Rathkeale College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 316
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Boys School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 217 Willow Park Drive, Opaki, Masterton
- Territorial authority
- Masterton District
- Phone
- 06-3700175
- principal@rathkeale.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Wellington Region
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
Not stated on the school’s website.
- Getting there
- Rathkeale town bus (Tranzit): starts at St Matthews 8.00am, stops at 1st Street, arrives Rathkeale 8.10am (Wednesday: 8.40am from St Matthew’s, arriving 8.50); Lower Valley students use the Tranzit Lower Valley Service from Featherston 7.00am, Greytown 7.15, Carterton 7.30 to Masterton and link to the town bus
Bus Information School Point of Contact: Michelle Norris – Tranzit Point of Contact: Brady Powell (06 370 6600). | Morning | Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday | Wednesday only | | Masterton | Rathkeale town bus starts at St Matthews (8.00am), stops at 1st Street, arrives Rathkeale (8.10). | Rathkeale town bus starts at St Matthew’s (8.40am), arrives Rathkeale (8.50) | | Lower Valley | Use Tranzit Lower Valley Service: (TLVS) Featherston (7.00am) Greytown (7.15) Carterton (7.30) – Masterton then link to Rathkeale town bus at St Matthews Rathkeale town bus starts at St Matthews (8.00am), stops at 1st Street, arrives Rathkeale (8.10). | Use Tranzit Lower Valley Service: (TLVS) Featherston (7.30am) Greytown (7.50am) Carterton (8.00am) , terminating at Hadlow School, Masterton. Then link to a special Rathkeale town bus, departing 8.25am.
- Rathkeale town bus (Tranzit): starts at St Matthews 8.00am, stops at 1st Street, arrives Rathkeale 8.10am (Wednesday: 8.40am from St Matthew’s, arriving 8.50); Lower Valley students use the Tranzit Lower Valley Service from Featherston 7.00am, Greytown 7.15, Carterton 7.30 to Masterton and link to the town bus
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- Consequently our aim is to teach and model the values of Love, Social Justice, Compassion, and whatever else makes for a good person. These values are embedded in our concept of The Good Rathkeale Man, which is an ideal for our students to aspire to, in a world where ideals and values are being abandoned.
- Special character
- Rathkeale College is an Anglican school providing a unity of Day and Boarding components through programmes of worship and religious studies, upholding a strong moral code and providing a well-rounded education that promotes excellence through academic, cultural and sporting pursuits in which all students and staff are expected to participate fully.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
Applications for International Students to attend Rathkeale College Applications can now be made online by clicking the red heading below.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- rugby
All students must play a ‘main team sport’: rugby, hockey, football or basketball.
- hockey
All students must play a ‘main team sport’: rugby, hockey, football or basketball.
- football
All students must play a ‘main team sport’: rugby, hockey, football or basketball.
- basketball
All students must play a ‘main team sport’: rugby, hockey, football or basketball.
- Badminton
- Smallbore Rifle Shooting
- Squash
- Chess
- Cricket
- Athletics
- Tennis
- Touch Rugby
- Gym
- Golf
- Mountain Biking
- Volleyball
- Outdoor Skills
- Ag Sports
- Swimming
- Cross Country
- Gate Run
- debating
we are involving other sports such as basketball, chess and debating
- ki-o-rahi
including swimming, athletics, cross-country, golf, ki-o-rahi, tennis, mountain biking, small bore rifle shooting, squash, rugby, basketball, hockey and football
- funk/jazz band ‘Sforzando’
Ensembles which rehearse and perform regularly include the funk/jazz band ‘Sforzando’, a Concert Band, various rock groups, the Boys’ Choir for any boys, and the auditioned choir ‘Viva Camerata’.
- Concert Band
Ensembles which rehearse and perform regularly include the funk/jazz band ‘Sforzando’, a Concert Band, various rock groups, the Boys’ Choir for any boys, and the auditioned choir ‘Viva Camerata’.
- various rock groups
Ensembles which rehearse and perform regularly include the funk/jazz band ‘Sforzando’, a Concert Band, various rock groups, the Boys’ Choir for any boys, and the auditioned choir ‘Viva Camerata’.
- Boys’ Choir
Ensembles which rehearse and perform regularly include the funk/jazz band ‘Sforzando’, a Concert Band, various rock groups, the Boys’ Choir for any boys, and the auditioned choir ‘Viva Camerata’.
- auditioned choir ‘Viva Camerata’
Ensembles which rehearse and perform regularly include the funk/jazz band ‘Sforzando’, a Concert Band, various rock groups, the Boys’ Choir for any boys, and the auditioned choir ‘Viva Camerata’.
- instrumental lessons
Currently instrumental lessons are available on the violin, cello, double bass, clarinet, saxophone, trumpet, trombone, piano, voice, acoustic guitar and electric/bass guitars.
