Raphael House Rudolf Steiner Area School
Composite · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 282
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 27 Matuhi Street, Belmont, Lower Hutt
- Territorial authority
- Lower Hutt City
- Phone
- 04-5695161
- marcelly.r@raphaelhouse.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Wellington Region
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- Steiner/Waldorf Schools are founded on the Anthroposophical understanding of each human being as a being of body, soul, and spirit in a gradual and purposeful process of development. The educational indications given by Rudolf Steiner form the basis for the Special Character of New Zealand integrated Steiner / Waldorf schools.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
We offer two international programmes for students wishing to study in New Zealand: Exchanges: (for students who attend one of our partner schools in Japan, German and Austria) Foreign Fee Paying Students: (for students from any country)
- Accepted, as stated
- Voluntary donation
- Board Donation, annual, 2026: $2000 per child in Class 1 or Class 2, $2200 for Class 3-7, $2400 for Class 8-12
2026 Fees (all amounts listed below are annual) Attendance Dues are compulsory. These are paid to the Proprietor’s Trust and used for land and property development. In 2026, these are $1620 per child. Board Donations are paid to the Board and help fund the education, including special character features, that is over and above a standard education funded by the Government. This includes things like handwork and woodwork, class plays, festivals, eurythmy, class projects, therapies, learning support assistants and extra teaching staff above entitlement from the Government. In 2026, the suggested amount for a child in Class 1 or Class 2 is $2000 per child, for a child in Class 3-7 the suggested amount is $2200. For a child in Class 8-12 the suggested amount is $2400.
- Board Donation, annual, 2026: $2000 per child in Class 1 or Class 2, $2200 for Class 3-7, $2400 for Class 8-12
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 242
- Māori
- 36
- Pacific
- 12
- Asian
- 39
- MELAA
- 13
- Other
- 7
- International
- 7
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 0 | 1 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 02 | 3 | 1 | 2 | 3 | 1 | 12 | 0 | 16 |
| Year 03 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 9 |
| Year 04 | 0 | 2 | 7 | 2 | 0 | 16 | 0 | 20 |
| Year 05 | 2 | 1 | 3 | 2 | 0 | 19 | 0 | 23 |
| Year 06 | 3 | 1 | 5 | 2 | 0 | 23 | 0 | 25 |
| Year 07 | 4 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 30 | 0 | 31 |
| Year 08 | 1 | 1 | 4 | 3 | 0 | 21 | 0 | 24 |
| Year 09 | 5 | 3 | 4 | 3 | 0 | 27 | 1 | 35 |
| Year 10 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 11 | 5 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 21 | 1 | 23 |
| Year 12 | 3 | 1 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 23 | 2 | 28 |
| Year 13+ | 0 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 10 |
| Total | 32 | 13 | 38 | 16 | 2 | 231 | 4 | 268 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 06 | 0 | 1 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 11 |
| Age 07 | 3 | 1 | 2 | 3 | 1 | 12 | 0 | 16 |
| Age 08 | 3 | 2 | 6 | 1 | 0 | 20 | 0 | 23 |
| Age 09 | 1 | 0 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 16 | 0 | 19 |
| Age 10 | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 | 0 | 23 | 0 | 25 |
| Age 11 | 2 | 2 | 5 | 1 | 1 | 23 | 0 | 25 |
| Age 12 | 3 | 1 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 21 | 0 | 24 |
| Age 13 | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 0 | 21 | 0 | 24 |
| Age 14 | 5 | 1 | 4 | 1 | 0 | 24 | 1 | 30 |
| Age 15 | 3 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 14 | 0 | 15 |
| Age 16 | 5 | 1 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 32 | 2 | 36 |
| Age 17 | 2 | 0 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 13 | 1 | 17 |
| Age 18 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Total | 32 | 13 | 38 | 16 | 2 | 231 | 4 | 268 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
88.9%
| Raphael House Rudolf Steiner Area School | 88.9% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 90.8% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 85.7% |
| Total | 88.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
88.9%
| Raphael House Rudolf Steiner Area School | 88.9% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 85.3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 85.7% |
| Total | 88.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
44.4%
| Raphael House Rudolf Steiner Area School | 44.4% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 68.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 42.9% |
| Total | 44.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
0%
| Raphael House Rudolf Steiner Area School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 12.5% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
88.9%
| Raphael House Rudolf Steiner Area School | 88.9% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 88.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 85.7% |
| Total | 88.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
9.7%
| Raphael House Rudolf Steiner Area School | 9.7% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 24.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 26.5% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 20.6% |
| Māori | 49.7% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 22.5% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 3.6% |
| Total | 9.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
3.2%
| Raphael House Rudolf Steiner Area School | 3.2% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 2.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 3.2% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 6.8% |
| Māori | 22.7% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 3.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
3.5%
| Raphael House Rudolf Steiner Area School | 3.5% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 0.9% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 1.2% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 7.4% |
| Māori | 24% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 3.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 400
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 10 June 1979
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 6
- Last reviewed
- 11 February 2026
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (11 February 2026)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 11 February 2026 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO and the board have identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
ensure that a satisfactory safety checking process occurs for persons employed by the board, including two forms of identity confirmation and a record of completed risk assessment. [Sections 25 of the Children’s Act 2014: Safety checks of children’s workers]
The board has since taken steps to address the areas of non-compliance identified.
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 11 February 2026 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- Year levels
- Years 1 to 13
provides education for learners in Years 1 to 13
- Years 1 to 13
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 11 February 2026 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Every New Zealand state and state integrated school has an ERO review at least once every four years to evaluate what is working well for learners and what needs to be improved.
