Queen Charlotte College
Secondary (Year 7-15) · State
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 357
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 173 Waikawa Road, Picton
- Territorial authority
- Marlborough District
- Phone
- 03-5736558
- admin@qcc.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.qcc.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Marlborough
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 245
- Māori
- 178
- Pacific
- 24
- Asian
- 22
- MELAA
- 4
- Other
- 3
- International
- 2
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 07 | 30 | 5 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 45 | 0 | 55 |
| Year 08 | 28 | 6 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 22 | 0 | 48 |
| Year 09 | 31 | 4 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 46 | 0 | 68 |
| Year 10 | 38 | 9 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 39 | 1 | 64 |
| Year 11 | 26 | 2 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 41 | 1 | 60 |
| Year 12 | 33 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 48 | 0 | 66 |
| Year 13+ | 16 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 18 | 1 | 30 |
| Total | 202 | 27 | 16 | 3 | 3 | 259 | 3 | 391 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 11 | 25 | 5 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 36 | 0 | 45 |
| Age 12 | 30 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 29 | 0 | 53 |
| Age 13 | 30 | 4 | 4 | 1 | 0 | 39 | 1 | 63 |
| Age 14 | 38 | 8 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 41 | 1 | 67 |
| Age 15 | 25 | 3 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 38 | 0 | 51 |
| Age 16 | 32 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 52 | 0 | 70 |
| Age 17 | 19 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 20 | 0 | 35 |
| Age 18 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Total | 202 | 27 | 16 | 3 | 3 | 259 | 3 | 391 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
83.9%
| Queen Charlotte College | 83.9% |
|---|---|
| Marlborough Region | 84.6% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 89.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 69.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 92.3% |
| Māori | 81.3% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 86% |
| Total | 83.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
74.2%
| Queen Charlotte College | 74.2% |
|---|---|
| Marlborough Region | 73.8% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.3% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 60.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 82.1% |
| Māori | 65.6% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 76.7% |
| Total | 74.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
41.9%
| Queen Charlotte College | 41.9% |
|---|---|
| Marlborough Region | 49.3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 64.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 47.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 38.5% |
| Māori | 43.8% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 37.2% |
| Total | 41.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
9.7%
| Queen Charlotte College | 9.7% |
|---|---|
| Marlborough Region | 12.2% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 14.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 13% |
|---|---|
| Male | 7.7% |
| Māori | 12.5% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 7% |
| Total | 9.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
62.9%
| Queen Charlotte College | 62.9% |
|---|---|
| Marlborough Region | 75.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.1% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 56.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 66.7% |
| Māori | 59.4% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 62.8% |
| Total | 62.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
27.3%
| Queen Charlotte College | 27.3% |
|---|---|
| Marlborough Region | 36.2% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 43.4% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 11.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 46.4% |
| Māori | 29.4% |
| Pacific | 78.2% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 24.6% |
| Total | 27.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
4.3%
| Queen Charlotte College | 4.3% |
|---|---|
| Marlborough Region | 4% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 4.6% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 9.6% |
| Māori | 2.9% |
| Pacific | 25.5% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 2.2% |
| Total | 4.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
3.3%
| Queen Charlotte College | 3.3% |
|---|---|
| Marlborough Region | 1% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 2% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 7.4% |
| Māori | 3.4% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 2.4% |
| Total | 3.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 491
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Small urban area
- Date opened
- 1 February 1965
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 3 December 2024
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (3 December 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 3 December 2024 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO and the board have identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
The Board must meet the objectives in governing the school, self-review, and monitor its performance against strategic planning documents [Sections 127, 145, 639 Education and Training Act 2020; Education (School Planning and Reporting) Regulations 2023]
Policy and procedures for child protection must be compliant [Section 15 Oranga Tamariki Act 1989; Part 6 and Sections 18, 19 Children’s Act 2014]
Policies and procedures that relate to students who have special education needs must be implemented without discrimination [Section 34 Education and Training Act 2020]
Policies and practices for physical restraint must have regard to the legislation, rules and guidelines [Sections 99-101 Education and Training Act 2020; Education (Physical Restraint) Rules 2023]
The board must be satisfied that student absences are correctly recorded, monitored and followed up [Section 36, Education and Training Act 2020; Regulations 3/11 Education (School Attendance) Regulations 1951]
All Year 7 and 8 students must be taught five hours of Mathematics in a typical school week [Foundational Curriculum Policy Statements and National Curriculum Statements 2023]
Health and safety risks in the school and its activities must be controlled [Health and Safety at Work Act 2015]
Planning documents and policies must align with the National Education and Learning Priorities [The Statement of National Education and Learning Priorities (NELP) 2020]
In consultation with the school’s Māori community, the board must develop and make known the school’s community policies, plans and targets for improving the progress and achievement of Māori students [Sections 127 (1) (d), 139 Education and Training Act 2023; The Statement of National Education and Learning Priorities (NELP) 2020]
The board has since taken steps to address the areas of non-compliance identified.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 357 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
October 2017
340
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 19 December 2017
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 3 December 2024 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
Queen Charlotte College is a state, co-educational secondary school, located in Picton. It provides education for learners from Years 7 to 13. Aquaculture and construction trade academies operate from the school site. The school’s vision is ‘ Mo Ake Tonu E | To aspire forever’.
