Roxburgh Area School
Composite · State
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 118
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 78 Scotland Street, Roxburgh
- Territorial authority
- Central Otago District
- Phone
- 03-4468460
- mail@roxburgh.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Otago
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
Not stated on the school’s website.
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- swimming
Students from New Entrants to Year 13 are involved in school-wide sporting events including swimming, athletics, triathlon and cross country
- athletics
Students from New Entrants to Year 13 are involved in school-wide sporting events including swimming, athletics, triathlon and cross country
- triathlon
Students from New Entrants to Year 13 are involved in school-wide sporting events including swimming, athletics, triathlon and cross country
- cross country
Students from New Entrants to Year 13 are involved in school-wide sporting events including swimming, athletics, triathlon and cross country
- Netball
Netball, rugby, basketball, volleyball and touch rugby are all offered as team sports.
- rugby
Netball, rugby, basketball, volleyball and touch rugby are all offered as team sports.
- basketball
Netball, rugby, basketball, volleyball and touch rugby are all offered as team sports.
- volleyball
Netball, rugby, basketball, volleyball and touch rugby are all offered as team sports.
- touch rugby
Netball, rugby, basketball, volleyball and touch rugby are all offered as team sports.
- annual Southern Area Schools Tournament
A highlight for our senior students is the annual Southern Area Schools Tournament
- Te Kapa Haka
Te Kapa Haka is our performing arts group that attracts students from all age groups.
- Polyfests
as well as participating in Polyfests
- Māori student leadership group
We have a Māori student leadership group made up of interested students who promote the values and integrity of the Māori culture and language to the rest of the school.
- productions
Students have the opportunity to perform in productions, play musical instruments and showcase their theatrical skills.
- swimming
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 89
- Māori
- 33
- Pacific
- 7
- Asian
- 5
- MELAA
- 0
- Other
- 0
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 9 |
| Year 02 | 3 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 8 |
| Year 03 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 7 |
| Year 04 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 6 |
| Year 05 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 8 |
| Year 06 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 11 |
| Year 07 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 9 |
| Year 08 | 4 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 11 |
| Year 09 | 5 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 13 |
| Year 10 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 7 |
| Year 11 | 3 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 10 |
| Year 12 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 13+ | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 10 |
| Total | 34 | 7 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 91 | 0 | 121 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 9 |
| Age 06 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 7 |
| Age 07 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 8 |
| Age 08 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 6 |
| Age 09 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 8 |
| Age 10 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 11 |
| Age 11 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 4 |
| Age 12 | 5 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 14 |
| Age 13 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 14 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 9 |
| Age 15 | 5 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 16 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 17 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 11 |
| Age 18 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Total | 34 | 7 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 91 | 0 | 121 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
100%
| Roxburgh Area School | 100% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 90.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 100% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
100%
| Roxburgh Area School | 100% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 84.8% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 100% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
90.9%
| Roxburgh Area School | 90.9% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 65.5% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 83.3% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 90.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
54.5%
| Roxburgh Area School | 54.5% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 20.4% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 60% |
|---|---|
| Male | 50% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 54.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
100%
| Roxburgh Area School | 100% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 85.3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 100% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
14.7%
| Roxburgh Area School | 14.7% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 36.8% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 26.5% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 27.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 20.9% |
| Total | 14.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Roxburgh Area School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 4.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 3.2% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Roxburgh Area School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Otago Region | 2% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 1.2% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 473
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Rural settlement
- Date opened
- 31 January 1978
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 10 May 2024
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (10 May 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 10 May 2024 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 10 May 2024 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
Roxburgh Area School is a rural school, located in Central Otago. It provides education for learners in Years 1 to 13. The school’s values are respect | whakaute ; integrity | pono ; personal excellence | te hirango whaiaro ; positive relationships | whakawhanaungatanga ; engagement | mamahi ; and responsibility | haepapa .
There are three parts to this report.
Part A: A summary of the findings from the most recent Education Review Office (ERO) report and/or subsequent evaluation.
Part B: An evaluative summary of learner success and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction, including any education in Rumaki /bilingual settings.
