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 13 |
| Age 15 | 9 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 18 | 0 | 21 |
| Age 16 | 2 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 17 | 0 | 18 |
| Age 17 | 7 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 18 | 0 | 19 |
| Age 18 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 1 | 9 |
| Total | 49 | 6 | 33 | 10 | 1 | 280 | 1 | 300 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
90.5%
| Rudolf Steiner School (Chch) | 90.5% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 87.1% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 84.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 100% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 95% |
| Total | 90.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
76.2%
| Rudolf Steiner School (Chch) | 76.2% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 79.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 69.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 87.5% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 80% |
| Total | 76.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
52.4%
| Rudolf Steiner School (Chch) | 52.4% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 59% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 53.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 50% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 55% |
| Total | 52.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
42.9%
| Rudolf Steiner School (Chch) | 42.9% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 13.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 46.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 37.5% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 45% |
| Total | 42.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
90.5%
| Rudolf Steiner School (Chch) | 90.5% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 83.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 84.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 100% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 95% |
| Total | 90.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
3.1%
| Rudolf Steiner School (Chch) | 3.1% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 38.3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 26.5% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 5.9% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 3.2% |
| Total | 3.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
3.1%
| Rudolf Steiner School (Chch) | 3.1% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 3.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 3.2% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 6% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 3.2% |
| Total | 3.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Rudolf Steiner School (Chch) | 0% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 1.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 1.2% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 410
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 20 April 1974
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 5
- Last reviewed
- 25 May 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (25 May 2023)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 25 May 2023 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO and the board have identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
Health, Safety and Welfare policies and procedures that facilitate the provision of a healthy and safe environment for students and staff and that protects their welfare required review.
[Health and Safety at Work Act 2015]
The board has since addressed the areas of non-compliance identified.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 282 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
June 2016
368
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 25 August 2016
September 2012
391
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 6 December 2012
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 25 May 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within two years of the Education Review Office and Rudolf Steiner School (Chch) working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Christchurch Rudolf Steiner School is a special character area school located in Ōpāwa , Christchurch. The school delivers the Steiner Waldorf Curriculum along with the New Zealand Curriculum . It caters for learners from kindergarten to Year 13. A new principal was appointed in 2022.
Rudolf Steiner School (Chch)’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are to:
meet the needs and aspirations of the community underpinned by the special character of the school
promote a culture of high expectation in an inclusive and responsive learning environment
form effective partnerships and community connections to develop a localised curriculum and bring prominence to Te Tiriti o Waitangi .
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Rudolf Steiner School (Chch)’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate how well the school is using student progress and achievement information to meet the needs of individual learners more effectively.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
the school’s own internal evaluation process has identified this aspect of practice as requiring further development
the school has a range of achievement information and has identified the need to use it more effectively to inform teaching and learning
the school intends to identify the most effective assessment practices for its special character and area school context.
The school expects to see:
greater consistency in assessment practices, including use of data, moderation and assessment
increasingly equitable and excellent outcomes for all learners
assessment practices that consider the localised context.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to evaluate how well they are using student progress and achievement information to meet the needs of individual learners more effectively.
an established special character and an approach to learning and assessment that involves the whole school community
leadership that has prioritised school improvement through a process of internal evaluation
the availability of a range of qualitative and quantitative information which reflects the holistic development of each learner.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
building teacher knowledge and practice in assessment and moderation to meet individual learner needs
building capacity in the school community to evaluate practice for effectiveness and sustainability.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
25 May 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
This school has a kindergarten onsite.
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 5 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).