There are two parts to this report.
Part A: An evaluative summary of learner success and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction, including any education in Rumaki /bilingual settings.
Part B: The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Current State
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
Improvements are required to ensure all learners are engaged, making sufficient progress and achieving well.
Most Year 7 learners enter the school below expected curriculum levels in literacy and mathematics; the school accelerates the progress of a small majority by the end of Year 10.
Year 11 learners’ achievement at Level 1 of the National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) has declined significantly over the past five years; the large majority of learners who remain at the school leave with NCEA Level 2.
The school has yet to address inequity of achievement for Māori learners.
Regular attendance is improving; however, the school remains considerably below the Ministry of Education target as few students attend regularly.
Conditions to support learner success
Leaders are working towards fostering a culture committed to quality teaching and equity and excellence in learner outcomes.
Leaders are taking steps towards planning, monitoring and evaluating the effectiveness of consistent processes and practices to improve engagement, progress, achievement and wellbeing.
Senior leaders are beginning to build middle leaders’ capabilities to analyse achievement and progress data and use it to inform planning and evaluate the impact of teaching in their areas.
The school is improving teaching and learning.
Learners have sufficient opportunities to learn across the breadth and depth of the curriculum.
The establishment of a ‘hub’ for Year 7 and 8 students enables closer, more effective teacher collaboration to improve literacy and mathematics progress and achievement for these learners.
Leaders and teachers are beginning to develop shared understanding of high quality teaching and learning practices to benefit learner outcomes.
Leaders and teachers are yet to analyse or use progress and achievement information effectively to support responsive planning and improve learner outcomes school wide.
The school is taking steps to strengthen the support it provides to ensure learners’ engagement, progress and achievement.
Learners report they enjoy being in a small school that provides a variety of curriculum and co-curricular opportunities.
Learners, whānau , and teachers collaborate to set and monitor goals; these are beginning to build learner and whānau understanding of progress and achievement.
Leaders and teachers are establishing planning and conditions to support improvements in the quality of education for learners; school values, behaviour management and restorative practices have been reviewed and have reduced pastoral incidents.
The board have adopted new processes for reporting and to ensure consistent review processes of school policies.
Part B: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
embed revised school values and align these with the school’s culture, systems and expectations to improve the consistency of teachers’ responses and raise learner engagement
develop and implement shared understanding of high quality teaching and learning practices
develop and implement consistent assessment plans, tools and school wide analysis, to effectively evaluate learner progress and achievement, enable aligned reporting systems, and inform planning
improve engagement and sufficiently accelerate the progress of Years 7 to 10 learners in literacy and mathematics
significantly increase the levels of regular attendance.
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows.
Within six months:
identify professional learning opportunities to build teachers’ understanding and capabilities in high quality teaching, learning and assessment practices with particular focus on literacy and mathematics in Years 7 to 10
establish implementation planning with appropriate measures, indicators and reporting timeframes to improve attendance, engagement, progress and achievement
complete the review of the school values and incorporate these consistently throughout school wide culture, systems and expectations
establish termly review to ensure that systems, processes and practices for monitoring, reporting on and responding to attendance, engagement, progress and achievement are effective and providing useful information for the board and leaders to base decisions on
Every six months:
teachers monitor and report on Year 7 to 10 students’ progress and achievement in literacy and mathematics, informed by across-school checking of assessment judgements
senior leaders report to the board on student attendance, engagement and achievement to identify trends and emerging needs and know about the effectiveness of strategies and interventions
middle and senior leaders evaluate areas of strength and the quality of teaching, learning and assessment practices to inform planning for future professional learning for teachers
Annually:
teachers continue to compare and analyse achievement data across the school for consistency of achievement judgements and to inform next steps in learning
leaders analyse and report progress and achievement data to the board to strategically plan actions that continue to improve equitable achievement for Years 7 to 10 learners in literacy and mathematics and for Years 11 to 13 learners in NCEA
board and leaders scrutinise student attendance and engagement information to know about the effective delivery of strategic goals and identify improvement priorities.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in:
improved teacher capability in teaching and assessment practices and data analysis that meaningfully informs planning
improved progress and achievement in literacy and mathematics for learners in Years 7 to 10
increased success in National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA)
raised learner engagement and levels of regular attendance.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
3 December 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).