Queen Elizabeth College
Secondary (Year 7-15) · State
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 415
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Rangitikei Street, Palmerston North
- Territorial authority
- Palmerston North City
- Phone
- 06-3589033
- office@qec.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.qec.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Palmerston North · schools in Manawatū-Whanganui
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 221
- Māori
- 250
- Pacific
- 77
- Asian
- 25
- MELAA
- 1
- Other
- 6
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 07 | 15 | 5 | 1 | 0 | 3 | 19 | 0 | 29 |
| Year 08 | 6 | 4 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 21 |
| Year 09 | 53 | 20 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 46 | 0 | 83 |
| Year 10 | 57 | 14 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 42 | 0 | 82 |
| Year 11 | 45 | 19 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 40 | 4 | 73 |
| Year 12 | 29 | 10 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 28 | 0 | 51 |
| Year 13+ | 18 | 3 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 31 |
| Total | 223 | 75 | 24 | 0 | 3 | 199 | 4 | 370 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 11 | 13 | 5 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 16 | 0 | 25 |
| Age 12 | 9 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 12 | 0 | 21 |
| Age 13 | 44 | 18 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 39 | 0 | 74 |
| Age 14 | 63 | 18 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 47 | 0 | 90 |
| Age 15 | 41 | 15 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 43 | 3 | 67 |
| Age 16 | 30 | 10 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 25 | 1 | 49 |
| Age 17 | 21 | 6 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 15 | 0 | 37 |
| Age 18 | 2 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 6 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Total | 223 | 75 | 24 | 0 | 3 | 199 | 4 | 370 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
70.5%
| Queen Elizabeth College | 70.5% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 84.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 89.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 72.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 68% |
| Māori | 75% |
| Pacific | 42.9% |
| Asian | 50% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 70.6% |
| Total | 70.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
62.3%
| Queen Elizabeth College | 62.3% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 76.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.3% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 61.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 64% |
| Māori | 65.6% |
| Pacific | 42.9% |
| Asian | 50% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 55.9% |
| Total | 62.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
49.2%
| Queen Elizabeth College | 49.2% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 55.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 64.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 44.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 56% |
| Māori | 56.3% |
| Pacific | 28.6% |
| Asian | 50% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 35.3% |
| Total | 49.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
11.5%
| Queen Elizabeth College | 11.5% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 14.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 14.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 16.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 4% |
| Māori | 15.6% |
| Pacific | 14.3% |
| Asian | 16.7% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 11.8% |
| Total | 11.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
63.9%
| Queen Elizabeth College | 63.9% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 81.1% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.1% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 63.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 64% |
| Māori | 62.5% |
| Pacific | 57.1% |
| Asian | 66.7% |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 52.9% |
| Total | 63.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
69.2%
| Queen Elizabeth College | 69.2% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 45.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 43.4% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 84% |
|---|---|
| Male | 51.2% |
| Māori | 98.9% |
| Pacific | 54.6% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 75.3% |
| Total | 69.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Queen Elizabeth College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 6.2% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 4.6% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Queen Elizabeth College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Manawatū-Whanganui Region | 2.8% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 2% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 556
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 25 January 1906
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 3
- Last reviewed
- 6 June 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (6 June 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 6 June 2024 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 415 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
September 2016
208
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 16 November 2016
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 6 June 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 12 months of the Education Review Office and Queen Elizabeth College working in Te Ara Huarau, an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Queen Elizabeth College is located in Palmerston North and provides education for students in Years 9 to 13. The school offers bilingual Māori and English medium education and has a Services Academy.
The Board’s vision is:
Q uality - everything we do is at the best of our ability
Expectations - we have the highest expectations of ourselves and our community
Commitment - we live and teach what it is to be committed.
Queen Elizabeth College ’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
all students will progress and achieve to their highest possible educational potential through quality teaching and learning, safe environments and positive relationships.
Māori students will enjoy educational success as Māori
the board, staff, whāau, iwi and community will be engaged in supporting our ākonga in their learning and growth
the board will ensure ongoing improvement in the effectiveness and efficiency of governance and stewardship through induction and ongoing training, the distribution of tasks and succession planning.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Queen Elizabeth College ’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate the impact of the school’s targeted attendance initiatives on student achievement.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
identified issues around consistency of attendance
low achievement across all levels, often related to attendance
identified need to increase whānau support for attendance and learning.
The school expects to see improvements in students’ attendance levels and engagement from a responsive school curriculum, increased rates of progress and achievement and increased whānau support for attendance.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support the school in its goal to improve students’ attendance.
A comprehensive and collaborative pastoral network.
Existing attendance initiatives including a Year 10 targeted programme.
Te Whare Pikiora centre providing a responsive approach to health and wellbeing.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
a review of the curriculum to bring about a more responsive and student-centred curriculum
changes to teaching practices to improve engagement and promote achievement
building students’ ability to understand and see a purpose in their own learning and future pathways.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
6 June 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 3 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).