Ponatahi Christian School
Composite · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 136
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 6 Howard Street, Carterton
- Territorial authority
- Carterton District
- Phone
- 06-3798840
- office@ponatahi.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Wellington Region
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- School day starts
- 8:25am (morning bell)
8: 25 Morning Bell: followed by homeroom opening devotions
- 8:25am (morning bell)
- School day ends
- 2:50pm (dismissal for the day)
2: 40 - 2: 50 Closing devotions in the homeroom and dismissal for the day.
- 2:50pm (dismissal for the day)
- Uniform
- Required
Thank you for accessing our page about the school uniform that your child is expected to wear.
- Required
- How to enrol
- http://www.ponatahi.school.nz/enrolment/enrolment-application/?lang=en-US
Please complete an enrolment form for each of your children ([see Enrolment Application](http://www.ponatahi.school.nz/enrolment/enrolment-application/?lang=en-US)).
- http://www.ponatahi.school.nz/enrolment/enrolment-application/?lang=en-US
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Special character
- Ponatahi Christian School has been established by the Reformed Congregations of New Zealand in Carterton. The Special Character of the school is determined by the consistory of this church and summarised in the Statement of Faith.
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 102
- Māori
- 1
- Pacific
- 1
- Asian
- 30
- MELAA
- 4
- Other
- 0
- International
- 0
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 16 |
| Year 02 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 8 |
| Year 03 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 10 |
| Year 04 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 05 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 16 | 0 | 18 |
| Year 06 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 7 |
| Year 07 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 14 |
| Year 08 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 6 | 0 | 7 |
| Year 09 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 0 | 8 |
| Year 10 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 11 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 12 |
| Year 12 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 |
| Year 13+ | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 5 |
| Total | 1 | 1 | 17 | 3 | 1 | 111 | 0 | 132 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 14 |
| Age 06 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 9 |
| Age 07 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 08 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 13 |
| Age 09 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 15 | 0 | 16 |
| Age 10 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 10 |
| Age 11 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 9 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 6 | 0 | 7 |
| Age 13 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 7 |
| Age 14 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 12 |
| Age 15 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 | 13 |
| Age 16 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 5 |
| Age 17 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 18 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Total | 1 | 1 | 17 | 3 | 1 | 111 | 0 | 132 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
100%
| Ponatahi Christian School | 100% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 90.8% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
100%
| Ponatahi Christian School | 100% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 85.3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 100% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
50%
| Ponatahi Christian School | 50% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 68.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 50% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
0%
| Ponatahi Christian School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 12.5% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
83.3%
| Ponatahi Christian School | 83.3% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 88.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | Too few to report |
|---|---|
| Male | Too few to report |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Not applicable |
| Asian | Not applicable |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | Too few to report |
| Total | 83.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Total | not reported |
|---|---|
| Female | not reported |
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Ponatahi Christian School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 24.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 26.5% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Ponatahi Christian School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 2.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 3.2% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Ponatahi Christian School | 0% |
|---|---|
| Wellington Region | 0.9% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 1.2% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | Not available (source marker: "nd") |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 431
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Small urban area
- Date opened
- 30 September 1978
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 3
- Last reviewed
- 13 August 2024
- Latest report
- School Evaluation Report
- Report type
- Evaluation report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (13 August 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 13 August 2024 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO has identified the following areas of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
that from 7 February 2024 teachers and authorised staff have completed the online module on the content of the Guidelines issued under section 101 of the Act [Education Physical Restraint Rules, 2023, (MOE]
has documents showing that suitable human resource management practices are implemented, including work force safety checking, original or certified documents are properly sighted. [Education and Training Act 2020; Children’s Act 2014]
The board has since taken steps to address the areas of non-compliance identified.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 136 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
December 2019
124
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 11 May 2020
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 13 August 2024 — “School Evaluation Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
School Evaluation Report
Tēnā koutou e mau manawa rahi ki te kaupapa e aro ake nei, ko te tamaiti te pūtake o te kaupapa. Mā wai rā e kawe, mā tātau katoa.
We acknowledge the collective effort, responsibility and commitment by all to ensure that the child remains at the heart of the matter.
Context
Ponatahi Christian School is based in Carterton, Wairarapa . It provides education for students in Years 1 to 13, in a special character environment. An acting principal was appointed at the start of 2024 to lead the school, together with the senior leadership team members, while the board carry out a recruitment and appointment process for a new principal.
There are two parts to this report.
Part A: An evaluative summary of learner success and school conditions to inform the school board’s future strategic direction, including any education in Rumaki /bilingual settings.
Part B: The improvement actions prioritised for the school’s next evaluation cycle.
Part A: Current State
The following findings are to inform the school’s future priorities for improvement.
Learner Success and Wellbeing
Most students are engaged and make good progress with their learning.
Most senior students achieve well in National Certificate of Education Achievement (NCEA) Levels 2 and 3 (Level 1 NCEA is not offered); lifting engagement and achievement in external achievement standards is a priority.