About the school
Raphael House Rudolf Steiner Area School is located in the Belmont hills above Lower Hutt and provides education for learners in Years 1 to 13. The roll in 2025 was 268. 14% of students identify as Asian, 12% of students identify as Māori , and 4% are of Pacific heritage. The majority of learners are NZ European/ Pakeha . As a special character school, the philosophy, curriculum, teaching approach and qualifications are underpinned by Steiner principles.
Education Counts provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement, school enrolments and school zones. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
An explanation of the terms and judgements used in this report can be found here: Reporting | Education Review Office
Improvement and progress
This section is about the progress the school has made since the February 2023 ERO report. It includes an explanation of the expected improvements and findings.
Expected improvements
Raphael House Rudolf Steiner Area School evaluated how effectively the curriculum and teachers respond to individual needs.
The school expected to see increasing levels of engagement with learning at all levels and success across the holistic Steiner curriculum.
Findings
The school made sound progress towards increasing levels of learner engagement by ensuring individual needs are identified and responded to so that all students are able to access the curriculum. Senior leaders and learning support staff have put systems and processes in place to support learner engagement.
Senior leaders and teachers participate in ongoing professional learning to grow and develop their professional practices to support learner needs, wellbeing and progress.
Other findings
Leaders implemented a student management system and engaged teachers in professional learning to provide a central portal for learner data and information to be stored and accessed, resulting in teachers working together to support learner engagement, progress and achievement.
What we know about learner success
This section provides a summary of learner success, wellbeing and foundation school conditions, including any education in Rumaki/Reo Rua settings. The judgments are based on the ERO School Improvement Framework and evidence provided to ERO during the evaluation.
Less than a third Less than half Small majority Large majority Most Almost all
0 to 33% 34 to 49% 50 to 64% 65 to 79% 80 to 90% Over 90%
Learner success and wellbeing
This section provides a summary of learner success and wellbeing.
Learners experience high levels of success and make excellent progress; outcomes are similar for all groups.
Years 1 to 10 achievement information shows that almost all learners achieve at the appropriate curriculum level in mathematics, reading and writing; outcomes are similar for all groups of learners.
Almost all senior students (Years 11 to 13) achieve the New Zealand Certificate of Steiner Education with most students gaining Highly Commended or Distinction.
Students with additional learning needs make good progress within an inclusive learning environment and are well supported.
The small majority of students attend school regularly and regular attendance is not yet improving. Chronic absence is reducing overtime.
Conditions to support learner success
This section provides a summary of leadership, teaching, curriculum and foundation school conditions for improvement.
School leaders establish a culture committed to high levels of learner progress and achievement.
Leaders maintain a strategic focus on improvement goals and targets for learners needing acceleration.
School-wide systems support consistent curriculum and teaching practices, creating coherent and high-quality learning experiences for all learners.
Leadership has strengthened relational trust to promote school-wide collaboration and collective responsibility for learner outcomes.
Leaders sustain strong educationally focused relationships across the Steiner network of schools.
Learners have diverse opportunities to learn across the breadth and depth of the curriculum and are supported to gain sound foundational literacy and numeracy skills.
Leadership is aligning the national and Steiner curricula to ensure it is demonstrated in teaching and learning to reflect learners’ language, identity and culture.
Teachers create settled, respectful learning environments to effectively support students to build skills and confidence in their learning.
Leadership is strengthening Steiner approaches to teaching and learning to support greater school-wide consistency.
School planning and conditions are well established and support ongoing improvement to the quality of education for learners.
Professional development aligned to the school’s goals, supports teacher capability contributing to sustained learner progress and achievement.
Learners experience a strong culture of inclusion and support for wellbeing and engagement.
Leaders monitor and report attendance to the Board termly and have an attendance plan in place to ensure an ongoing focus on this priority area.
Leaders are strengthening the school-wide of use evidence to evaluate the impact of strategic actions on outcomes for all learners.
Next steps for improvement
This section provides more detail for the school to include in its strategic and annual planning for ongoing improvement across the school. It identifies key priorities and actions for improvement.
Key priorities
Develop the curriculum to align with the Steiner and national curriculum, reflect learner experience and enhance engagement in local contexts.
Increase evidence-based feedback on teaching practice to provide a cohesive, high-quality teaching and learning experience for all learners.
Increase school-wide capability for evaluation for improvement to track and monitor outcomes for all learners.
Improve regular attendance for all learners.
Actions to bring about improvement
Within six months:
leaders review and strengthen current process and practices to gather data about the quality of teaching practice and provide feedback to teachers
school leaders monitor and evaluate the impact of attendance initiatives; make changes required to drive further improvement
Every six months:
school leaders review progress with curriculum development, including implementation of the refreshed New Zealand Curriculum , local contexts and the Steiner curriculum
school leaders and learning coaches gather and analyse data about the quality of teaching practice, measure improvements and use to inform professional learning priorities
school leaders analyse achievement and attendance data for all learners to evaluate impact of interventions
Annually:
school leaders monitor and evaluate curriculum development, including implementation of The New Zealand Curriculum , local contexts and the Steiner curriculum and report to the Board
school leaders and learning coaches evaluate the impact of systems implemented to grow high-quality teaching practice on improving student outcomes and report to the Board
school leaders monitor and evaluate the impact of interventions on student outcomes and report to the Board
school leaders monitor and evaluate the impact of attendance initiatives and report to the Board.
Expected outcomes
An embedded curriculum that includes the national curriculum, the Steiner curriculum and enhances learner engagement in local contexts.
Sustained excellent outcomes for all learners through consistent, responsive high-quality teaching practice aligned with Steiner principles.
Data and evidence-based evaluation practices inform board, school and classroom decision making.
Increased and sustained regular attendance towards the Government targets.
The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Report and is due within four years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Director of Schools
11 February 2026
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 6 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).