Pompallier Catholic College
Secondary (Year 7-15) · State : Integrated
- Year levels
- 7–13
- Total roll
- 650
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- State Highway 14, Maunu, Whangarei
- Territorial authority
- Whangarei District
- Phone
- 09-4383950
- admin@pompallier.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Whangārei · schools in Northland
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Non-regulation articles are not to be worn with the school uniform (eg. coloured jerseys, coloured jackets, coloured t-shirts, jeans, sports shoes, scarves or beanies) either to and from, or at school.
- Required
- Getting there
- Pompallier Catholic College is well served by a network of Ministry of Education bus routes and public, fare paying services. Buses arrive and depart from inside the school, providing safe loading and unloading.
- How to enrol
- https://www.pompallier.school.nz/wp-content/uploads/2026/05/2027-Enrolment-Application-Form.pdf
Please click on the following links to download our enrolment application forms for 2027: [2027 Enrolment Application Form](https://www.pompallier.school.nz/wp-content/uploads/2026/05/2027-Enrolment-Application-Form.pdf)
- https://www.pompallier.school.nz/wp-content/uploads/2026/05/2027-Enrolment-Application-Form.pdf
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Special character
- The College seeks to develop the moral, religious, and academic potential of students by firmly centering their lives on God and the Gospel values of Love, Compassion, Justice and Peace.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
Our college welcomes international students from all over the globe.
- Accepted, as stated
- Voluntary donation
- $17.50 per term ($70.00 per annum) per student
is a voluntary donation of $17.50 per term ($70.00 per annum) per student.
- $17.50 per term ($70.00 per annum) per student
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 397
- Māori
- 117
- Pacific
- 36
- Asian
- 172
- MELAA
- 17
- Other
- 5
- International
- 9
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 07 | 15 | 3 | 31 | 1 | 3 | 44 | 0 | 87 |
| Year 08 | 16 | 3 | 18 | 2 | 1 | 58 | 0 | 86 |
| Year 09 | 24 | 10 | 24 | 2 | 2 | 63 | 0 | 103 |
| Year 10 | 26 | 7 | 23 | 2 | 1 | 83 | 1 | 123 |
| Year 11 | 20 | 9 | 17 | 2 | 2 | 66 | 0 | 97 |
| Year 12 | 15 | 3 | 14 | 1 | 1 | 59 | 2 | 84 |
| Year 13+ | 9 | 2 | 10 | 2 | 2 | 51 | 3 | 69 |
| Total | 125 | 37 | 137 | 12 | 12 | 424 | 6 | 649 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 10 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Age 11 | 15 | 3 | 25 | 1 | 1 | 35 | 0 | 70 |
| Age 12 | 14 | 3 | 20 | 2 | 2 | 53 | 0 | 84 |
| Age 13 | 23 | 8 | 22 | 2 | 1 | 66 | 0 | 101 |
| Age 14 | 23 | 9 | 27 | 1 | 2 | 74 | 0 | 116 |
| Age 15 | 17 | 6 | 14 | 3 | 2 | 71 | 1 | 99 |
| Age 16 | 22 | 5 | 12 | 1 | 0 | 65 | 2 | 90 |
| Age 17 | 10 | 2 | 14 | 2 | 3 | 52 | 1 | 75 |
| Age 18 | 1 | 1 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 11 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Total | 125 | 37 | 137 | 12 | 12 | 424 | 6 | 649 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
95.2%
| Pompallier Catholic College | 95.2% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 82.3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 89.6% |
| State: Integrated | 95.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 100% |
|---|---|
| Male | 91.1% |
| Māori | 78.6% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 95.3% |
| Total | 95.2% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
92.8%
| Pompallier Catholic College | 92.8% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 72.1% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.3% |
| State: Integrated | 92.1% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 97.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 88.9% |
| Māori | 78.6% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 92.2% |
| Total | 92.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
78.3%
| Pompallier Catholic College | 78.3% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 48.3% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 64.5% |
| State: Integrated | 77.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 89.5% |
|---|---|
| Male | 68.9% |
| Māori | 64.3% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 76.9% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 78.1% |
| Total | 78.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
16.9%
| Pompallier Catholic College | 16.9% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 16.8% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 14.7% |
| State: Integrated | 13.5% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 18.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 15.6% |
| Māori | 35.7% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 15.4% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 15.6% |
| Total | 16.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
92.8%
| Pompallier Catholic College | 92.8% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 72.9% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 83.1% |
| State: Integrated | 91.1% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 97.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 88.9% |
| Māori | 78.6% |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 100% |
| MELAA | Too few to report |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 92.2% |
| Total | 92.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
17.8%
| Pompallier Catholic College | 17.8% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 52% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 43.4% |
| State : Integrated | 16.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 35.2% |
| Māori | 47% |
| Pacific | 38.2% |
| Asian | 5.7% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 15.5% |
| Total | 17.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Pompallier Catholic College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 6.5% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 4.6% |
| State : Integrated | 1.6% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0%
| Pompallier Catholic College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Northland Region | 2.7% |
| Secondary (Year 7-15) | 2% |
| State : Integrated | 0.5% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 424
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Large urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1971
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 14 March 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (14 March 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 14 March 2024 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 650 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
May 2016
502
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 19 August 2016
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 14 March 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 26 months of the Education Review Office and Pompallier Catholic College working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Pompallier Catholic College provides education for students in Years 7 to13 and is located in Whāngarei . Since the previous ERO review, the school has had three new appointments to the senior leadership team.
The school’s vision is to ‘ Love the Truth’, ‘ Arohatia te Whakapono ’. This vision is supported by the values of:
inquiry by thinking critically, creatively and reflectively
equity, justice and respect for all people and the environment
compassion and aroha in all relationships.
Pompallier Catholic College ’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are to promote:
student engagement by reducing barriers to education for all, including for Māori and Pacific learners/ ākonga , disabled learners/ ākonga and those with learning support needs
students’ learning through high aspirations for every learner/ ākonga , and supporting these aspirations by partnering with whānau and communities to design and deliver education that responds to learner/ ākonga needs, and sustains their identities, languages and cultures
ensuring every learner/ ākonga gains sound foundation skills, including language, literacy and numeracy
collaboration with industries and employers to ensure learners/ ākonga have the skills, knowledge and pathways to succeed in work.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Pompallier Catholic College ’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate the effectiveness of teaching on learner progress and achievement.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is:
to promote all students’ engagement and achievement in learning
to support ākonga language, culture and identity
to promote professional relationships and effective teaching focused on the learning and hauora of students, underpinned by relational and culturally responsive teaching.
The school expects to see improvements in all students’ engagement in learning and achievement. The school also expects that ākonga hauora and language, culture and identity are well supported. In addition, students will develop stronger connections to the school’s special character and local history.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its goal to evaluate the effectiveness of teaching on learner progress and achievement.
A long-established commitment for all students to experience academic success.
The provision of specialist staff to support students with additional needs.
A history of teachers utilising achievement data to inform teaching and learning programmes.
A collaborative and relational staff who support positive change and have high expectations of students, teachers and the school community.
Ongoing development and support for staff through a range of professional learning.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
developing teachers’ capacity to provide effective and culturally responsive teaching and learning opportunities for all ākonga to succeed
supporting all staff to further develop the capacity to be effective teachers of literacy and numeracy to improve the quality of students’ learning.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
14 March 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).