Rotorua Boys' High School
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 1,154
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Boys School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 1612 Pukuatua Street, Rotorua
- Territorial authority
- Rotorua District
- Phone
- 07-3486169
- info@rbhs.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.rbhs.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Rotorua · schools in Bay of Plenty
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Students are expected to wear the correct uniform at all times during the school day and when travelling to and from school.
- Required
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- 1st XV Rugby
- 1st XV Rugby - won the National Secondary Schools’ Championship in 2015 and 2025
- Senior Touch
- Senior Touch - won the National Secondary Schools' Championship in December 2015, 2017 and 2020.
- U15 Sevens
- U15 Sevens - won the Super 8 School's Championship in 2024 and 2025.
- U18 Sevens
- U18 Sevens - won the Super 8 School's Championship in 2025.
- J16 and J19 Waka Ama
- J16 and J19 Waka Ama - won National titles in 2024, 2025 and 2026.
- Senior Basketball
- Senior Basketball - placed top four at the National Secondary Schools Championship in 2015, 2022 and 2023.
- Senior Golf
- Senior Golf - won the National Secondary Schools' Championship in 2024
- 1st XI Hockey
- 1st XI Hockey - gained entry into the Rankin Cup in 2025.
- Senior Futsal
- Senior Futsal - runners up in the National Secondary Schools' Championship in 2025.
- 1st XV Rugby
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 509
- Māori
- 774
- Pacific
- 164
- Asian
- 82
- MELAA
- 12
- Other
- 17
- International
- 11
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 183 | 39 | 17 | 0 | 8 | 119 | 1 | 271 |
| Year 10 | 180 | 40 | 11 | 3 | 5 | 120 | 2 | 260 |
| Year 11 | 189 | 32 | 15 | 2 | 1 | 120 | 3 | 268 |
| Year 12 | 134 | 30 | 14 | 1 | 0 | 94 | 3 | 204 |
| Year 13+ | 105 | 20 | 16 | 1 | 0 | 51 | 7 | 151 |
| Total | 791 | 161 | 73 | 7 | 14 | 504 | 16 | 1154 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Age 13 | 143 | 30 | 13 | 0 | 6 | 92 | 0 | 209 |
| Age 14 | 186 | 38 | 8 | 2 | 6 | 121 | 1 | 258 |
| Age 15 | 185 | 38 | 14 | 2 | 1 | 115 | 4 | 268 |
| Age 16 | 148 | 29 | 20 | 2 | 1 | 106 | 2 | 225 |
| Age 17 | 110 | 19 | 9 | 0 | 0 | 51 | 3 | 147 |
| Age 18 | 19 | 6 | 7 | 1 | 0 | 19 | 4 | 42 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Total | 791 | 161 | 73 | 7 | 14 | 504 | 16 | 1154 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
86.5%
| Rotorua Boys' High School | 86.5% |
|---|---|
| Bay of Plenty Region | 87.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 86.5% |
| Māori | 86.2% |
| Pacific | 86.1% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 81.8% |
| Total | 86.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
72.7%
| Rotorua Boys' High School | 72.7% |
|---|---|
| Bay of Plenty Region | 78.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 72.7% |
| Māori | 73% |
| Pacific | 75% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 66.4% |
| Total | 72.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
50.9%
| Rotorua Boys' High School | 50.9% |
|---|---|
| Bay of Plenty Region | 56.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 50.9% |
| Māori | 51.5% |
| Pacific | 55.6% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 47.3% |
| Total | 50.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
12.7%
| Rotorua Boys' High School | 12.7% |
|---|---|
| Bay of Plenty Region | 18.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 12.7% |
| Māori | 15.3% |
| Pacific | 11.1% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 10.9% |
| Total | 12.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
65.2%
| Rotorua Boys' High School | 65.2% |
|---|---|
| Bay of Plenty Region | 77.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 65.2% |
| Māori | 64.3% |
| Pacific | 66.7% |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 59.1% |
| Total | 65.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
7.6%
| Rotorua Boys' High School | 7.6% |
|---|---|
| Bay of Plenty Region | 37.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 7.6% |
| Māori | 9.8% |
| Pacific | 3.6% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 7.6% |
| Total | 7.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Rotorua Boys' High School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Bay of Plenty Region | 3.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Rotorua Boys' High School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Bay of Plenty Region | 1.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 504
- Boarding
- Yes
- Language of instruction
- Some students taught in te reo Māori
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 31 December 1926
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 5
- Last reviewed
- 18 October 2022
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (18 October 2022)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 18 October 2022 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 1154 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
March 2015
803
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 11 May 2015
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 18 October 2022 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 10 months of the Education Review Office and Rotorua Boys’ High School working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Rotorua Boys’ High School, also known as Raukura , is located in central Rotorua . It caters for boys in Years 9 to13 and 140 are boarding students. The school’s programme is based around six key values – Ngā Uara o Raukura , and eight key learning hearts - Ngā Pūmanawa Ako o Raukura , that together embody the good Raukura man – Tāne Raukura.
Rotorua Boys’ High School’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
improving outcomes for Māori ākonga
establishing new Trades Pathways for senior students
introducing six subjects at NCEA and support access to a wider range of pathways for students
promoting literacy/numeracy across the school
introducing de-streaming
normalising Te Reo me ōna Tikanga
promoting the Raukura localised curriculum
promoting wellbeing and attendance for all students.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Rotorua Boys’ High School’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate the impact of the strategic goals on learner outcomes that are being implemented in 2022.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
these goals are significant strategic priorities to attain equitable and excellent outcomes for all students
to gather a range of evidence that will allow the school to measure impact on the desired student outcomes.
The school expects to see:
continued growth in academic outcomes especially for those at risk of not achieving.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to evaluate the impact of strategic goals on learner outcomes:
a well-established, collaborative and robust school-wide evaluation process
highly effective leadership across all areas of the school
in recent years equity concerns and academic outcomes addressed to provide a strong and positive base for initiatives
well-established educationally powerful connections, communication and relationships, and with Māori whānau, hapū, iwi and parents, families and communities, to support student learning and outcomes.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
implementing the new requirements of NCEA, specifically the corequisites around literacy and numeracy, and building a strong base for common assessment activities
continuing a focus on the wellbeing of students and staff based on Te Tiriti o Waitangi and partnerships with whānau and parents
further normalising Te Reo me ōna Tikanga and establishing in 2023, NCEA Level 1 Te Reo Māori as a core subject for all Year 11 ākonga
creating a pathway for tikanga Māori to be added as a core subject for all Year 12 ākonga in 2023.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Phil Cowie Director Review and Improvement Services (Central) Central Region | Te Tai Pūtahi Nui
18 October 2022
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 5 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).