Raglan Area School
Composite · State
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 597
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 42 Norrie Avenue, Raglan
- Territorial authority
- Waikato District
- Phone
- 07-8258140
- principal@raglanarea.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Waikato
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- Our Mission Statement
- Our mission is the central purpose that drives all our efforts and learning programmes:
- Mana Rangatahi / Empowering Young People
- We are dedicated to providing an environment where every student is encouraged, supported, and challenged to grow into a capable, confident, and resilient young person ready to navigate their future.
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 453
- Māori
- 245
- Pacific
- 15
- Asian
- 27
- MELAA
- 14
- Other
- 15
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 12 | 1 | 5 | 2 | 1 | 36 | 0 | 42 |
| Year 02 | 20 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 25 | 0 | 36 |
| Year 03 | 23 | 1 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 42 | 0 | 51 |
| Year 04 | 18 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 31 | 0 | 45 |
| Year 05 | 17 | 1 | 6 | 2 | 0 | 45 | 0 | 55 |
| Year 06 | 22 | 2 | 2 | 1 | 2 | 35 | 0 | 46 |
| Year 07 | 15 | 2 | 3 | 0 | 2 | 50 | 0 | 62 |
| Year 08 | 17 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 2 | 49 | 0 | 56 |
| Year 09 | 28 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 32 | 0 | 47 |
| Year 10 | 21 | 2 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 42 | 0 | 56 |
| Year 11 | 21 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 37 | 0 | 47 |
| Year 12 | 22 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 31 | 0 | 41 |
| Year 13+ | 18 | 5 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 35 | 0 | 43 |
| Total | 254 | 20 | 35 | 8 | 10 | 490 | 0 | 627 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 9 | 1 | 3 | 2 | 1 | 27 | 0 | 31 |
| Age 06 | 17 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 29 | 0 | 39 |
| Age 07 | 25 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 39 | 0 | 48 |
| Age 08 | 17 | 1 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 32 | 0 | 47 |
| Age 09 | 21 | 1 | 5 | 2 | 0 | 46 | 0 | 57 |
| Age 10 | 20 | 2 | 3 | 1 | 1 | 34 | 0 | 46 |
| Age 11 | 17 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 3 | 46 | 0 | 57 |
| Age 12 | 16 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 2 | 49 | 0 | 56 |
| Age 13 | 24 | 3 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 41 | 0 | 54 |
| Age 14 | 25 | 1 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 40 | 0 | 56 |
| Age 15 | 20 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 39 | 0 | 49 |
| Age 16 | 23 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 25 | 0 | 36 |
| Age 17 | 19 | 4 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 42 | 0 | 49 |
| Age 18 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Total | 254 | 20 | 35 | 8 | 10 | 490 | 0 | 627 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
81.9%
| Raglan Area School | 81.9% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 84.2% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 88.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 75% |
| Māori | 82.4% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 84.2% |
| Total | 81.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
75%
| Raglan Area School | 75% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 75.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 83.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 66.7% |
| Māori | 73.5% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 78.9% |
| Total | 75% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
44.4%
| Raglan Area School | 44.4% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 51.3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 61.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 27.8% |
| Māori | 32.4% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 52.6% |
| Total | 44.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
16.7%
| Raglan Area School | 16.7% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 15.1% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 33.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 23.5% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 19.3% |
| Total | 16.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
73.6%
| Raglan Area School | 73.6% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 77.4% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 77.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 69.4% |
| Māori | 64.7% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 77.2% |
| Total | 73.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
136.2%
| Raglan Area School | 136.2% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 53.9% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 26.5% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 103.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 164.4% |
| Māori | 164.9% |
| Pacific | 386.8% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 108.2% |
| Total | 136.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
16.5%
| Raglan Area School | 16.5% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 6.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 3.2% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 21.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 12.1% |
| Māori | 26.6% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 13.1% |
| Total | 16.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
5.9%
| Raglan Area School | 5.9% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 2.4% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 1.2% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 8.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 3.6% |
| Māori | 13.1% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 2.7% |
| Total | 5.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 453
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- Some students taught in te reo Māori
- Urban / rural
- Small urban area
- Date opened
- 31 March 1866
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 28 March 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (28 March 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 28 March 2024 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO has identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
Renewal of police vets for non-teaching staff every three years. [s104 Education and Training Act, 2020]
Carry out evacuation drills at periods of not more than six months. [Fire Safety, Evacuation procedures and Evacuation Schemes Regulation 17 (g)(i) 2018]
The board has since addressed the areas of non-compliance identified.
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 28 March 2024 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- Bilingual or immersion provision
- Rumaki unit Te Rōpū Aroha Ki Te Reo
This school has a Rumaki unit ‘ Te Rōpū Aroha Ki Te Reo .’
- Rumaki unit Te Rōpū Aroha Ki Te Reo
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 597 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
November 2019
578
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 1 April 2020
May 2017
497
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 25 July 2017
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 28 March 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within seven months of the Education Review Office and Raglan Area School working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Raglan Area School, Te Kura a Rohe o Whaingaroa is located in Raglan. The Area School provides education for learners from age 5 to 19 years. Some students learn in total immersion classes, the Rūmaki unit, ‘T e Rōpū Aroha Ki Te Reo .’
Raglan Area School ’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are that:
students are connected, resilient, resourceful and curious about learning opportunities within and beyond Raglan Area School
quality and effective teaching, learning and assessment practices are embedded to raise and celebrate outcomes for all learners at Raglan Area School
Māori learners throughout the school achieve and celebrate success acknowledging their identity, language and culture
respectful and inclusive relationships are visible within a culturally sustainable learning environment committed to staff and student hauora and wellbeing.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Raglan Area School ’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate the effectiveness of literacy teaching and learning in Years 7 to 10.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
the school is responding to data and aims to lift progress and accelerate achievement in literacy, particularly in Years 7 to 10
the school recognises the need to improve engagement and attendance for at-risk students, particularly in Years 7 to 10
the school is focused on developing consistent pathways for literacy learning that show progression from Year 6 into Year 7 and from Year 10 into Year 11.
The school expects to see:
accelerated progress for those learners who are not yet achieving at the expected level
improved engagement and attendance of at-risk students
the development of a consistent approach to teaching literacy.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support them to evaluate the effectiveness of literacy teaching and learning in Years 7 to 10.
a well-developed literacy programme and effective day to day practices in Years 0 to 6
a deliberate approach to building internal leadership capacity across the school
an intentional focus on growing meaningful and authentic partnerships with whānau , hāpu and iwi in the community to support learning.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
detailed analysis of the data to inform the internal evaluation
reviewing the professional learning needs of Year 7 to 10 teaching staff
continuing to build a shared understanding about the most effective approaches to literacy learning.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
28 March 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
This school has a Rumaki unit ‘ Te Rōpū Aroha Ki Te Reo .’
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).