Reefton Area School
Composite · State
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 175
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 10 Victory Street, Reefton
- Territorial authority
- Buller District
- Phone
- 03-7328421
- office@ras.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.ras.school.nz/
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in West Coast
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 134
- Māori
- 37
- Pacific
- 2
- Asian
- 15
- MELAA
- 5
- Other
- 0
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 7 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 15 | 0 | 16 |
| Year 02 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 11 |
| Year 03 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 21 | 0 | 23 |
| Year 04 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 05 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 13 |
| Year 06 | 5 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 15 |
| Year 07 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 10 |
| Year 08 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 11 |
| Year 09 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 15 | 0 | 17 |
| Year 10 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 14 |
| Year 11 | 3 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 13 |
| Year 12 | 5 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 13+ | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 9 |
| Total | 41 | 0 | 15 | 4 | 0 | 142 | 0 | 176 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 7 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 15 | 0 | 16 |
| Age 06 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 07 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 23 | 0 | 25 |
| Age 08 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 11 |
| Age 09 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 14 |
| Age 10 | 5 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 14 |
| Age 11 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 9 |
| Age 12 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 14 |
| Age 13 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 13 | 0 | 15 |
| Age 14 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 14 |
| Age 15 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 16 | 6 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 16 |
| Age 17 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 18 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 |
| Total | 41 | 0 | 15 | 4 | 0 | 142 | 0 | 176 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
100%
| Reefton Area School | 100% |
|---|---|
| West Coast Region | 84% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 100% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
100%
| Reefton Area School | 100% |
|---|---|
| West Coast Region | 70.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 100% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
58.3%
| Reefton Area School | 58.3% |
|---|---|
| West Coast Region | 42.3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 28.6% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 55.6% |
| Total | 58.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
0%
| Reefton Area School | 0% |
|---|---|
| West Coast Region | 14% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
66.7%
| Reefton Area School | 66.7% |
|---|---|
| West Coast Region | 67.5% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 80% |
|---|---|
| Male | 57.1% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 77.8% |
| Total | 66.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Reefton Area School | 0% |
|---|---|
| West Coast Region | 76.2% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 26.5% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Reefton Area School | 0% |
|---|---|
| West Coast Region | 4.5% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 3.2% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Reefton Area School | 0% |
|---|---|
| West Coast Region | 2% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 1.2% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 504
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Small urban area
- Date opened
- 31 December 2003
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 31 May 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (31 May 2023)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 31 May 2023 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 175 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
June 2019
162
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 7 August 2019
February 2015
192
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 2 April 2015
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 31 May 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 12 months of the Education Review Office and Reefton Area School working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Reefton Area School provides education for students in Years 1 to 14 in the town of Reefton.
Reefton Area School’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are to:
promote excellence and equity in achievement for all students and accelerate the learning of students performing below expectations
leverage effective culturally responsive teacher practice, teaching strategies and learning opportunities to engage learners and enrich learning
enhance pastoral and student support systems to maximise the opportunities students have to be successful in their chosen pathway and develop into self-managing, self-regulated learners.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Reefton Area School’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate to what extent the delivery of the localised curriculum supports equity and excellence in student engagement and achievement in reading, writing and mathematics in Years 1 to 10 and NCEA.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is to:
improve student achievement outcomes in reading, writing and mathematics in Years 1 to 10 and NCEA
implement a localised curriculum which is responsive to the aspirations of students, parents and whānau
strengthen school-wide practices for tracking, monitoring and responding to progress and achievement data.
The school expects to use the outcome of the evaluation to inform a coordinated approach to teaching and learning. Ongoing monitoring and evaluation of achievement, valued outcomes and other indicator data will show improved student outcomes in terms of achievement and engagement in reading, writing and mathematics in Years 1 to 10 and NCEA.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to improve student outcomes in terms of achievement and engagement.
Teachers work in a supportive professional environment that encourages ongoing improvement in teaching and learning.
Teachers are engaged in professional learning focused on addressing student learning needs.
The school, board of trustees and community enjoy reciprocal relationships that support students’ learning and wellbeing.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
ensuring that the localised curriculum is responsive to the aspirations of students, parents and whānau
using internal evaluation to support the quality, consistency and coherence of the school’s assessment and teacher practice across the school
strengthening the roles of form teachers in supporting attendance, behaviour and student achievement
mentoring and supporting staff to promote student wellbeing and engagement.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
31 May 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).