- Smokefree Rockquest competition
Boys compete in the annual Smokefree Rockquest competition
- Big Sing Competition
Viva Camerata and the Boys’ Choir compete in the Big Sing Competition.
- House Music Competition
All boys at Rathkeale take part in the annual House Music Competition at the end of Term 3
- Regional Otago University Sheilah Winn Shakespeare Festival
The Regional Otago University Sheilah Winn Shakespeare Festival has seen many successful productions selected for the National Festival
- New Zealand Young Shakespeare Company
students are regularly chosen to be part of the New Zealand Young Shakespeare Company
- major production
Each year a major production is staged.
- Inter-collegiate Theatresports competition
Students also have the opportunity to participate in the Inter-collegiate Theatresports competition.
- rugby
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 271
- Māori
- 52
- Pacific
- 12
- Asian
- 26
- MELAA
- 2
- Other
- 4
- International
- 14
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 11 | 2 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 51 | 2 | 58 |
| Year 10 | 10 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 59 | 4 | 67 |
| Year 11 | 11 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 57 | 3 | 68 |
| Year 12 | 7 | 3 | 3 | 1 | 1 | 55 | 3 | 67 |
| Year 13+ | 7 | 1 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 51 | 1 | 63 |
| Total | 46 | 9 | 15 | 1 | 3 | 273 | 13 | 323 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 13 | 8 | 2 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 40 | 2 | 45 |
| Age 14 | 9 | 1 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 58 | 2 | 64 |
| Age 15 | 12 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 56 | 3 | 69 |
| Age 16 | 10 | 2 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 57 | 3 | 67 |
| Age 17 | 6 | 2 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 57 | 2 | 71 |
| Age 18 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 1 | 6 |
| Total | 46 | 9 | 15 | 1 | 3 | 273 | 13 | 323 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
100%
| Rathkeale College | 100% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 90.8% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 100% |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
100%
| Rathkeale College | 100% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 100% |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
81.4%
| Rathkeale College | 81.4% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 68.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 81.4% |
| Māori | 87.5% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 81% |
| Total | 81.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
14.3%
| Rathkeale College | 14.3% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 12.5% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 14.3% |
| Māori | 25% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 12.1% |
| Total | 14.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
97.1%
| Rathkeale College | 97.1% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 88.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not applicable |
|---|---|
| Male | 97.1% |
| Māori | 100% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 96.6% |
| Total | 97.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
23.8%
| Rathkeale College | 23.8% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 24.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 23.8% |
| Māori | 27.8% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 24.7% |
| Total | 23.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
1.6%
| Rathkeale College | 1.6% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 2.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 1.6% |
| Māori | 11.3% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 1.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
2.1%
| Rathkeale College | 2.1% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 0.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
|---|---|
| Male | 2.1% |
| Māori | 13% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 2.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 415
- Boarding
- Yes
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Rural other
- Date opened
- 31 January 1964
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 5
- Last reviewed
- 25 September 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (25 September 2023)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 25 September 2023 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 316 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
August 2018
331
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 13 November 2018
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 25 September 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 12 months of the Education Review Office and Rathkeale College working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Rathkeale College is a state integrated Anglican school for boys in Years 9 to 13, situated near Masterton in rural Wairarapa . The majority of boys are boarders, living on site. The college is part of the Trinity Schools’ partnership with St Matthew’s Collegiate and Hadlow Preparatory School. It has a combined Senior College with girls in Years 12 and 13 from St Matthew’s Collegiate.
Rathkeale College’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
that every student will engage in their learning in a manner that will challenge them to reach meaningful personal goals and allow the school to maintain high academic standards
to allow the strategic goals and student aspirations to be realised for Senior College students.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Rathkeale College’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate the extent to which learning, wellbeing and engagement outcomes for Māori and Pacific students are strengthened through a strategic and sustained approach to continuous improvement.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
the school is welcoming an increasingly diverse student community and aspires to be responsive to all learners’ languages, cultures and identities
the school has a key strategic intent to ensure teaching and learning reflects local tikanga and te reo Māori.
The school expects to see equitable and excellent learning, wellbeing and engagement outcomes for Māori and Pacific students across Years 9 to 13.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to strengthen outcomes for Māori and Pacific learners:
personalised academic and pastoral support provides learners with the pathways they need to achieve equitable and excellent outcomes at NCEA Level 2
a culture of respectful relationships and strengthened schoolwide practices for an increasingly inclusive learning environment
early initiatives have enhanced school conditions and practices to better reflect tikanga and te reo Māori.
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
developing a strategic framework for strengthening learning, wellbeing and engagement outcomes for Māori learners in consultation with iwi and whānau
with key stakeholders, developing a strategy for strengthening learning, wellbeing and engagement outcomes for Pacific learners
implementing, monitoring and evaluating the impact of these improvement strategies on outcomes for learners.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
25 September 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 5 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).