Putāruru College
Secondary (Year 7-15) · State
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 406
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Junction Street, Putaruru
- Territorial authority
- South Waikato District
- Phone
- 07-883 8323
- office@putarurucollege.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Waikato
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Getting there
- School buses for students who live out of town; Putāruru College runs its bus service through EasyBus
School buses are available for students that live out of town. It is important students are on the correct bus list and let Student Services know if there are any changes. Putāruru College runs their bus service through [EasyBus](https://putaruru.easybus.nz/), please contact them directly to add a stop or change the route for your students.
- School buses for students who live out of town; Putāruru College runs its bus service through EasyBus
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- turbo touch
Students can take part in sports such as turbo touch, athletics, hockey, basketball, rifle shooting, volleyball, tennis, and golf through the school.
- athletics
Students can take part in sports such as turbo touch, athletics, hockey, basketball, rifle shooting, volleyball, tennis, and golf through the school.
- hockey
Students can take part in sports such as turbo touch, athletics, hockey, basketball, rifle shooting, volleyball, tennis, and golf through the school.
- basketball
Students can take part in sports such as turbo touch, athletics, hockey, basketball, rifle shooting, volleyball, tennis, and golf through the school.
- rifle shooting
Students can take part in sports such as turbo touch, athletics, hockey, basketball, rifle shooting, volleyball, tennis, and golf through the school.
- volleyball
Students can take part in sports such as turbo touch, athletics, hockey, basketball, rifle shooting, volleyball, tennis, and golf through the school.
- tennis
Students can take part in sports such as turbo touch, athletics, hockey, basketball, rifle shooting, volleyball, tennis, and golf through the school.
- golf
Students can take part in sports such as turbo touch, athletics, hockey, basketball, rifle shooting, volleyball, tennis, and golf through the school.
- turbo touch
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 231
- Māori
- 201
- Pacific
- 18
- Asian
- 29
- MELAA
- 1
- Other
- 2
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 07 | 33 | 4 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 26 | 0 | 57 |
| Year 08 | 34 | 3 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 28 | 0 | 63 |
| Year 09 | 42 | 3 | 5 | 1 | 0 | 40 | 0 | 84 |
| Year 10 | 35 | 2 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 39 | 0 | 76 |
| Year 11 | 31 | 5 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 38 | 0 | 70 |
| Year 12 | 22 | 1 | 8 | 0 | 0 | 31 | 0 | 55 |
| Year 13+ | 7 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 18 | 0 | 25 |
| Total | 204 | 19 | 28 | 2 | 1 | 220 | 0 | 430 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 11 | 28 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 21 | 0 | 48 |
| Age 12 | 28 | 1 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 27 | 0 | 56 |
| Age 13 | 47 | 6 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 40 | 0 | 87 |
| Age 14 | 34 | 2 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 35 | 0 | 72 |
| Age 15 | 30 | 4 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 40 | 0 | 71 |
| Age 16 | 25 | 2 | 9 | 0 | 0 | 34 | 0 | 61 |
| Age 17 | 9 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 19 | 0 | 26 |
| Age 18 | 3 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 8 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Total | 204 | 19 | 28 | 2 | 1 | 220 | 0 | 430 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
66.7%
| Putāruru College | 66.7% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 84.2% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 89.6% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 65.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 67.7% |
| Māori | 53.8% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 68.6% |
| Total | 66.7% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
55%
| Putāruru College | 55% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 75.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.3% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 51.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 58.1% |
| Māori | 50% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 57.1% |
| Total | 55% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
28.3%
| Putāruru College | 28.3% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 51.3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 64.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 34.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 22.6% |
| Māori | 15.4% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 40% |
| Total | 28.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
0%
| Putāruru College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 15.1% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 14.7% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
53.3%
| Putāruru College | 53.3% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 77.4% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.1% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 58.6% |
|---|---|
| Male | 48.4% |
| Māori | 46.2% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | Too few to report |
| MELAA | Not applicable |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 57.1% |
| Total | 53.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
229.6%
| Putāruru College | 229.6% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 53.9% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 43.4% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 176.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 275% |
| Māori | 303.2% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 25.9% |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 196.8% |
| Total | 229.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
25.5%
| Putāruru College | 25.5% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 6.6% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 4.6% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 25.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 25.6% |
| Māori | 30.9% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 25.6% |
| Total | 25.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
2.9%
| Putāruru College | 2.9% |
|---|---|
| Waikato Region | 2.4% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 2% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 3.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 2.6% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 5.3% |
| Total | 2.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 518
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Small urban area
- Date opened
- 31 December 2003
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 9 October 2025
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board did not attest to all areas (9 October 2025)
Areas the board did not attest to, in ERO’s words: Management of Health, Safety and Welfare. The report says what that meant and what happened next.