Part C: The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Previous Improvement Goals
Over the previous two years, the school has been focused on addressing disparity in achievement outcomes for some students, through more culturally responsive learning programmes and teaching approaches and embedding a formal evaluation process.
Expected Improvements and Findings
In this time the school expected to see much better academic results for groups of students, particularly some Māori learners, who were not experiencing enough success. How well the changes to teaching were improving achievement would be closely monitored through rigorous evaluation.
The school has introduced targeted literacy and numeracy strategies and programmes and is consistently implementing these to address the disparity in outcome for some students in Years 1 to 8.
School achievement information is well analysed and used. It shows disparity is significantly reducing in mathematics and, to a lesser extent, in writing. Equity is increasing.
The school’s Te Ao Māori Action Plan is in the early stages of implementation. Cultural capacity is building. Te ao Māori is becoming an accepted part of the school’s everyday life. A stronger sense of belonging for all students is evident.
Leaders and teachers have strengthened evaluation practice to better know if their new teaching strategies are working, for which students, and why or why not. A rigorous, formal, established process focuses on student outcomes. This needs to become well-embedded and used consistently.
The greatest shift that occurred in response to the school’s action is the growing understanding of te ao Māori by staff, students and the school community.
Part B: Current State
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
Most students at Roxburgh Area School are engaged, make good progress and achieve very well.
The school’s 2023 achievement information shows that the majority of students achieved at or greater than the expected levels in reading and writing. Overall outcomes for students in mathematics were significantly lower than those for literacy.
There is increasing equity for groups of learners.
All students who needed extra support to succeed in literacy, numeracy and the National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) made better than expected progress over the course of the year.
NCEA achievement rates are very good, however the school is striving for students to achieve more excellence grades and improved endorsement rates.
Conditions to support learner success
Strategic and effective leadership drives improvements for learners.
Student achievement data is used to identify students at risk of not achieving and to strategically target supports through a Student Achievement Action Plan .
Leaders and teachers engage with, learn through, and use evaluation to assist decision-making for improvement.
The school is embedding a culturally sustaining curriculum and increasingly high-quality teaching practices.
Students benefit from teachers who know them as individuals and intentionally target teaching and programmes to meet their needs.
Teachers include local context into teaching and learning programmes and the vocational pathways in the senior school.
Key conditions to support success and improvement are well-aligned and embedded.
Systems are in place to quickly identify individual students who need extra support or extension and provide them with tailored learning programmes.
Improved use of a formal evaluation process helps leaders and teachers to better know the impact of teaching strategies and programmes for student success.
The school establishing positive partnerships with whānau and iwi with the purpose of responding to the aspirations of the educational outcomes whānau Māori want for their children.
Part C: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
target mentoring of all Year 9 to 13 students for success in NCEA
raise student achievement in mathematics and writing
fully embed a formal evaluation process across all strategic priorities
continue to implement the intentions of their Te Ao Māori Action Plan.
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows:
Within six months:
Teachers, with students and whānau | parents, establish individual academic goals for mentoring for students in Years 9 to 13.
Teachers undertake professional development to raise achievement in mathematics and writing.
Every six months:
Leaders, with staff, track and monitor the progress of NCEA students towards reaching their agreed goals.
Leaders, with staff, report to the board on student achievement in reading, writing and mathematics, and respond to emerging needs as required.
Teachers share best teaching practice in literacy and numeracy across the school to support students’ success in the new literacy and numeracy co-requisites for NCEA.
Annually:
Teachers use a reflective, evaluative process to find out about the impact of the teaching practice as part of their Professional Growth Cycle.
Leaders evaluate the impact of Te Ao Māori Action Plan by including the perspectives of students, whānau and iwi.
Curriculum leaders provide evaluative reports to the board to inform strategic resourcing.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in:
improved outcomes in mathematics and writing across the school
students able to talk about their academic progress with clarity
improved rates of NCEA endorsements for senior students
all learners supported to succeed at their point of challenge, as identified in the Student Achievement Action Plan.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki.
Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
10 May 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).