Rangi Ruru Girls' School
Secondary (Year 7-15) · Private : Fully Registered
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 705
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Girls School
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 59 Hewitts Road, Merivale, Christchurch
- Territorial authority
- Christchurch City
- Phone
- 03-9833700
- office@rangiruru.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Christchurch · schools in Canterbury
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
At Rangi Ruru we expect all our students to wear the correct uniform in an appropriate manner whenever they are at school or representing our school.
- Required
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
Rangi Ruru has a strong pastoral care and wellbeing network and we are able to offer our international students any additional support they may need while they are in New Zealand.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Rowing
Rowing is available to all students from Years 9 – 13 and we cater to a squad of 60 girls.
- Equestrian Programme
Learn more about our specialised Equestrian Programme
- the schools major productions (junior and senior)
- three dance companies
There are three dance companies allowing dancers from Years 7 to 13 to participate.
- Sheilah Winn Shakespeare Festival
ākonga get the opportunity to enter the Sheilah Winn Shakespeare Festival as performers
- Junior Drama Club
There is a Junior Drama Club, Theatre Sports and a very active group of students who work within technical theatre as part of stage crews and lighting and sound operators.
- Theatre Sports
There is a Junior Drama Club, Theatre Sports and a very active group of students who work within technical theatre as part of stage crews and lighting and sound operators.
- technical theatre as part of stage crews and lighting and sound operators
There is a Junior Drama Club, Theatre Sports and a very active group of students who work within technical theatre as part of stage crews and lighting and sound operators.
- Cultural Concert
These companies are involved in performances throughout the year including Cultural Concert and Prize Giving, as well as the Annual Dance Show.
- Annual Dance Show
These companies are involved in performances throughout the year including Cultural Concert and Prize Giving, as well as the Annual Dance Show.
- Speech and Drama
Speech and Drama This is an itinerant course which focuses on the many skills of Speech and Drama.
- Rowing
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 594
- Māori
- 56
- Pacific
- 2
- Asian
- 111
- MELAA
- 5
- Other
- 2
- International
- 16
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 07 | 3 | 1 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 38 | 1 | 46 |
| Year 08 | 4 | 0 | 11 | 1 | 0 | 31 | 1 | 43 |
| Year 09 | 11 | 0 | 14 | 3 | 0 | 104 | 4 | 122 |
| Year 10 | 16 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 0 | 109 | 7 | 127 |
| Year 11 | 13 | 1 | 15 | 0 | 0 | 110 | 2 | 126 |
| Year 12 | 10 | 0 | 11 | 1 | 0 | 108 | 6 | 124 |
| Year 13+ | 15 | 1 | 18 | 0 | 0 | 96 | 4 | 116 |
| Total | 72 | 3 | 87 | 5 | 0 | 596 | 25 | 704 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 10 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Age 11 | 3 | 1 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 29 | 1 | 35 |
| Age 12 | 4 | 0 | 11 | 1 | 0 | 29 | 0 | 40 |
| Age 13 | 8 | 0 | 13 | 2 | 0 | 92 | 4 | 109 |
| Age 14 | 15 | 0 | 13 | 1 | 0 | 112 | 2 | 127 |
| Age 15 | 12 | 1 | 14 | 0 | 0 | 102 | 4 | 120 |
| Age 16 | 13 | 0 | 14 | 1 | 0 | 117 | 6 | 135 |
| Age 17 | 13 | 1 | 17 | 0 | 0 | 96 | 7 | 117 |
| Age 18 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 17 | 1 | 19 |
| Total | 72 | 3 | 87 | 5 | 0 | 596 | 25 | 704 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
99.2%
| Rangi Ruru Girls' School | 99.2% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 87.1% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 89.6% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 96.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 99.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 99% |
| Total | 99.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
98.3%
| Rangi Ruru Girls' School | 98.3% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 79.6% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.3% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 95% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 98.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 98% |
| Total | 98.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
92.4%
| Rangi Ruru Girls' School | 92.4% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 59% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 64.5% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 88.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 92.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 94.7% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 92.2% |
| Total | 92.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
15.1%
| Rangi Ruru Girls' School | 15.1% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 13.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 14.7% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 12.1% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 15.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 5.3% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 15.7% |
| Total | 15.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
95%
| Rangi Ruru Girls' School | 95% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 83.6% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.1% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 95% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 95% |
|---|---|
| Male | Not applicable |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 94.7% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 95.1% |
| Total | 95% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- not applicable
- Boarding
- Yes
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 25 January 1889
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 3
- Last reviewed
- 11 November 2024
- Latest report
- Rangi Ruru Girls' School November 2024
- Report type
- not reported
- Board assurance
- not reported
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 11 November 2024 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- International students
- true
The school is a signatory provider to the Education (Pastoral Care of Tertiary and International Learners) Code of Practice 2021
- true
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 705 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
September 2019
662
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 5 November 2019
April 2015
612
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 16 June 2015
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 3 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).