Most learners in Years 1 to 8 achieve at or above expected curriculum levels in literacy and mathematics; for Years 9 and 10, progress and achievement information is limited and not fully used.
Leaders have developed and implemented a ‘Positive Behaviour Framework’ and this is beginning to have a beneficial impact on learner wellbeing and engagement.
Regular attendance is higher than the Ministry of Education 2024 target.
Conditions to support learner success
Leaders are beginning to establish systems and processes to foster a culture committed to high quality teaching and improved learner outcomes.
Leaders are beginning to set evidence-informed improvement goals and targets and action to improve student outcomes.
Leaders are starting to develop a more structured and coordinated curriculum, including clearly understood expectations for high-quality teaching.
Leaders are beginning to build educationally-focused relationships with other education providers to support learner transitions and increase opportunities for learning and success.
The school is working towards providing a responsive curriculum and consistently high-quality teaching practice.
Learners have opportunities to learn across the breadth and depth of The New Zealand Curriculum.
The curriculum is beginning to reflect local contexts so that learners see themselves in their learning.
Appropriate assessment information is beginning to be used to plan for, adapt teaching practice and report the progress and achievement of each learner.
The school is taking steps to develop and align systems, structures and practices to bring about improved student achievement and progress over time.
Leaders are beginning to use relevant internal and external expertise, including networking with other schools, to support capability building, improvement and innovation.
Leaders and teachers are strengthening programmes and practices to promote learners’ wellbeing and engagement in learning.
The board represents, serves, and works with the school community to develop the school’s vision, values, strategic direction, improvement priorities and goals related to learner wellbeing, achievement and progress.
Leaders and teachers are beginning to understand their commitment to tangata whenuatanga and Te Tiriti o Waitangi partnership.
Part B: Where to next?
The agreed next steps for the school are to:
decide on and use assessment information for Years 9 and 10, that will give learners and their families an accurate picture of how well students progress and achieve and that they are set up for success in national qualifications
develop a curriculum and strengthen teaching and learning to motivate, engage and meet the learning needs of all students; and that improves learner achievement and progress in literacy and numeracy, particularly those learners identified as at risk of underachievement
raise the level of teachers’ and students’ expectations for attainment in external achievement standards in NCEA Levels 2 and 3
continue to engage in learning about positive behaviour for learning, to ensure clarity about expected student behaviour, and build teacher and student confidence in restorative and relational responses to behaviour.
The agreed actions for the next improvement cycle and timeframes are as follows.
Within six months:
begin a review of Years 9 to 13 curriculum so that it provides a breadth of learning pathways aligned with learners' talents, interests and learning needs; Year 9 and 10 curriculum and assessment review will have an immediate focus on literacy and numeracy
school leaders and teachers carry out closer analysis of attendance, literacy, mathematics, NCEA achievement and progress data, and use information to plan actions for groups of students who are at risk of underachievement
develop and introduce structured, and regular opportunities, for learners to provide feedback to school leaders about teaching and learning, curriculum and wellbeing
with staff and students, clarify the role of the wellbeing leader and develop and use a tailored student wellbeing survey that is relevant to their Years 1 to 13 school.
Within a year:
Years 9 and 10 literacy and numeracy assessments in place and yielding information that informs: responsive planning for targeted learning; students and parents about progress and achievement; reporting to the board for informed resource decision making
Years 11 – 13 curriculum reflects changes made to meet the needs of all students, engage them and encourage them to aim for academic excellence
gauge the shift in engagement and lifted aspirations that staff and the senior students have, for realising learners’ potential and personal excellence within the qualifications they gain
teachers and students consistently use positive behaviour for learning strategies to foster positive learning relationships that demonstrate the core values of respect, diligence, integrity, fellowship and kindness.
Annually:
analyse and use for all year levels, attendance, literacy, mathematics, NCEA achievement and progress data, and use the information to plan actions for groups of students, with attention to those at risk of underachievement
analyse and use student feedback about teaching and learning, curriculum and wellbeing to inform next steps for addressing student wellbeing and learning, responding to learner goals
analyse wellbeing and behavioural data, and other evidence, to know the impact of initiatives (behaviour framework, curriculum developments) and professional learning on learner outcomes and to know what is working and for who and make adjustments
gather teacher voice about the quality of the professional learning and the impact on teaching practice; use this evidence to clearly identify next steps to enhance teacher confidence and practice.
Actions taken against these next steps are expected to result in:
a broadened curriculum that motivates, engages and meets the learning needs of all students
improved learner outcomes at all levels, with an increased percentage of learners gaining better results in NCEA external achievement standards, an increased percentage of students achieving at or above curriculum expectation in reading, writing and mathematics, and accelerated progress for students at risk of underachievement
an embedded and sustained ‘Positive Behaviour Framework’, underpinned by well-aligned systems, structures and practices that supports improved wellbeing and achievement outcomes for learners.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Me mahi tahi tonu tātau, kia whai oranga a tātau tamariki Let’s continue to work together for the greater good of all children.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
13 August 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 3 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).