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 9 October 2025 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
The board has identified the following area of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
ensure the school’s child protection policy is implemented with fidelity, and staff roles and responsibilities are clear and supported by regular child protection training. [Sections 18 and 19 of the Children’s Act 2014: School boards’ child protection policies]
The board has since addressed the area of non-compliance identified.
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 9 October 2025 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- Year levels
- Years 7 to 13
providing education for students in Years 7 to 13
- Years 7 to 13
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 9 October 2025 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Every New Zealand state and state integrated school has an ERO review at least once every four years to evaluate what is working well for learners and what needs to be improved.
About the school
Putāruru College is a co-educational school in South Waikato , providing education for students in Years 7 to 13. A new leadership team has been appointed since the previous ERO report. Almost half of students enrolled at the school identify as Māori .
Education Counts provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement, school enrolments and school zones. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
An explanation of the terms and judgements used in this report can be found here: Reporting | Education Review Office
Expected improvements and findings
This section is about the progress the school has made since the August 2022 ERO report. It includes an explanation of the expected improvements and findings.
ERO and the school have been working together to evaluate the extent to which literacy and numeracy strategies raise achievement and prepare students for future pathways.
Expected improvement
The school expected to strengthened capacity of teacher to plan and deliver high quality programmes with a focus on literacy and numeracy, improvement of achievement outcomes for all student particularly in literacy, numeracy and for senior students and students at risk of not achieving.
Findings
The school is yet to make sufficient progress in planning and delivering high quality programmes across all learning areas. Professional learning has been focused on upskilling staff in literacy and numeracy across all curriculum areas. Teachers are beginning to include the explicit use of literacy and numeracy strategies across the curriculum, however, there is variability in the effectiveness of implementation and impact on student outcomes.
Achievement outcomes for students at risk of not achieving are yet to significantly improve. The rate of NCEA Level 1 Literacy achievement in Year 11 has declined and the rate of NCEA Level 1 Numeracy achievement in Year 11 has improved minimally (1.2%) since the previous ERO report. The school has seen some improvements in overall NCEA Level 2 and 3 achievement and University Entrance.
Other findings
Since the last ERO review, staff are working better together to bring about improvement in student outcomes in literacy and numeracy.
What we know about learner success
The judgments in this section are based on the ERO School Improvement Framework and the evidence provided to ERO during the evaluation.
Less than a third Less than half Small majority Large majority Most Almost all
0 to 33% 34 to 49% 50 to 64% 65 to 79% 80 to 90% Over 90%
Learner success and wellbeing
This section provides a summary of learner success and wellbeing.
Improvements are required to ensure all students are making sufficient progress and achieving well.
A majority of Year 12 students achieve National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) Level 2 and the number of students achieving NCEA Levels 2 and 3 and University Entrance is improving over time, however 39% of school leavers leave without NCEA Level 1.
A small majority of students leave the school with at least NCEA Level 2 and less than half of Year 13 students achieve NCEA Level 3. Less than a third of students gain University Entrance.
