Rodney College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 368
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 287 Rodney Street, Wellsford
- Territorial authority
- Rodney Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-4236030
- eo@rodneycollege.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 276
- Māori
- 144
- Pacific
- 31
- Asian
- 28
- MELAA
- 8
- Other
- 3
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 32 | 4 | 3 | 2 | 0 | 66 | 0 | 85 |
| Year 10 | 36 | 7 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 53 | 0 | 75 |
| Year 11 | 34 | 6 | 5 | 3 | 1 | 50 | 0 | 72 |
| Year 12 | 21 | 6 | 11 | 0 | 1 | 37 | 0 | 59 |
| Year 13+ | 8 | 6 | 7 | 0 | 1 | 28 | 0 | 37 |
| Total | 131 | 29 | 31 | 5 | 3 | 234 | 0 | 328 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 13 | 26 | 3 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 54 | 0 | 68 |
| Age 14 | 32 | 5 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 55 | 0 | 74 |
| Age 15 | 38 | 9 | 6 | 1 | 1 | 47 | 0 | 71 |
| Age 16 | 24 | 5 | 10 | 2 | 1 | 46 | 0 | 67 |
| Age 17 | 10 | 7 | 7 | 0 | 1 | 27 | 0 | 40 |
| Age 18 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 6 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Total | 131 | 29 | 31 | 5 | 3 | 234 | 0 | 328 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
83.9%
| Rodney College | 83.9% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 89.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 78.8% |
| Māori | 72.7% |
| Pacific | 85.7% |
| Asian | 66.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 95.2% |
| Total | 83.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
69.4%
| Rodney College | 69.4% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 75.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 63.6% |
| Māori | 50% |
| Pacific | 71.4% |
| Asian | 66.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 76.2% |
| Total | 69.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
50%
| Rodney College | 50% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 55.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 45.5% |
| Māori | 27.3% |
| Pacific | 57.1% |
| Asian | 55.6% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 59.5% |
| Total | 50% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
1.6%
| Rodney College | 1.6% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 3.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 2.4% |
| Total | 1.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
71%
| Rodney College | 71% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 82.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 60.6% |
| Māori | 54.5% |
| Pacific | 71.4% |
| Asian | 66.7% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 78.6% |
| Total | 71% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
132%
| Rodney College | 132% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 29.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 81.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 187.1% |
| Māori | 200.7% |
| Pacific | 22.6% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 120.7% |
| Total | 132% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
9.1%
| Rodney College | 9.1% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 8.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 9.5% |
| Māori | 17.1% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 6.2% |
| Total | 9.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
5.5%
| Rodney College | 5.5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 1.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 3.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 7.7% |
| Māori | 11.4% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 5% |
| Total | 5.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 489
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Small urban area
- Date opened
- 4 February 1962
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 9 May 2025
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (9 May 2025)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 9 May 2025 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO has identified the following area of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
renew police vets for all non-teaching staff every three years. [s104 Education and Training Act 2020]
The board has since addressed the area of non-compliance identified.
ERO and the board have also identified the following areas of non-compliance:
consult regularly with the school’s Māori community to develop and make known school policies, plans and targets for improving the progress and achievement of Māori students [s127(1)(d) and s139 Education and Training Act 2020]
ensure that high risk activities are clearly identified in education outside the classroom (EOTC) approvals prior to board sign off. [Health and Safety at Work Act 2015]
The board has since taken steps to address the areas of non-compliance identified.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 368 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
August 2019
388
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 12 September 2019
April 2016
370
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 16 June 2016
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 9 May 2025 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
Rodney College is located in Wellsford, Auckland and provides education for students in Years 9 to 13. The board appointed a new principal at the beginning of 2025. The college’s vision is Educating learners for a better tomorrow | Poipoia ngā mokopuna. Ngā rangatira mō āpōpō. Ka tīhei! Tīhei mauriora . This vision is underpinned by the four values of Manaakitanga, Ako, Hauora and Whanaungatanga .
There are two parts to this report.
Part A: An evaluative summary of learner success and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction, including any education in Rumaki /bilingual settings.
Part B: The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Current State
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
The school is working towards excellent and equitable outcomes for learners.
A large majority of students achieve the National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) at Levels 1 and 3, with most students achieving NCEA Level 2; a small majority achieve University Entrance.
A large majority of students in Years 9 and 10 achieve at or above the expected curriculum levels for literacy; most achieve this in mathematics.
Less than half of students attend school regularly; the school is yet to meet the Government’s target for regular attendance.
Conditions to support learner success
Leadership increasingly fosters a professional culture committed to high quality teaching and learning.
Collaborative leadership across the school supports the implementation of the values system and provides a cohesive approach to improving student wellbeing.
Leaders appropriately use the individual expertise and skills of staff to further strengthen consistency of teaching and learning.
Leadership establishes collaborative networks and responsive support programmes, leading to increased opportunities for learner success, particularly for students at risk of underachieving.
The school is strengthening a responsive curriculum that meets the many different needs of learners.
Positive relationships between teachers and students help promote a calm and inclusive learning environment.
Teachers appropriately identify students requiring additional support and implement interventions that address their needs and minimise barriers to learning.
Teachers are taking steps to integrate te reo Māori and tikanga Māori into class programmes, giving greater effect to Te Tiriti o Waitangi and increasing student understanding of Aotearoa New Zealand.
School conditions that underpin ongoing school improvement continue to be established.
Leaders and teachers are developing educational partnerships with a range of external agencies that increasingly support the quality of teaching practice.
Leaders and teachers work in collaboration with parents and whānau to support learners with complex needs.
Leadership and the board are yet to actively engage with whānau , hapū and iwi about the aspirations for their children; the school recognises this as a next step to enhance learning partnerships.
Part B: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
develop and implement a plan to increase rates of regular student attendance
strengthen consistency of teaching practice through professional learning opportunities focused on responsive and relational teaching approaches that increase student achievement
provide regular opportunities for students, whānau, hapū and iwi to share their aspirations, increasing students’ sense of belonging and informing ongoing strategic planning
track and support student pathways so that every student has clear and meaningful next steps through their secondary schooling.
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows.
Within six months:
develop and implement an attendance plan and continue to monitor and communicate expectations to students and whānau
gather student, whānau, hapū and iwi voice to identify learner outcomes and aspirations and guide next steps
Every six months:
review and evaluate the impact of the plan for improving regular attendance
provide professional learning opportunities for all staff to embed responsive and relational teaching and learning approaches
analyse and respond to information gathered from students, whānau, hapū and iwi to enhance learning partnerships
Annually:
review and report to the board on student attendance, progress and achievement information to inform strategic decision making and planning
evaluate the impact of teaching and learning approaches on students’ engagement, progress and achievement and use this to support next steps
evaluate the way in which the school tracks and supports student pathways to identify future actions.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in:
improved rates of regular attendance for all learners
consistent high quality teaching and learning approaches that respond to learners’ culture, language and identity and increase student achievement
enhanced learning partnerships between school staff, students, whānau hapū and iwi that support ongoing student success, particularly for Māori learners
students who have a clear understanding of their pathway through school that enables them to achieve personal success.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Director of Schools (Acting)
9 May 2025
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).