There is a significant disparity for male and Māori students across all outcome measures.
By the end of Year 8, less than half of students are at or above the expected level in writing and mathematics. A small majority of students are at or above the expected level in reading.
The school is yet to develop a clear understanding about student progress and achievement in literacy and mathematics in Years 9 and 10.
Less than a third of students regularly attend school. Regular attendance is improving, and chronic absence is reducing over time.
Conditions to support learner success
This section provides a summary of leadership, teaching, curriculum and foundation school conditions for improvement.
Leadership is taking steps to clarify roles and responsibilities and prioritise actions for improving outcomes for students.
Professional learning for teachers is focused on raising student achievement in literacy and mathematics.
Strategic and annual planning processes are being strengthened, and plans are aligned with an increased focus on improving student attendance and raising student achievement.
School leaders are beginning to use student achievement information to inform decision making and planning for improvement.
The consistency of teaching and learning across the school need to improve to raise student achievement .
School leaders are beginning to implement a system of regular classroom observations focused on improving teaching and learning.
Staff have started to work collaboratively to improve teaching practice and develop shared responsibility for raising literacy and numeracy achievement.
The curriculum increasingly reflects the local context, and rich learning tasks are beginning to be included across learning areas.
Leaders are improving schoolwide systems and processes that support improving student outcomes.
Leaders and teachers value the diversity of students’ languages, cultures and identities.
School leaders maintain a strong focus on reducing barriers to learning through improving student wellbeing and working in partnership with whānau .
Established systems and processes for identifying students with additional learning needs are in place. School leaders have identified the need to accelerate student progress as a next step.
The school Board has governance experience and is representative of the school community.
Next steps for improvement
This section provides more detail for the school to include in its strategic and annual planning for ongoing improvement across the school. It identifies actions for improvement.
Key Priorities
Improve student attendance, retention, progress and achievement.
Clarify and reinforce expectations for behaviour and learning with staff and students, based on the school values.
Implement a schoolwide assessment schedule for literacy and numeracy, including tracking of student progress over time.
Upskilling teachers in their use of assessment information to inform teaching and learning.
Focus on accelerating student progress in reading, writing and mathematics.
Actions to bring about improvement
Within three months:
leaders and the School Board share the updated strategic plan and school priorities with the school community, reinforcing the school’s focus on improving attendance and raising achievement
leaders and the School Board implement a system of regular communication with staff to reinforce school priorities and schoolwide expectations, including opportunities to celebrate student and staff successes
leaders and teachers engage in professional learning focused on quality assessment and the use of data to inform teaching and learning
Every six months:
leaders and the School Board review the effectiveness of systems and processes for improving student attendance and plan next steps
leaders and the School Board use student progress and achievement data to review the effectiveness of interventions for accelerating student progress in reading, writing and mathematics
Annually:
the School Board review student attendance, retention, progress and achievement information to measure progress and refine strategic goals and targets focused on ongoing improvement
leaders and the Board evaluate the impact of professional learning on improving teacher confidence and capability in the use of assessment information to accelerate student achievement
leaders and the Board evaluate the extent to which the school values and expectations are known and understood by the school community and plan next steps for improvements as required.
Expected outcomes
Improved student attendance, retention, progress and achievement, with improved equity for all groups of students.
Reliable achievement data used to inform high quality teaching and learning, with a focus on accelerating student achievement in reading, writing and mathematics.
The school has developed cohesive school systems and processes focused on a small number of targeted improvement priorities.
The school values are embedded and foster a culture of high expectations.
Recommendation to the Ministry of Education
ERO recommends that the Secretary for Education consider an intervention listed in section 173 of the Education and Training Act 2020 for specialist help to support the school with:
leadership of learning and curriculum
assessment and the use of assessment information
attendance, progress and achievement
strategic and annual planning for improvement.
The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within four years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children
Sharon Kelly Director of Schools
9 October 2025
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).